We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel, in the heart of Lucca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel, in the heart of Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were so lucky to be able to book the last 2 rooms (totally last minute) for 2 nights in this excellent hotel. One of the best places I've stayed - its charm is in the fact that it has just a handful of rooms, so you are so well looked after. The hotel were super-efficient in taking our car's registration plates as soon as we pulled up to the lobby (note - tiny streets, so you'll have to be a confident driver) to send across to the authorities, as Lucca has a strict ZTL "limited traffic zone" and drivers without the right permit get fined for entering the zone. The hotel also has an ample car park on the same street, which made everything so easy for us.

Highlights:
- The breakfast is probably the best thing - a wonderful spread of the usual fruits, pastries, breads etc... but you could also squeeze your own orange juice, or have an egg boiled right in front of you. The kind of fun quirks I love.
- The rooms are beautifully painted with gorgeous flower themes.
- And I *loved* the water jets in the massage baths. A great perk!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
GRAZIE!
Hoping to have you here again at Alla Corte Degli Angeli!
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    143
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
345
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I found this gem of a B & B on Trip Advisor and was very happy. Get good directions from train station or taxi to the hotel. Wonderful breakfast, great staff. wonderful location. You will be quite pleased with this pick.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssman212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your feedback!
Regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was our first trip to Lucca and our first time at Alla Corte Degli Angeli. We will be back!! The hotel is within the walled city and somewhat near the city center (maybe a 10 min walk). It was a bit tricky to find so be sure you have a very detailed map of Lucca (we did not). We prefer to be close to the city center but not near the noise so this was perfect. We loved the incredible murals and wooden beams in this hotel. It looked exactly like the photos too! Our room (Tulipano) was excellent-comfortable, large and with all the details we hoped for. Our bathroom was quite fancy with a large shower and tub, a TV and quite the deluxe shower "system" (see photos). This particular room faces the street and has nice view out the window. There was some street noise one morning when the garbage truck came through but we have a travel white noise machine that helped soften the disturbance. We will be back to Lucca and will definitely choose Alla Corte again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Grazie for your so detailed review!
Best regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We happened across this hotel on the internet when we were touring Italy and luckyily for us they had one room spare for the night we wanted to stay. It is a real gem of a hotel, lovely friendly staff. Our room was decorated with hand painted murals and was large and cool, with a good size bathroom with all singing and dancing shower, which we did have to fiddle with to get working. Lucca being a medieval town is hard to navigate in a car, and we went round in circles before finding the hotel, passing a wedding several times much to their amusement! Walking around Lucca though, it is very easy to find your way back. Would definitely revisit Lucca and stay at the Corte Degli Angeli. Superb. Ps. forgot to say, exceptional value for a 4* hotel, especially after a very expensive stay in Portofino!

Room Tip: Great unique hotel in great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks for your so positive feedback
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights, briiliant hotel with lovely rooms, tastefully decorated, Bathrooms with plenty of room and ours had a "special shower" which to be honest was a bit of a waste of time but the spa bath was very nice.Staff very helpful and friendly, breakfast superb and parking pretty easy if a little pricey. If you are visiting Lucca please stay here, the location is fantastic within seconds of all the local attractions.

Room Tip: Our room at the front was a little noisy when the dustbin men came around in the early hours so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freightmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks to suggest us to your friends!
Regards
Vincenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Despite getting horrendously lost due to a confused navigation system (honest....) the experience was excellent fro check in to check out.
Great room with a view of the ample car park I couldn't find and the angelic theme, which sounded worrying but actually worked, was really well done. Good breakfast and helpful staff made for a faultless stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEdenRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Google Translation
Grazie tante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Everything about our stay was ideal. Really lovely spacious room. Top quality plumbing. Sheets and towels regularly renewed. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Helpful friendly staff. Breakfast table was laden with everything we could ever wish for. Freshly squeezed orange machine. Tea/coffee made to order. Spacious breakfast room. Good lounge. (Internet, TV, phone, laundry, and drinks fridge but we did not use these.)

Room Tip: Our room was called Ibisco and was on 3rd floor. There is a lift. Very quiet air con. Large bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllaCorteDegliAngeli, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Alla Corte Degli Angeli, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks a lot for your so kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#14 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#7 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Corte Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Corte Degli Angeli

Property: Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Address: via degli Angeli 23 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alla Corte Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would like to add information for all the customers that book to our hotel,because cause the limit traffic zone there are a lot of mistake and trouble, so I would like to add in the form confirmation or straight away in the hotel's information, the right route for to reach us. Below there are description in english and Italian.1) YOU CAN REACH THE HOTEL BY CAR You are allowed to get inside the walls from Santa Maria gate ONLY. As soon as you pass through the gate turn right taking Via della cavallerizza St. keep going straight on and you'll get into San Frediano Piazza where the church is, you mustgo all around this church untill you'll find Via cesare Battisti St. on your letf side. Get into via Cesare Battisti St. take the secondstreet on your left side wich is Via degli angeli St. Our staff will help you out with your luggage. HOTEL STAFF WILL TAKE THE PLATENUMBER OF YOUR CAR, that has to be send it to the police department and then they will show you where to park. YOU MUST LEAVE YOUR CAR KEYSAT THE FRONT DESK DURING ALL YOUR STAY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alla Corte Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Hotel Lucca
Alla Corte Degli Angeli Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing