We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lucca is excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucca is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our hosts at Hotel Palazzo Alexander treated us like family. Our every need was taken care of and, many times, anticipated. From the authentic free breakfast to recommendations for the best restaurants, this is the place for you. We felt so welcomed and appreciated. The room was spacious and very clean. Located within the city wall, it is perfectly located to all of the amazing culture of Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    183
    25
    11
    10
See reviews for
116
325
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed here the end of June, 2014 for two nights.
The room was clean and spacious, with a classic design. Quiet, and really close to the best restaurants and sites of Lucca.
Where this hotel is phenomenal is in service. Mario, the Hotel Manager, rocks...
Fluent in five languages, he is one of the gifted ones who treats people according to their needs, and is patient, and informative, and really useful. Best meal of me and my fiance's life, due to his recommendation. (ask him!)
The Palazzo goes above and beyond, I recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We love this hotel, and we try to go to Lucca every year. We would not want to stay anywhere else. We will not give you the number of the room only because we do not want you to take our room if we are there at the same time! The owner and his son are very helpful and the rooms are comfortable and our room has a beautiful view of the city. Be sure and ride bikes on the wall park and enjoy seeing the sights inside the walls.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewOrleansFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

What a friendly place. From the moment you arrive till the moment you leave, all the staff are helpful and friendly. We stayed during the World Cup and were given excellent advice by the receptionist about where to eat and then watch the football afterwards - both excellent choices.

The position is excellent, within the walls and yet in a quiet location opposite the court.

Breakfast was the best we had on this trip and catered for all our needs - the gentleman who hosted spoke 3 different languages and seemed to faultlessly pick the correct one and switch between them effortlessly. At the same time being very cheerful and helpful to everyone there.

I would highly recommend this hotel and also Lucca which has a lovely atmosphere in line with Verona and not as touristy ( at least when we were there) as Siena or San Gimignano. Gelati shop in the Piazza Citadella was excellent

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank boomboom63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Mario and his family truly know what real hospitality is all about! We observed Mario making personal connections with all his guests, showing warm genuine care to everyone he interacted with time and time again! We cannot say enough about how we were made to feel in this great hotel! Thank you Mario!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Acz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here overnight on our way back to Pisa from Florence. Fab hotel with the most amazing bedrooms! We were warmly welcomed and offered coffee, as we had arrived early by train and our room wasn't ready. We had walked from the station about 10 minutes away, outside the city. We left our luggage and went exploring - we hired bikes and rode around the city walls (three euros fifty an hour - cycle shop recommended by the owner). Easily done in an hour, in fact we went round twice.

We also ate out that night at a trattoria close by, again through recommendation of the staff - very rustic food and typical of the region, and it was most enjoyable and reasonably priced.

We were impressed by the breakfast, which gave us lots of choice and afterwards made our way to the bus stop about 5 minutes walk away, to travel to Pisa. Cost just over seven euros! A bargain!! We would definitely stay here again - we had arrived on a national holiday so all the churches were closed unfortunately but loved Lucca and will visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayLynn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in this comfy hotel, which is the perfect base for exploring lovely Lucca. We arrived by car and immediately it was whisked off by the staff to the secure parking. Also returned on departure conveniently parked to exit the city. No outside space but with Lucca on the doorstep it didn't matter. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable. Scrambled egg and bacon available at breakfast in addition to the usual meats and pastries.
Would definately stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Property: Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Address: Via Santa Giustina 48, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#5 Family Hotel in Lucca
#9 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known today as the Hotel Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and junior suites, all with modern, private bathrooms-some with whirlpool baths. In addition, all rooms contain such conveniences as air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, computer hook-ups, safe, minibar, hairdryers and free of charge wi-fi connection.The décor of the residence reflects the noble Lucchese style with the use of antique wood floors in all the bedrooms and fine marble and other local stones in the bathrooms, lobby and common rooms. Located in the center of Lucca’s historic district, Palazzo Alexander is easily reached from the main highway exits and from local train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alexander Lucca
Palazzo Alexander Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing