We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Dream”
Review of Fattoria Maionchi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fattoria Maionchi
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Münster
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tuscan Dream”
Reviewed August 27, 2008

I cannot recommend the Fattoria highly enough with such a beautiful setting in the Luccese countryside. On arrival the view from our rustic apartment took my breath away. The accommodation was well equipped, spotlessly clean and very spacious. The bathroom was modernised with a fantastic huge shower. Our pool was clean, warm and lots of fun.

We were accompanied by our three teenagers who enjoyed our relaxing haven ( with a couple of Florence and Lucca designer shopping trips for added excitement!)

The highlight of our week was definitely our three meals in the residences excellent restaurant. Top class food, fantastic surroundings, wonderful wine with great service.

The only concern I could possibly point out is to be prepared for the hair raising winding road to the Fattoria - however it's most definitely worth the effort.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The winding road
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arrivederci5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

As per previous reviews the place is quite hard to find the first time if your not used to Italy and its signposts..but after that it is a breeze!

We stayed in one of the Tralci's, the building is beautiful and old and is well.. rustic but this adds to its charm!

The pool is a god send and much needed during the afternoons, it is very private and we virtually had it to ourselves the whole stay!

We did not eat in the restaurant until our last night and this was our only regret as the food was delicious and very reasonable, the white wine is also lovely and if you want to take some back then they will box it all up for you (which we did!)

Our only grumble was the mossies - nightmare, but if you are prepared (unlike we were) and buy the plug in deterrents then you will be fine.

Lucca, Pisa, Florence are all easy to get to and worth spending a whole day to appreciate the atmosphere, the food and the lovely freindly people!

We also spent most afternoons in Pescia, where we indulged in real italian ice cream, wine and people watching!

I would recommend this place and Toscana to anyone as it has everything you could possibly want..culture,great food, great wines,plenty of gorgeous hills to cycle/run around for the more active, great accomodation and lastly the people are so friendly the locals could not do anymore for us!!

Oh as a last note, we do not have children but there were other families staying at Fattoria Maionchi and they seemed to be having a great time also judging by all the of laughter....or was that just us?!!

  • Liked — The breath taking views, lovely private pool and fantastic food and wines!
  • Disliked — The mozzie inhabitants!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sootyandsweep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2008

We had great expectations before our stay, but after our stay we are disapointed.

When we arrived there was no reception. A women from the restaurant just gave us the keys of the appartment and that was it. No introduction. She didn't even guide us around the apartment and told us how everything worked in the appartment. She didn't pointed us to switch of the boiler so we didn't directly had warm water to shower in the evening.

We didn't even had to fill in the notification/registration for the authorities that we were staying as guests at Fattoria Maionchi.

We stayed five days (four nights) in the apartment and there was no cleaning in this period of the bathroom, toilet and also no clean sheets on the bed or clean towels. We were lucky to stay with the two of us in a four people apartment, therefor we could use the two unused towels.

There were no springs under the mattress, only a self-made wooden board. This wasn't very comfortable.

The furniture of the appartment is very old, dark brown and sticky.

There is also a restaurant below the apartments. The food of this restaurant is very good, the staff is very friendly and i will recoment you to eat there, but... as told the apartments are above the restaurant. In the evening we had quite some annoyance of the guests from the restaurants, which stood outside the restaurant and talked real loud with each others.

However Toscane is great, Lucca is beautiful. We had a wonderful vacation and we will return to Tuscany in the future, but we won't stay again at Fattoria Maionchi.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchtravelies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2007

This was the best vacation I have ever been on. The compound is not the easiest to find but some things are worth the trouble. Once found up in the Colline Luchese hills, the sweeping views of the surrounding mountains and the valley views of Lucca make the trip well worth the effort. The accommodations are sparse but the price is very reasonable and the property really has everything one needs. The small restaurant located on the farm is a real bonus and the wine made on property is wonderful. I would recommend Fattoria Maionchi to friends and family and would stay there myself in the future.

  • Liked — The fantastic views, rustic cham and house made wine and olive oil.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Quechee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2007

Fantastic location in the most beautiful corner of the Lucchese hills, 10-15 mins drive outside of Lucca centre. Location is good for motorway (Capannori exit) and close to Montecarlo, Collodi, Monteciari Terme and Pescia. Accommodation very spacious with authentic tilled floors and roof beams. Bathrooms excellent with great showers. Restaurant is probably one of the best in Lucca and surrounding areas....and amazing value. The Cintello red wine is also really good value for money. They make their own olive oil which is more expensive but very high quality - ourselves and our friends both bought some to take home. Owners and staff very friendly. This was our third time there and we will be back for another infusion of Maionchi paradise in the future. Highly recommended....a real gem.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Fattoria Maionchi the last week of August 2006. We rented two adjoining apartments in the Corte Brincolo complex. While the furnishings were rustic, there was plenty of room and nice large bathrooms. It is exactly a ten minute drive to Lucca centro. The kitchen was suppled with the basics and there was a large supermarket and nearby butcher shop for eating at home. We also enjoyed a great Tuscan meal at the Fattoria and enjoyed a tour of the wine cellars. Having a pool was also a nice break in the day. I would certainly return there without hesitation.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank canarsie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2005

WOW!
So it's not the easiest place to get to. Quite a way out of Lucca, you need a rental car. And not too close to any amenities, but that is the absolute beauty of Fattoria Maionchi!
My wife and I and two friends stayed in the Cintello apartment which is a short walk from the main Fattoria building.
In the middle of nowhere among the tuscan hills and vineyards, surrounded by fields and olive groves, peace and quite prevails.
The apartments are fantastic to, with a quant rustic feel that makes you realise why Tuscany has sucha beautiful reputation.
Views past the terricotta coloured old farm buildings, the views into the Tuscan hills and the typical tall trees of italy beg you to relax and unwind - totally.
Maria and her family and staff are lovely. There is a resturant open in the main Fattoria on a Monday evening which you have to go to to enjoy the family atmosphere and get to know them better.
The pool is clean and very much appreciated when lazing in the apartment grounds. With only three apartments in this part of the Fattoria, you have the place and the pool to yourself. Once you actually tear yourself away from the apartment, pool, and compelling scenery, you can take a car into the old town of Lucca, very nice, then traffic a short way to Pisa, very nice, and then travel a little further to the city of Florence, Very very nice.
Tip - Take a bit of time in all three towns and soak up the atmosphere.

To sum the Fattoria Maionchi up in one word - awesome. To some up in more that one word - the best holiday I have ever had!!

Thank you Maria

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
6.8 mi away
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
8.9 mi away
Resort Dei Limoni
Resort Dei Limoni
#40 of 51 in Lucca
14 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Le Rotonde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 51 in Lucca
364 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#12 of 51 in Lucca
279 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#15 of 51 in Lucca
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria Maionchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria Maionchi

Property: Fattoria Maionchi
Address: Localita Tofori, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Fattoria Maionchi Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing