We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL LITTLE PALAZZO IN THE HEART OF LUCCA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL LITTLE PALAZZO IN THE HEART OF LUCCA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a great place to stay in beautiful Lucca: perfectly situated within the old walls, within walking distance of restos, attractions and the train station. The decor is wonderfully quaint, packed with Old World charm. The staff was efficient and friendly. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, WOULD STAY THERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    196
    27
    11
    11
See reviews for
124
340
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a great find in Lucca - a cute little hotel with great service and friendly staff. Our group stayed in the hotel for two nights and we couldn't have been treated with better care. We did have some issue with the air conditioning not working, but it was rectified the very next day and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Lucca is small and easily walkable - you can walk to the hotel from the train station in about 10 mins,but there are some pathways of gravel, so if you are pulling a suitcase, I don't suggest you do.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second or third floor are a bit quieter than the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baillie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Well it was a fabulous one night stay In a beautiful town of lucca. Mario was so very helpful even helped us with what to do during our summer Tuscan break. He couldn't do enough for us. Room was fabulous, staff fabulous. It feels like we stumbled on a secret hotel.... Anyone who wants a lovely restful place to stay you need to stay here. Cannot recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Lucca is a magic city!
Just wandering and soaking it in is wonderful - the beautiful walk round the wall, the narrow streets where bicycles, small cars, and people seem to merge quite contentedly together, the tiny little lanes, the wide piazzas.......
Lovely restaurants seemingly on every corner: stunning shops, beautiful churches and, always, a Puccini concert!

We stayed here for 6 nights - could happily have been a lot longer, and we stayed in this hotel where we were comfortable and extremely well cared for.
Our host Mario and his wife and son were very warm and friendly and seemingly could not do enough for us.

Would I go back to Lucca? Of course I would!
Would I stay at the Hotel Palazzo Alexander again? Certainly!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jamesmW3102FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

stopped here from Venice on our way to Rome. Loved this hotel. The service was great and Lucca itself is so beautiful. A little rainy while we were there but a maze, yes maze of beautiful shops, gelato salons and gorgeous architecture. The walled city is large yet intimate. The restaurants, parks, shops are worthy of a few days to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel's easiest enough to find if you enter through the correct gate to the walled city but parking and finding you way out again through narrow one way streets with sharp turns is tricky. So leave your mercedes or jaguar at home and hire a punto !

The rooms are ok. Nothing too special and nothing too wrong, but the shower cubicle was miniscule. You won't fit through the door if your very overweight. €180 euros B&B per night inc €14 for parking.

Good breakfast. Helpful staff.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor seemed to be beneath staff accommodation on the third floor. At night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights, day tripping to Florence and smaller Tuscan towns from Lucca. The hotel is lovely, with a beautiful breakfast/tea room in the morning and personable staff. The decor is exquisite. Excellent staff recommendations for dining inside the walls of Lucca. Highly lrecommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Alexander

Property: Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Address: Via Santa Giustina 48, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#5 Family Hotel in Lucca
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known today as the Hotel Palazzo Alexander, the residence encompasses four floors of rooms and junior suites, all with modern, private bathrooms-some with whirlpool baths. In addition, all rooms contain such conveniences as air conditioning, satellite television, telephones, computer hook-ups, safe, minibar, hairdryers and free of charge wi-fi connection.The décor of the residence reflects the noble Lucchese style with the use of antique wood floors in all the bedrooms and fine marble and other local stones in the bathrooms, lobby and common rooms. Located in the center of Lucca’s historic district, Palazzo Alexander is easily reached from the main highway exits and from local train and bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alexander Lucca
Palazzo Alexander Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing