We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Nearby Hotels
Eurostars Toscana(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piccolo Hotel Puccini(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Da Carlos(Santa Maria del Giudice)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$173
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel San Marco(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$169
$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rex(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$112
$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Luna(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$155
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Ponte(Lucca)(Great Value!)
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveler rating
444
209
33
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
209
33
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis sonthe ownerwithin the wallscharming hotelold world charmbreakfast roomnight porterhighly recommend this hotelnarrow streetsold townbeautiful luccainside the city wallstrain stationdouble roomcold meatsquiet locationcroissants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 707 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Palazzo Alexander is in a wonderful location within the walls of Lucca. The hotel itself is charming, if not a little warn. Mario, the host, and his son are intent on making your stay memorable. The rooms are fine, the bathrooms small but updated. The breakfast was very good with enough variety. The location was very quiet and comfortable. Mario helped us with drivers and other suggestions which were very helpful. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor were small but accomodating...may be tight for two.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoanB1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed the night here but was shown to a single disabled room with wet room facilities for the wheel chair and a higher toilet for those with special needs. When I pointed out that I'd prefer a room move as I didn't require these facilities, the move took place.
Room was fine although the bathroom a little dark. Sparkling water costing 1 euro from the minibar had a remarkable local tax of 150% added taking it to an astonishing 2.50 euro.
Breakfast was good in the somewhat ostentatious dining room. Overall, would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early October and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a romantic place to spend time in this most romantic of cities. If you can, book a junior suite and ask for the 'Tosca'. This room, on the top floor, has a lovely little balcony from which to survey the roof tops and towers, perfect for your aperitivo as the sun sets behind the mountains. Every member of the hotel team was friendly and helpful. We will certainly come back here the next time we go to Lucca.

Room Tip: The Tosca Junior Suite has a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norfolkersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at Palazzo Alexander four times since the hotel first opened in 2000. It is a charmingly ornate boutique hotel, in a sympathetically restored 12th century building, within the ancient walled city of Lucca.

We first came across Palazzo Alexander by chance, arriving in Lucca without a hotel reservation on a celebration weekend. Everywhere we tried within the walls was fully booked, so we went to the Tourist Information Centre in Lucca and they found several hotels with availability outside the historic centre, but we wanted to stay within the Centro Storico, as we were only there for two nights. They informed us of a newly opened hotel, that had no rating, but had rooms available, and was located within the walls of the Citta. We took their advice and were delighted at what we found. We return to Lucca every time we fly to Pisa, and frequently stay here.

Palazzo Alexander is close to the Porta San Donato Vecchia (Saint Donato Vechia gate) and it is possible to drive to the entrance, but the streets are very narrow. Once your vehicle is unloaded you will have to move it to a suitable parking area. The hotel shares a private car park around the corner from the hotel at extra cost, but we prefer to park here rather than outside the city walls, or chance finding a suitable parking place within the walls.The reception will provide a key to the parking courtyard and give you instructions on how to get there. It is a minutes walk, but the narrow streets and one-way systems can be confusing.

The reception is small and intimate, with the breakfast room on the left and the lounge and small (but well stocked) bar on the right as you enter the building. The four floors have nine guest rooms, ornately decorated and furnished with Regency style furniture, polished wooden floors, gilded mirrors and embossed gold and silver fabrics. As a small historic city centre hotel, it has no garden, terrace or pool, but some rooms have jaccuzzi baths, balconies and sofas to relax in, and you have the medieval town centre and Piazza's on your doorstep.

The nine rooms, including 3 suites are named after operas. Each room is a different shape (some small), due to the layout of the old building, and each furnished eclectically and slightly different, but all with ensuite, minibar, cable TV, hairdryer, central heating, air-conditioning, and a comfortable clean bed. Breakfast is served on the ground floor next to the reception with a good continental breakfast selection (including cold meats and cheeses), and you can ask for eggs anyway you want them, and fish when available (in season).

Within minutes you can walk to everything within the Centro Storico, with lots to see and do. Good shopping, excellent restaurants, bars, cafes, museums, galleries, Piazza's, markets, historic buildings and lots, lots more. If you haven't been to Lucca before, walk (or cycle) around the city walls to see some of the sights that take your interest. The city walls are well shaded by trees and the Luccese take a stroll at all times of the day and evening.

We often stay in Lucca for one or two nights when we visit Tuscany or Umbria. Lucca is only 40 minutes from Pisa airport, and far superior than staying in downtown Pisa. Palazzo Alexander is highly recommended.

Ciao.

The hotel is air-conditioned in the public areas and your room

Room Tip: Ask for a spacious room, or book a beautiful suite.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BoABeauBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on 13/9/13 which was also Luminara di Santa Croce a great night to be in Lucca as much of the town is lit by candles, but not easy to park or drive in as a lot of the roads are closed. On our arrival the manager came straight out took our bags and offered to drive us to the car park a short distance away. They simply could not have been more helpful. The room we were offered was a twin but was extremely clean and the beds were comfortable. If you are looking for a modern hotel don't go here. The furnishings are period but in keeping with the hotel. The manager recommended a local restaurant which was excellent for its typical Tuscan cuisine and not just for tourists. Some reports here say the Hotel is tired but I think it is of its age and well maintained but may not be to som peoples taste. Breakfast cappucino was delicious. The walled town of Luccs is delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Planner73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews