We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucca Tours w/Wanda Martinelli”
Review of Lucca Tours

Lucca Tours
Ranked #2 of 32 Tours in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lucca is one of the most charming cities in Italy and a walking tour with certified professional tour guide Wanda Martinelli is a great way to see it. Wanda Martinelli is ready to show you the beautiful city behind imposing Renaissance walls. Choose from any of her six tour options.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour of Lucca with Wanda Martinelli. Her lively personality and knowledge of Lucca's history & culture made everything we saw even more memorable. We're teachers...we love learning about new places and meeting new people.To see Lucca with someone who's family has "always lived there", and who has great love and pride for the area was special. Wanda provided plenty of historical information, stories, insights and humor throughout our walk. She welcomed our questions, and checked with us to make sure all our areas of interest were being addressed. From the moment we began emailing to set up our tour, she was very helpful...answering our questions and offering suggestions/advice, etc. Her English is beautiful, but it was her personality and passion for this area that really made this tour exceptional for us!

Thank almondcookies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda M, Owner at Lucca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Almond Cookies, what a passionate audience you made, never tired of asking and listening to more details (to such an extent that I had to suggest a coffee break to re-charge my batteries!). Thank you for coming to Lucca. Hope to see you again, someday. w

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wanda martinelli"
in 67 reviews
"walking tour"
in 36 reviews
"booked a private tour"
in 6 reviews
"historical knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"half day tour"
in 9 reviews
"professional tour guide"
in 5 reviews
"great love"
in 4 reviews
"great tour"
in 11 reviews
"past and present"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful city"
in 17 reviews
"come alive"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful introduction"
in 4 reviews
"gelato"
in 13 reviews
"two couples"
in 3 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 10 reviews
"small group"
in 5 reviews
"home town"
in 5 reviews
Filter

244 - 248 of 342 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent a completely enjoyable day with Wanda in Lucca. From the moment we met her, we knew we were going to have fun and learn a great deal. Not only does Wanda have a deep and colorful understanding of the city's art, culture and history, but she has a beautiful command of the English language. She speaks more elegantly than most native-born English speakers.

Thank kathyfitz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda M, Owner at Lucca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Kathy and all of you,
from the moment I met you at the railway station, I knew I was going to spend time with some lovely people. Thank you for loving Italy so much and making the effort (Mark !) to learn our difficult language. Complimenti. My regards and best wishes to the younger couple, too. w

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We organized a walking tour on our first full day in Lucca and it was the best decision as Wanda walked us through the history of Lucca and also oriented us to the city for future visits. She had a few great restaurant and gelato shop recommendations that we made full use during our stay.

I believe the best compliment for a tour guide comes from kids and our two kids (7,11) rated Wanda's tour as one of their top three during our 3.5 week Italy visit. Wanda was very clear in her delivery and engaged the kids with questions throughout the tour. At one point she pulled up a song from Giacomo Puccini in the square with his statue and the kids danced along with her to the music.

We had lots of fun with Wanda and would highly recommend the tour as one of the first things to do once you get to Lucca.

Thank nkashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda M, Owner at Lucca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear N, you don't know how many times I've been thinking of your kids! They left me speechless when they remarked that the Pfanner Palace was baroque. How did they know ??? We also had a good laugh mimicking the months' labours outside the cathedral and your father was such a good sport, acting his part, too. I'm glad you've got it all on video. My congratulations to you and your wife. All best for your beautiful family, w

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are planning to visit Lucca then make your first stop Lucca Tours (this also applies if you have been more than once but have not tried a walking tour). Wanda Martinelli is an excellent guide with a good understanding of the English language and humour. Although two of our party of eight had visited Lucca before we all found the two and a half hours exploring this beautiful city both entertaining and informative as well as value for money

Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda M, Owner at Lucca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Walkmb,
sorry for my late reaction but I'm going through some of the busiest weeks of the year.
I would like to thank you all for coming to Lucca and sharing this experience with me. I loved your sense of humour! Hope the showers got fixed, wanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Couldn't recommend more highly ! Opened our eyes to understand and see the history behind the city. Wanda was charming, intelligent and completely captivating. Made us want to stay longer in Lucca.

Thank DAvidmarc745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda M, Owner at Lucca Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear David and Susan, everything went like clockwork and we were able to share a very pleasant time together. Hope you enjoyed the restaurants that I suggested, but if you put on some weight, don't come and complain with me! Make the most of the rest of your holiday and thank you for coming, w

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucca Tours also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Lucca Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing