We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within the walls and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo San Martino
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Within the walls and quiet”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I wanted to visit Lucca and find a nice hotel within the city walls. Albergo San Martino was perfect. It was on a quiet street just a block from the cathedral. The hotel was decorated with charm and character and the room was a good size. Everything was clean and tidy and the breakfast was a huge buffet catering to all tastes.

The staff were friendly and keen to help.

All in all, a very pleasant stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a small and personal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susi e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    191
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
302
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent two nights here having driven up from Florence and it proved to be an excellent choice. Just inside the walls of the old city, the hotel was quiet but very convenient for exploring this fascinating old town. The room was quiet and comfortable with a more than adequate bathroom while the breakfast was notable for the excellent apple pie! The staff were helpful and pointed us in the right direction for a restaurant, although we eventually found one ourselves which proved to be a good move as we dined there both nights. The manager helped in parking the car and the cost was a lot cheaper than in Florence (€30 for two nights rather than €46 in Florence) and on leaving fetched it for us from the car park a short walk away. While Lucca is only a small city, the location of the hotel made exploring it very easy. Would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to explore Lucca and/or Pisa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timcyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We thorougly recommend this excellent albergo.

The staff were all friendly. The breakfast was excellent. We were the lucky ones with a balcony situated off our bathroom. A real loo with a view!

The room was well appointed as was the location in the heart of the city. And oh what a delightful city it was to explore.

Our sleep was undisturbed so we slept soundly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Small and friendly hotel inside the walls of Lucca. The staff helped us through the road system and parked the car for us so we immediately felt welcome. The room was excellent and we were there in very hot weather in August but had no difficulty with either air-conditioning or room lighting. Great situation for walking round Lucca but we also visited Pisa from here. Breakfast was superb and the little outdoor seating area perfect for resting and planning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We travelled by train to Lucca and the hotel was an easy walk from the station. It is a comfortable hotel and well placed for visiting this small city (everything is walking distance). The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. I would agree with previous reviews that the restrictions on when the air conditioning could be a problem in very hot weather. Also, we found the lighting in our room was very poor so difficult to read in bed at night. Breakfast was good and staff pleasant. One thing to note is there is no lift so access could be a problem for some.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Albergo San Martino is a very small hotel inside the walls of the ancient town of Lucca. Because we arrived with a tour group, we had to park outside the walls and drag out luggage through the gate and a few blocks to the hotel. Some might view that as an inconvenient attribute of the hotel; I thought it added to the overall quaintness of our stay.

The location of the hotel is actually quite good - a few hundred meters from the gate in the wall, and a few hundred maters from the maiin square. Its also very conveniently located relative to the Duomo, and for us, it was also very close to the Puccini recital that takes place every night at the Church of San Giovanna.

The rooms are small. For a short stay, that's not a problem, but it could be inconvenient for a longer visit. There was no dresser or other place to store clothing, nor was there anywhere to place an open suitcase. The room was also a bit dark, so reading was not a practical option. The bath was quite nice.

The common rooms are nice. There is a sitting area and bar, and just outside the front door there is a deck with tables and chairs that make a nice place to relax with a drink or a book.

Breakfast is provided with the room, and it is quite a complete 'continental style' breakfast. Many of the pastries are made by the wife of the owner who has a reputation for her fruit pies, especially her apple pies.

Lucca can be hot in the summer, and the hotel is air conditioned. But for economic reasons, operation of the air conditioning is limited to a few hours during the heat of the day. That's ok - the problem is that there are three controls over operation of the AC- the master control based on time of day, the thermostat in each room, and a control that is hidden under a panel on the AC unit itself. We had a problem coordinating those three controls such that the AC actually operated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This B & B was everthing we needed for our overnight stop in Lucca. It's in a great location within the walled town, was easy to find, had its own parking nearby, very bright and welcoming, userfriendly, quiet for sleeping, topped off with a delicious homemade breakfast which can be eaten indoors or outdoors. . . . what more could one ask for? We certainly hope we get an opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 48 in Lucca
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 48 in Lucca
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 48 in Lucca
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Martino

Property: Albergo San Martino
Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lucca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of the town, inside the walls in the historical center of Lucca, San Martino & Diana Hotels are the ideal place to spend a holiday in complete relax. Retrieved from historic "house of pleasure" of the '50s, Hotel San Martino offers spacious, comfortable and well cared rooms, each characterized by the name of a "Lady" that used to visit the historic brothel, as Nuccia, Carlaccia or Wanda; each room offers a private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, digital TV, mini bar, safe, WIFI internet connection. A warm and cozy place to enjoy moments in the comfortable lounge and at the bar with a wide selection of drinks and snacks, for quiet evenings. Newspapers and a free internet terminal are available for the customer. Easily accessible from major access points to the town (train station at 500 mt, 600 mt bus terminal, exit Firenze-Mare 1500 meters), the hotel is centrally located and in a short distance from all the major points of historical interest, arts and culture, a few meters from Teatro del Giglio, from the Cathedral of San Martinol (Duomo) and Piazza Napoleone. The qualified and smiling staff will welcome you and help you in making your stay unforgettable. The staff is multilingual, is at your disposal from 7.00 am to 23.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Martino Lucca
Albergo San Martino Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing