We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo San Martino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo San Martino to your Saves list
Albergo San Martino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Dogana 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was very reasonably priced especially as it is within the walls of the historic city of Lucca, only a short walk from the train station and easily accessed with luggage. It is just around the corner from the Duomo and the various streets that lead to shopping, churches, the walk on top of the wall and other places of interest. It does not take long to walk from one end of town to the other provided you don't step inside a shop or a church.
Our room had a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with very modern shower plumbing and accessories. However, you needed to turn the shower option dial with a great deal of force (turn with a towel in your hand to give you extra grip) in order to shift it onto an option that sprayed water. Persevere because when you finally get the bush shower head working it was a great shower. If you can't get the shower to work, ask the concierge - they are all very helpful - or else have a jacuzzi bath.
Our window faced the street but we thought it was permanently closed with a shutter and therefore woke up in darkness for a couple of days until one day we came back to find the maid had opened the shutters and we suddenly had light.
Breakfast had a variety of cereals and fruit but the toaster took ages to toast the bread so we found it easier to have croissants or the bread untoasted. There are tables outside that can also be used for breakfast or at any other time and we found this a very pleasant spot to sit.
The staff were very helpful. They booked us a tour to the Cinque Terre (well worth doing) and gave us all kinds of instructions to various places within the city.
Would stay here again especially since we can now work the shower and open the window.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morotti, Direttore at Albergo San Martino, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Ciao!
Many many thanks for your precious words. These help us, if there something to improve, we are ready to ddo it.
In fact we have already asked the plumber to find some easier showers for our bathrooms.
It is a pleasure also to inform you that our breakfast is growing up; since few days there are also som mozzarelle, tomatoes, different fruits, eggs.
So this is a good reason to come back and try these new products.
We really bthanks you again for your review, hoping to see you again and soon

Manager Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Located inside the walls of Lucca, this might be the perfect hotel to stay. Fairly reasonable priced, giving discounts when you (or your friends) return. Room is big enough, nice bathroom, lacking a view, but offers you a quiet night. Service is good, parking opportunities nearby (for EUR 15,- a day inside the walls is rather cheap). We choose to have breakfast elsewhere. The city of Lucca offers so many breakfast opportunities, of which La Grotta is the best. Check out our review as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siejoepuntnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morotti, Direttore at Albergo San Martino, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Ciao!
We really thank you for these kind words. It is nice to read you appreciated our service. We try to do the best for our guests...For the view we are not able to do anything ;-), but once we'll have a terrace with a view, contact us and we will reserve it for you!
Many thanks again

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

hotel albergo san martino is a family run hotel a short walk from the train station and a short stroll from the city walls and the center of town.All the staff at reception was very friendly.the breakfast was very good with about 4 outside tables if the weather is good.Albergo san martino is not a luxury hotel but it is good value for your money.My room a single was 82 euros and was good size.it had everything I needed,small fridge safe and tv and comfortable bed.if I return to lucca I would stay here again.

Room Tip: my room was a single for 82 euros and was decent size.Hotel is on a quiet street with no traffic so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morotti, Direttore at Albergo San Martino, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
And it is lovely to know that we did correctly our job and you appreciated it.
Many thanks for your delicious words, hoping to see you again in the future.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights in June, fab. Staff friendly, Fabrizio at reception really helpfully. Great breakfast's too.
Very central for the city, ideal for all shops and bars, will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morotti, Direttore at Albergo San Martino, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Sirs,
we simply say THANKS for your nice words.
Hope to see you again in Lucca and with us!

Ciao

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellently placed for the Duomo and getting up onto the city walls. Charming and useful small terrace for breakfast and drinks. Really helpful and friendly staff who, among other things, carried our luggage to our room for us. We had two wonderful dinners at Ristorante Giglio, a few steps away from the hotel. Top Tip: Don't rent a large car if you want to park in the car park used by the hotel. The alleyway was built for a Roman chariot pulled by a small pony! Car parking fee is very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morotti, Direttore at Albergo San Martino, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We really appreciate you felt in love with our beautiful town and we happly like also your kind words for our service. Hoping to see you again in the future, Lucca and Hotel San Martino are waiting for you whenever.

Ciao ciao

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great value, located as close as possible to the train station while still inside the walls. Cute room, really friendly staff, very clean and comfortable. As a bonus, cool history of the building that is tucked away back from any traffic (not that there is much to be had within the walls anyway)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

First, I recommend skipping Lucca and spend extra time in Barga, which is much more interesting.
About the hotel...Lucca has 6 gates to entry. You must pick the correct gate or you can't park near your hotel. Miss the gate and then drive all the way around again.
Once you get to the hotel, you park blocking a narrow street and go in to check-in. Local cars will be honking their horns as you dump you luggage and sign in.
Then they will lead you as you drive your car to their parking lot down a very very narrow street.
Then you must manuever your car slowly around a concrete cover on a water pipe to avoid car damage. The chance of car damage is high here-- so be very careful.
Rooms and breakfast were adequate but I would not go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpartner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morotti, Direttore at Albergo San Martino, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Ciao,
It has been very sad to read you didn't like Lucca. Our town is so pretty, it is not my opinion only but reviews and magazines underline how Lucca is so pretty for tourists and not only. But I can understand that you could not like it.
About the gates, we have an historical center, we have four gates. To reach the hotel we indicated the name of the door in our confirmation answer or we wrote it in our website with a special map.
Anyway we always invite our guests to call us if they have problems to reach us.
When you are in the center, people has to consider that it is a medieval town, streets are narrow. They were born for horses, not for cars. We perfectly understand you if you are scared for your car, anyway there is a parking area just 30 meters from the hotel.
We really hope you can have a second possibility to explore Lucca and the neighborhood and see them under another point of view.
Thanks for your review, it helps us if there is something we can improve.

Manager Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#10 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.5 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#17 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#5 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Martino

Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lucca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of the town, inside the walls in the historical center of Lucca, San Martino & Diana Hotels are the ideal place to spend a holiday in complete relax. Retrieved from historic "house of pleasure" of the '50s, Hotel San Martino offers spacious, comfortable and well cared rooms, each characterized by the name of a "Lady" that used to visit the historic brothel, as Nuccia, Carlaccia or Wanda; each room offers a private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, digital TV, mini bar, safe, WIFI internet connection. A warm and cozy place to enjoy moments in the comfortable lounge and at the bar with a wide selection of drinks and snacks, for quiet evenings. Newspapers and a free internet terminal are available for the customer. Easily accessible from major access points to the town (train station at 500 mt, 600 mt bus terminal, exit Firenze-Mare 1500 meters), the hotel is centrally located and in a short distance from all the major points of historical interest, arts and culture, a few meters from Teatro del Giglio, from the Cathedral of San Martinol (Duomo) and Piazza Napoleone. The qualified and smiling staff will welcome you and help you in making your stay unforgettable. The staff is multilingual, is at your disposal from 7.00 am to 23.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Albergo San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Martino Lucca
Albergo San Martino Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing