We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely venue, great location BUT be careful which room they put you in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo San Martino
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, great location BUT be careful which room they put you in!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is a charming hotel perfectly situated to explore Lucca. The staff are very pleasant and the continental breakfast is excellent. I wish I had been more switched on when we arrived because then I would have remembered the lovely rooms I looked at on the hotel web site- I didn't! So up we went 4 flights of stairs with our suitcases, even the young lady who helped us was exhausted when she reached the top, into what I would describe as a box room. It was called the "Carlacci" room. The bed was rock hard and the room barely soundproof. The next day our friends arrived and stayed in the "Tres Scallini" which was gorgeous- beautifully decorated, spacious with a fantastic bathroom with all the bells & whistles _ I was jealous!! The rooms cost the same amount!
Anyway we should have complained and requested a nicer room with a comfortable bed but we were busy exploring and eating! I think though in fairness it should be made clearer that there are significant differences in the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    182
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
285
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

This small and friendly Hotel begins with being in the perfect quiet location within a beautiful City surrounded by a 17th Century wall which alone would be enough but they can also boast; comfortable rooms with all facilities, a more than adequate breakfast to suit any taste, friendly and helpful staff, sensational value for money and much to do and see and not only within the walls of the City but within a short train journey from the nearby station.
We cannot recommend a stay at this hotel highly enough having enjoyed a wonderful few days just winding down.

Room Tip: Go with the flow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

I'd been looking so forward to visiting Lucca. Prior to arriving via car, I had the concierge at my hotel in Florence call to confirm specific directions for getting to the hotel. We had a bit of trouble as the street is marked pedestrian only, so my husband parked at a bus stop and I walked to the inn for assistance. Andreas, the innkeeper, was quite gruff. In fact, if I hadn't been so excited to see Lucca, I would have walked back to the car and left. Later I figured out I caught him as he was wanting to go for his lunch, which likely accounted for his unfriendliness.
Positives:
The wall around the city is very enjoyable to walk on.
The inn is in a quiet location with minimal outside noise.
The innkeeper also owns a restaurant that was pretty good.
The innkeeper assisted us in fixing the rental car's GPS.
CNN on television
Negatives:
The beds are horrible....hard. The pillows, only one each, were very thin. Did not get a good sleep either night.
The free wifi is at best sporatic. Kept getting booted off.
We stayed in two rooms with one bath on the floor above reception. The shower stall looked like something out of a doll house. Towels were thin and scratchy.
Kleenex and toilet paper was not replenished.
Breakfast is odd hours-starting at 8. We really wanted to head out before 7 both mornings, but our car was in the hotel secure lot under lock and key and after his initial unfriendliness to us, we didn't want to ask the innkeeper to allow our car out early or to allow us an early breakfast. The first morning we came down at 8, and he didn't come down until about 8:30. Kind of ruined our morning.
All in all, I wouldn't return nor would I recommend it to others. Lucca can easily be enjoyed in an afternoon from Florence.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

I stayed at the Albergo San Martino and absolutely loved it. The hotel has very modern amenities including a luxurious jacuzzi tub and amazing shower and the rooms are really nice. You feel like you are staying in an up-to-date luxurious hotel that fits in perfectly with the older town. The hotel is very welcoming from the comfortable sitting area in the lobby filled with picture books and a cool bar to the very friendly proprietor, Andrea. Make sure you check out the trendy toilet paper holders in the lobby bathroom and the breakfast served in the morning. The beds are very comfortable and the hotel is very quiet and I love the old stone steps leading up to the room. The mood lighting in the hotel rooms is also a plus. The hotel is spotless clean and I highly recommend staying there. The hotel is located within the walls of Lucca and walking distance to many great restaurants, bakeries, shops and sights. While in Lucca make sure you walk the entire wall around the city and eat at a restaurant called, Osteria dal Manzo.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArianneCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

My 23 year old daughter and I made a last minute decision to visit Lucca and found this hotel on Tripadvisor. We were warmly greeted by the night manager who patiently answered all 5 of my phone calls trying to find the hotel at night. Once we got there, it seemed pretty simple but the rain and dark made it a bit confusing. It was worth it though, the room was great, the bathroom was large and had a wonderful balcony, the breakfast was ample and had some fresh baked hotel specials as well as made to order cappuccino... all delicious. The location was fantastic, a short walk to everything inside the walled city, which is beautiful. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Everyone who worked at the hotel was so friendly, warm, and helpful. The owner was gracious and friendly and made us the delicious coffee to start our day. We would definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelover1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mellieha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

Very welcoming and helpful hotel . Electrics in room takes a little working out .Spa bath and multi shower setting with dimming different coloured lighting in bathroom.Breakfast disappointing -the worse we experienced in Tuscany - poor mass produced coffee and 'flask' hot water.A bit noisey down the side road from 6 am onwards , but room is up to a 5 star standard and the Romanian front office girl is first class.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunieMellieha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We were in Italy for 3.5 weeks, and I booked this hotel for the one night we were to be in Lucca. Of all the hotels we stayed in, it was probably my favorite.

In the first place, the hotel is located a short walk from the center of the historic center and the duomo, shops, and restaurants. They also offer private parking ($10 per night), which was great. The room, while small, was comfortable. It had a television and desk. The bed was comfortable (although a little hard). And, most importantly, everything in the place was spotlessly clean.

One of the most important things to me, though, is how the service is. We found everyone there to be absolutely wonderful and willing to help. We arrived before check-in, but the gal at the front desk helped us get to the hidden parking spot, store our luggage, and find a place to get something to eat. The guy on the desk in the afternoon made dinner reservations for us, told us about the festival of lights being held that night, and gave us directions to a number of different places.

Breakfast was adequate although we found the hours to be a little late in the morning. That was okay, though. It just delayed our leaving for our next destination.

They have free wifi and internet for those of us who need to keep in touch even on vacation.

Just as a note about Lucca: It is not Siena, but I would definitely go back there again. It is a charming place, and I can see why people love it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo San Martino

Property: Albergo San Martino
Address: Via della Dogana 9, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lucca
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo San Martino 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of the town, inside the walls in the historical center of Lucca, San Martino & Diana Hotels are the ideal place to spend a holiday in complete relax. Retrieved from historic "house of pleasure" of the '50s, Hotel San Martino offers spacious, comfortable and well cared rooms, each characterized by the name of a "Lady" that used to visit the historic brothel, as Nuccia, Carlaccia or Wanda; each room offers a private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, digital TV, mini bar, safe, WIFI internet connection. A warm and cozy place to enjoy moments in the comfortable lounge and at the bar with a wide selection of drinks and snacks, for quiet evenings. Newspapers and a free internet terminal are available for the customer. Easily accessible from major access points to the town (train station at 500 mt, 600 mt bus terminal, exit Firenze-Mare 1500 meters), the hotel is centrally located and in a short distance from all the major points of historical interest, arts and culture, a few meters from Teatro del Giglio, from the Cathedral of San Martinol (Duomo) and Piazza Napoleone. The qualified and smiling staff will welcome you and help you in making your stay unforgettable. The staff is multilingual, is at your disposal from 7.00 am to 23.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Martino Lucca
Albergo San Martino Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing