We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely and romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Lovely and romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Loved Alla Corte degli Angeli and Lucca! This small hotel is wonderfully located, with beautifully decorated rooms and a warm, professional service. Enjoyed the bubble bath and top quality breakfast: the juicer is a fantastic idea! Highly recommend; will not look for any other place to stay if we're going back to charming Lucca.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank heiranig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    159
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
71
373
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great location, attentive staff, very large room by European standards, with equally spacious and immaculate bathroom. Excellent breakfast with fresh orange and grapefruit juice. Convenient private parking lot for hotel guests. Came with high expectations and was not the least bit disappointed. One word of advice. Although our GPS had no trouble taking us right to the front door, Lucca streets are small, complex, and it might be wise to find your way to the hotel in the light of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I really deliberated about hotels in Lucca but am happy to say we loved this place (we did get lost trying to find it!) Location, location! So great to be able to walk on the wall first thing in the morning(or last in Italian manner) , be close to fabulous shopping and all the points of interest. I'm sure there are lovely places outside of the wall to stay but for immersion into such a wonderful Italian historic life - nothing beats staying 'inside' the walls at Alla Corte. We had two cars which were also parked( No charge) right by the hotel so once we'd made it there we didnt use them again. The streets are so narrow with sharp corners to navigate so beware if you are an inexperienced driver! Sat navs dont work well in the high stone walled areas so make sure you have clear instructions from the hotel , knowing which 'porte' or entrance gate to enter into to start your directions. Do some research on dinning as there are some very 'touristic' ordinary places as Lucca is such a tourist destination. Our best dinning experience was Bucadisantantonio, - we went 2 nights in a row! Fabulous attentive service as well. Staff very very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: All appear great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rascalcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. The location was great and the staff very helpful. The bonus was the delicious breakfast which was more than we expected. Unfortunately, the dinners we had in Lucca were a disappointment. But walking around the city on the wall and exploring the different areas made our two day stay here a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank segoldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is on a narrow street right in the middle of Lucca. If you want to stay in an authentic hotel, beautifully decorated, with friendly and helpful staff, this is the place for you. The rooms are lovely, painted differently, and very comfortable. The bathroom was the most "hifi" I have ever seen! The shower had several ways to produce water (I must admit, I had trouble figuring out how it worked - and never did), and there was a jetted tub as well. It was amazing! The breakfast spread was bountiful and varied. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a traveler to Lucca, and will stay at the Alla Corte Degli Angeli again next time I go.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyr_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in a lovely room called Camelia with painted walls and a realy interesting ceiling - not painted but the underside of tiles and beams but nonetheless lovely to look at. We had the very best time. Lucca was as wonderful as we knew it to be but this little place was a real find and served easily the best breakfast we have ever had in Italy. A great visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenisioC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

No doubt they are trying hard to cater to Trip Advisor readers. They even have literature in the room encouraging you to submit a review. However, we had a few problems. I agree with what people have said about the quality of the rooms, nice breakfast, and great location. However, there was only one person on duty in this small hotel and if you needed her she was often hard to find. Not her fault--she was just doing everything all by herself. As an example, the shower in our bathroom was way too space-age complicated. The controls were electronic buttons with symbols and the instruction card was written in "Italian English". I called the front desk for help but the 1 person on duty was too busy with people at the front desk to help us right away. She did eventually come to the room but couldn't figure the darn thing out either. I finally got it to work later but didn't need the aggravation. Also, couldn't close the window in our room because it was broken. On the positive side, the bathroom had a big whirlpool tub and, generous size sink, and a TV.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbtrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your review
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Property: Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Address: Via Degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing