We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place, perfect hospitality”
Review of Da Pasquale

Da Pasquale
Ranked #2 of 587 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, perfect hospitality”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in Lucca for a few days. Based on TA reviews we thought to try one of the recommended restaurants. Without reservation it's not easy to have table at the first few TA well rated restaurants. This why we could only try Da Pasquale on our last evening. Unfortunately.. This place was maybe the best among our Italian roundtrip!
Watch out: the restaurant is open from 19.30, so prepare like that!
We could only have table inside, but it was a good situation for us, as the interieur inside was really cosy. The manager (maybe Pasquale?) recommended us a good white wine - we wanted to have a fruity, dry wine -, and with the 19 EUR price, I think we had a really good choice. He told us that he serves up good wines, which prices are above average at the shops too, but as he's not working with high margin, it is reasonable - I agree.
Food is excellent, you can see and feel that there is care and devotion from the chef at every meal. Beside that, the manager focusing on good materials to process - to highlight the olive oil, which has 140 international awards and directly purchased from Sicily. So they don't offer food from supermarket, and that you feel in the flavours too!
What Í can absolutely recommend: beef carpaccio (WOW, what a meal!!!), pastas, and steak (Angus), dessert was perfect too.
I would say it is a very good value for your money, for 2-2 courses, bottle of wine (+ red to the steak), waters, dessert, we paid around 70 EURs. That amount we left at other places too, but the dimension is really different.
Mr Pasquale, please keep on doing this good quality, nice hospitality, you provided us an unforgettable evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HUcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,127
    177
    44
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and wine and excellent value”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate here early in the holiday, for our wedding anniversary in fact. It was such a wonderful meal that we made a booking for the following week before we left. We ate outside in the small seating area in the courtyard at the back on both occasions and there was a lovely atmosphere. The food was excellent, the steaks were delicious and the Tuscan pork stew was succulent and tasty. We had mixed starter for the whole table, this was a revelation with five or six dishes to share that arrived at intervals. It was good fun not knowing quite what was coming next! There was much delight and a lovely range of dishes. The bread was good quality and there were superb olive oils to try. There was an intensive wine list and Pasquale helped us choose some very high quality wine, both white and red; firstly from the local area and then on our second visit from Sicily that were not expensive.
Pasquale was a delightful host, totally enthusiastic about his restaurant, and the food and wine that he provides. (He was also multilingual, so we had no problems discussing the menu.) We will not forget him and we would go back to Lucca at the drop of a hat to eat here again. Amazing!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Moab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in lucca”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We went there for our second last night of the holiday and it was amazing. The food was amazing. I deeply recommend the steak with truffles and the beef carpaccio was amazing. I would also reccomend the mixed starter which looked and tasted amazing. Even better was the service. The owner was very nice and as helpful as possible. There was a fine selection of wines. We ate inside but there is an outside area. We ate in the back room with only one other table and the atmosphere was amazing. To top this off this was not an overly expensive place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank robbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
164 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner - well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Taken all around, this was the best meal of this year's holiday. Interesting to read some of the criticisms from others - we made a booking (which was straightforward) and were shown straight to our table, and although we were inside, the room wasn't airless and was air-conditioned. We thought the service was great - Pasquale's passion for his food and wine is obvious and a great contribution to the fun of the evening - while we did have to wait a while for the bill at the end of the evening, the wait was enlivened by two digestifs on the house, the second a lovely grappa from 1964. It's a small kitchen, and there are only two staff - you're going to have to wait a while folks; sit back and enjoy yourselves.

The food was mostly a hit - great steaks and pasta dishes, and the starters were excellent (the carpaccio of beef and of swordfish went down very well, and the mixed five starters for 2 people were delicious and shared around the table) one miss: the linguini with pesto of pistachio and shrimp was overwhelmed by the nut flavour, and didn't really work.

Pasquale recommended a really nice beer from Piedmont that I hadn't tried before, and then a great Barolo - good drink as well as good food.

We loved this place - highly recommended from our perspective. Well above the mass of the restaurants in Lucca.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor we tracked this restaurant down and booked a table for 6. What a gem of a place. The owner (Pasqualino) was so incredibly passionate about his restaurant and the food that he was offering. There were 6 of us but only 2 wanted to order the large mixed starter on the understanding that the others would probably pick pieces from it. Pasqualino immediately gave us one starter on the house so that effectively we had 1 between 2. We wanted a simple bottle of house red, but out came a choice of two, each with accompanying information about price (13 euros) grape, region and quality. Then onto mains with a varied choice between us. When the food arrived it was presented so beautifully and the flavours were simply exquisite, probably the best meal I have ever had in a restaurant. And to the bill. 6 people full to the brim, starters, main, wine, beer and water. A total of 124 Euros. What can we say other than thank you and leave you our highest recommendation. We had an inside table which was fine, but it would be worth booking and getting an outside table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Pasquale also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Da Pasquale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing