We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Una straordinaria esperienza - an extraordinary experience”
Review of Da Pasquale

Da Pasquale
Ranked #1 of 602 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Nahant
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Una straordinaria esperienza - an extraordinary experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Where has Da Pasquale been? It is a rare gem ... and the culinary experience is second to none. We have been to Lucca several times--staying for 3-4 weeks at a time and know many of the restaurants. This is BY FAR the best we have experienced. There are only 12 or so tables, so a reservation is necessary ... but do not hesitate to go. It is a great find and we are going back before we leave. Grazie a Pasqualino per la grande cena!

Teresa and Wally

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teri143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,199
    180
    45
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food & Service keep bring you back”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Da Pasquale is one of the best restaurants in Lucca. When on vacation we never eat twice at the same restaurant but, we do at Da Pasquale. Three times last year and twice this year. Pasquale makes you feel at home and his recommendations for food and wine are right on! He visits all the tables and attends to your every need. Try the five course appetizer which is always changing. Whatever you order he will pair up the wine - within your price range. The food is a fusion of Tuscan and Sicilian cuisine. The BEST!
Make sure you have reservations and it is only open for dinner

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmal2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful and Pasquale is terrific”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had the best meal at Da Pasqualino with great wines and olive oils. Loved the Sicilian olive oil best. Had the tasting plates for entree...lovely. Just a beautiful experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pecfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So wish we'd booked for our second evening in Lucca”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews for our first night in Lucca and wished we had booked it for our second and last evening there. Outside you could be forgiven for walking past as it looks quite unassuming but do go in - and do book! The owner explained he is now 55 years old and can only manage one sitting a day. This does mean that if you get there at 7.30 and want to stay until late, you are quite welcome to do so, but as every table was booked on the Monday night at the very end of September, you can imagine how difficult it would be to get it without a booking. And when you see the energy put into explaining the menu, the wines, the olive oils and anything else you want to know, you can understand why one sitting a day is enough! A total enthusiast for his food, wine and olive oil, great at creating a wonderful atmosphere, responsive to any requests (we had to change table as we were being bothered by some wild life attracted to the electric lights - we did and he shut the windows to stop the problem for other guests) and totally approachable, Pasquale speaks good English so a lack of Italian is not a problem. And the food? We shared a five course starter of chef's fancies - all beautifully presented and delicious - followed by an indulgence of porcini and truffle with a steak (for my husband) and linguine (for me). The wine was wonderful and such good value - half the price of a Brunello and just as good. Too full for a dessert, we were plyed with homemade liqueurs and a grappa on the house. If you are in Lucca and you want a lovely evening eating good food in good company, do go to Da Pasquale, but make sure there is still room for us next time we are there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pasta La Norma = Fantastico!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Eat here many times, try everything, ask what's good, ask for wine recommendations, it is all good and an education too! Pasta La Norma was one of the very best food items I have ever had in Italy. And there's a story to it, as Pasquale himself :) The fillet with balsamic and strawberries was thick, something I seldom find in Italy if you like a typical thick cut steak like in the states. I am going back again tonight, and he remembered me in detail from the time before. Makes it feel a little bit like home :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Pasquale also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Da Pasquale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing