We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff, very clean and location is great and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo San Martino
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Avignon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff, very clean and location is great and quiet”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Parking is extra, wifi works, very recomended. Clean, easy to sleep as its a quiet street and rooms are good size with mini fridge but not very cold.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMarovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    191
    38
    5
    3
See reviews for
70
302
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just come back from a weeks stay at this hotel and it was a great place to stay. I have stayed at this hotel before and it was just as good as last year. This time we were on the first floor and I believe the rooms are slightly bigger on the second floor. However, there was more than enough space to hang clothes up and tidy away all your other bits and bobs. The bathroom was small but perfectly formed - there was a little alcove in the shower to house shower gel and whatnot. There was tv in the room but only one channel.... BBC Worldservice does get a little repetative, but iPod and speakers soon sorted that one out. The bed is two singles put together, but I think there is a matress protector over the top so the join in the middle was much softer than others I have stayed in. The matress is very firm, but again the protector made it soft to sleep on. We were lucky we had the triple room and had access to two extra pillows. You only get one pillow per person, but if you don't have access to extra pillows, there are two blankets that do just as nicely. There is a system for the towels (which is mentioned in the bathroom) that if you hang up your towels they will not be changed. Personally I think this is a great idea, why do you need your towel changed every day! But I have read other reviews that were suprised at this. So I wanted to mention it :)

It is only 10 minutes *with case* from the station to the hotel, some of the pavements are small but they are also short. You are also very close to the best gelatia (see number 4 for Lucca places to eat).

The breakfasts were great, a nice mix of pastries, fruit, meats, breads etc. You can ask for coffee or drink what is provided (if you have time ask for a hand made coffee).

This is a three star hotel, but is it much nicer than other three star places. There is no lift - but it is a old building and would be impossible to put one in. But the staff will always help take cases up stairs. Free stuff in the bathroom - no there isn't much but this is more B&B than hotel. There is a bar by main reception, but does close when staff leave. But you can come and go as you please, like a hotel. There are loads of places to drink in the town and the mini bar in the room is nicely stocked too.

Albergo San Martino is surrounded by other high walled buildings so sound does travel, Lucca is also a busy town where people live and work, it will get noisy in the morning. But the dawn chorus is much MUCH louder.

There is so much to see in Lucca and this hotel/B&B is the best place to stay - just out of the way but never far away from anything. Minutes away from the station, walls and Piazza Napolean. I personally recommend this place to stay if you want a sound base with a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

WE stayed one night last week. Lovely hotel in a quiet location quite close to the cathedral. Room and breakfast were good. The staff were very helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant. Would definitely stay gain.

Rodg

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodg912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Picked this hotel after having stayed at 2 others over the years. The room we chose was lovely. There was a modern bathroom (but... not enough places to put your things - we told the front desk & owner about this during our stay). The front desk was very helpful, the breakfast even had homemade treats. I had an issue because they were displaying some perfume/scents at a table right outside our room & since I have sinus problems... it really bothered me. No problem, they immediately moved the items to another part of the hotel. Everything was 1st rate & we will definitely stay there again. The hotel would seriously be one reason to come back to Lucca!

Room Tip: When you contact the hotel, just ask them. They are 100% helpful. Pictures on website are accurate
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We loved the inn for our first night in Italy. The bathroom, with its Kohler-type shower options, jacuzzi and colored lights, was fantastic. Reception was friendly and helpful as we adjusted to jet lag and Italian.

Good suggestions for activities, including the Puccini concert nearby. Lucca is a lovely, small town. Breakfast was Italian--coffee and carbs. When in Italy, do as the .......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I try to review hotels as objectively as possible,accepting that one mans meat is anothers poison,and so try not to become side-tracked by any unusual good or bad experiences taking the view that to be helpful to fellow travellers it`s important to try to give an impresion of what they can expect ,not what might occur once in a blue moon.I booked this hotel on the strength of others reviews,as i often do and I`m rarely disappointed.This time I was.

I can`t really recognise the hotel from some earlier reviews .Even allowing for the fact everywhere in Tuscany is ludicrously over-priced and often over-hyped,and that Lucca itself is a small ,not especially interesting provincial town that can be explored in half a day,I still can`t see why this particular hotel gets such good ratings.What follows is my personal feelings about it.I hope it helps you decide and it may be the things I disliked aren`t important to you or are positively a plus.If so I wish you well and I`m happy to have helped.

Although classed as an hotel this establishment is really closer to a B&B guest house.Nothing wrong with that in itself,I sometimes stay at B&B`s,but equally you need to know that what you`re booking isn`t perhaps what you`d expect in the way of a "normal" 3 star hotel at a price of about £115 per night for a double room.

The hotel is about a 10-15 min walk from the rail station,inside the walls of the city.It`s located in an alleyway and looks quite pretty outside.The small reception area is bright and clean.Check-in and check-out were efficient,perhaps to be expected in such a small hotel.Just off reception,essentially part of it really ,is a small area of a lounge with a couple of sofas and a chair.This area also doubles for the use of a laptop for the free internet .It`s also the "bar" ,which is more properly described as a drinks cabinet.Since usually there`s only one member of staff on duty the receptionist is also the barperson ,though because the area is so small and only a few steps from where the receptionist sits,it`s not really a bar where I imagine many people sit and relax.It`s not very cosy or inviting.I saw no-one use it during my 2 night stay.

There`s no lift.The quite narrow staircase with it`s turns was fine for me because we were travelling light.For someone with a big suitcase,or not agile or strong, it would be more of a problem.Since there`s no porter don`t expect help,especially since at least one of the receptionists who could be on duty when you arrive, doesn`t look too sprightly herself.

Our room was small.I appreciate the rooms vary but I don`t know how typical ours was or whether we just had the worst one in the hotel,if so maybe a choice should be offered.The furnishings were poor,second hand tables and wardrobe(and I don`t mean antique-just rather cheap second hand bits and pieces).The bed was hard for our taste.There was a mini-bar with limited stock,for example one bottle of beer,one bottle of coke,no spirits at all-you get the picture.There was a room safe located in the wardrobe but the instructions were on top of the safe and the lighting in the room too poor to actually read them since you virtually had to get in the wardrobe to read them by which point you`d blocked out any light.

The walls are thin.Other guests using the bathrom or sneezing or coughing or snoring are easily audible.I wouldn`t have wanted to have been here on my honeymoon for fear of disturbing other guests,if you follow my drift.

The small TV didn`t work.I mentionned it to a receptionist who said they`d been a problem with the aerial but offered to try to fix it but also explained there were no English language channels anyway.

I don`t know if the AC worked because it wasn`t warm enough to need it at this time of the year.However the unit is a very basic fan type so could be noisy.We did have the windows open a little at night to have fresh air.Unfortunately there are no nets at the windows so this allowed mosquitoes to enter.It also was noisy at times as the alley is used by people coming back in the early hours from the town`s bars and restaurants.

Our bathroom was nothing like the one described by one reviewer.It was an adequate size but there was no bath(even less a hot tub) nor a walk -in shower.There was a normal,rather small,shower.I`m not big but anyone of 6 feet for example would feel cramped.The bathroom had been recenly painted in bright,some might say garish colours,and the shower tray ,painted orange with yellow water stains,matched the orange and yellow vinyl floor.The tiles had been painted beige.The shower worked fine but the runners for the doors looked a little grimey with mildew.The bathroom and the room itself however were clean enough.The towels provided were fine.The toiletries consisted of a small tube of shower gel,one tube between us for each night and not replenished each day.I expect we could have asked for more but the female receptionist we asked for extra pillows so lacked charm,and made us feel she was doing us such a huge favour,that we really couldn`t be bothered.Why that particular receptionist found it so hard to smile,and why she always seemed so busy on her computer or telephone was a constant mystery in an hotel with maybe half a dozen rooms occupied.In fact,again despite comments by other reviewers about the hospitality of the staff,we didn`t find this.Generally none of the staff,apart from one receptionist(the receptionists work in shifts so they changed throughout the day) seemed to know what a smile was.

Breakfast is taken in a very small dining area.It`s buffet style.It`s adequate provivded you`re happy with carbs,because there were nice pastries as well as bread and cereal and some fruit.There was a small amount of processed meats and cheese.There was no hot food option.No eggs,cold or otherwise.Fresh orange juice would have been nice,not the watery variety supplied.The crockery was chipped.The dining area was very intimate,to put it kindly,which meant you are rather forced into converstion with fellow guests for fear of otherwise seeming rude.Personally I don`t much care for small talk with strangers when i`ve just woken but I realise some people love it(I try to avoid those people,but here you can`t).

The reception is manned between about 7am until 11pm at which point the front door is locked.You do have a key to let yourself in if you get back after this.However it means there is no member of staff on duty after 11pm,not even to serve a drink at the "bar " that is advertised as being open until midnight.If an emergency arises in the night there`s a telephone number on a card at reception so hopefully any poor soul who needs help will be able to get downstairs and make a call.What would happen in a fire is worrying .There are no fire doors and with no staff,if a fire started in the kitchen next to reception the only exit would soon be blocked.The drop from the windows of first floor rooms is probably survivable exept for the young and old,from the second floor pretty unlikely.

As you can imagine I personally wouldn`t stay here again nor recommend it.I appreciate I seem to be in a minority from the reviews of others--except of course that of the hundreds of folks who no doubt have stayed here in the last 6 months there aren`t that many who`ve bothered to write about their favourable view of it.

One tip,not about the hotel as such is that the best way to get to Pisa airport from Lucca is from the small bus station in town.3 Euros and a 45 min service that runs frequently and one of the stops is about 200 yards from the leaning tower so you can get off,have a look and get on the next bus for the airport.It`s a pleasant route as well and much better than the train to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Albergo San Martino is tucked in a quiet corner of Lucca. It's super clean with a GREAT breakfast. The staff was very accommodating to my family and made us feel very welcome. And the price was right. I'd stay again in a heartbeat ... Lucca is a dream, by the way.

Only downside was the hotel's atrocious wifi. You need passports to get codes to get on their network for EACH device you have (my family had 6), and it automatically kicked us off every 5 minutes or so. Wifi is critical for us, and I assume for most travelers, to allow us to cheaply access our emails, maps, notes, etc. We had to use "roaming" here, which ain't cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 48 in Lucca
1,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 48 in Lucca
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 48 in Lucca
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Martino

Property: Albergo San Martino
Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lucca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of the town, inside the walls in the historical center of Lucca, San Martino & Diana Hotels are the ideal place to spend a holiday in complete relax. Retrieved from historic "house of pleasure" of the '50s, Hotel San Martino offers spacious, comfortable and well cared rooms, each characterized by the name of a "Lady" that used to visit the historic brothel, as Nuccia, Carlaccia or Wanda; each room offers a private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, digital TV, mini bar, safe, WIFI internet connection. A warm and cozy place to enjoy moments in the comfortable lounge and at the bar with a wide selection of drinks and snacks, for quiet evenings. Newspapers and a free internet terminal are available for the customer. Easily accessible from major access points to the town (train station at 500 mt, 600 mt bus terminal, exit Firenze-Mare 1500 meters), the hotel is centrally located and in a short distance from all the major points of historical interest, arts and culture, a few meters from Teatro del Giglio, from the Cathedral of San Martinol (Duomo) and Piazza Napoleone. The qualified and smiling staff will welcome you and help you in making your stay unforgettable. The staff is multilingual, is at your disposal from 7.00 am to 23.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Martino Lucca
Albergo San Martino Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing