We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Perfect Welcome from the boss, who seemed always to be on reception. If it wasn't him it was his son. Nothing was too much trouble. Perfect breakfast with delicious bacon and scrambled eggs. Although breakfast room/reception lounge a bit small, and if everyone came down at the same time a little queue formed. Rococo furnishings, spotless and comfortable. Lucky to have a lift, although top floor is 2 extra flights of stairs. Very quiet, and near all the lovely bits of Lucca.
Perfect for a Long weekend. Business or pleasure

Room Tip: Air conditioned. Very comfortable, charming rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trudytheconjurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    183
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
116
325
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in august. The room was small and dark and did have a strange smell, bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was tired but ok, shower worked well. Noise from the connecting bedroom. Breakfast was the best we had had during our travels in Italy. I was disappointed as the photos give a much better impression of the hotel than it really is and I was expecting much more as this was the most expensive of all our hotels during our stay in Italy. Not sure if I would stay again, maybe another room would of been better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely experience throughout. From check in and help with parking, superb rooms (though aircon loud) and fabulous breakfast. All room names based on Puccini opera's, so we kept forgetting our room name. We had a great 2 days in beautiful Lucca as well, and would recommend renting bikes, and riding the city wall.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 2slapupgrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Lovely family run hotel in the middle of Lucca, great service, clean, well equipped rooms, good breakfast and great staff who helped us out with several requests. Lucca is a beautiful city and the Palazzo hotel was the perfect place to stay, would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This gem is within the walls of Lucca and close to all the major attractions.
Mario and Gabriel made our stay very special. Typical in italian rococo design this is what a italian hotel should feel like when you are visiting a historical town such as Lucca. Beds were great,water pressure and shower and the service unbeatable. Hotel has private secure parking for their guests
As well as a full breakfast for your morning start. I am a montreal travel agent and give this historical hotel a thumbs up

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor as the views are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This boutique hotel is inside the walls of Lucca and proximate to everything. It is very charming, made more so by the exemplary service of the proprietor Mario. He was more than willing to assist with everything from dinner reservations to car rentals to train schedules.
Two couples stayed in two junior suites on the top floor ( Tosca and La Boheme). The rooms our spacious but as an older property, there were a few issues. The mini fridge in our room did not work and we would have loved to have had cold water each night. In our friends' room, the AC did not work that well because of the configuration of the room and they did not seem to have much hot water.
If you are North American, be advised the rooms have tubs with a hand held shower nozzle which we were not that adept at using. The other issue is the virtual lack of counter space in the bathroom. Breakfast is included and is the same each day. Yogurt, some fresh fruit, brioche, toast , cakes, a platter of sliced meats and cheese, three cold cereals and a small dishes of scrambled eggs and bacon. Depending on when you eat, the dishes can be depleted. Overall though, I found this to be a charming hotel and good value for the dollar.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurorof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe england
Level Contributor
128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and we were very lucky to be upgraded to a junior suite, I think the owner was sorry for us as we arrived quite wet and bedragled due to terrible weather! Lovely room with angels on the ceiling, furniture a little worn but room full of character. Like the previous guest we didn't like the hand held shower but that's a minor detail. Breakfast was excellent with a really good choice. Owner and all staff we came across were really nice. Would certainly stay here if we were ever in Lucca again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Property: Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Address: Via Santa Giustina 48, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#5 Family Hotel in Lucca
#9 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known today as the Hotel Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and junior suites, all with modern, private bathrooms-some with whirlpool baths. In addition, all rooms contain such conveniences as air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, computer hook-ups, safe, minibar, hairdryers and free of charge wi-fi connection.The décor of the residence reflects the noble Lucchese style with the use of antique wood floors in all the bedrooms and fine marble and other local stones in the bathrooms, lobby and common rooms. Located in the center of Lucca’s historic district, Palazzo Alexander is easily reached from the main highway exits and from local train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alexander Lucca
Palazzo Alexander Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing