We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, conveniently located hotel”
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights
rooms were a nice size, clean & comfortable
not only was a delicious breakfast provided every morning, but soft drinks, bottled water, and some snacks were set up for guests to enjoy throughout the day at no extra charge - including a glass of wine in the evening - unexpected but a nice touch to appreciative guests
bicycles available for your use also at no charge

Room Tip: it sometimes can be a bit noisy if your room faces the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbkig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Hotel Ilaria far exceeded my expectations. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfortable and exceptionally clean. The rooftop terrace is a great place to drink prosecco (provide by the hotel for no charge) and the breakfasts are ample and tasty. Not far from the park (near the wall), the hotel is accessible to many of the lovely churches and other sites. We loved Lucca and the Hotel Ilaria and would go back anytime.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which provided more space to place luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel Ilaria is in a great location, just outside of the old city wall and within easy walking distance of the sights and restaurants. There is parking at the hotel (for a fee), so arriving by car is not a problem. Claudia at the front desk was very helpful in answering questions, highlighting the important sights and providing a restaurant recommendation. She also provided us with complimentary audio guides and then bicycles to ride around the outer wall. We enjoyed the complementary beverages in the late afternoon, especially the Prosecco. Our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was quite good. We were disappointed that we only had one night to stay in Lucca, but we plan to return and will stay at the Hotel Ilaria when we do.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We spent three nights here on a recent trip through Umbria and Tuscany and found it to be a good choice. We booked a two level suite which turned out to be in a building across the street from the main hotel building. This was not a problem although I would say it's a little less convenient since you have to walk outside to get to breakfast or the front desk. Not a big deal to us but worth knowing if it makes a difference to you. Our room was spacious, quiet (for being in town), and had all the amenities we needed - two bathrooms, a jetted tub and a free standing shower, a mini fridge, a safe, drawer space, a desktop workspace, sitting area. The breakfast was excellent, the people at the front desk were very friendly, helpful and responsive. They made dinner reservations for us and tour recommendations. We had a problem with our safe and the porter was there in a couple of minutes (twice). Snacks are available in the lobby 24 hours a day which we appreciated after hours sightseeing and before dinner. Parking there is tight but secure - they will jockey the cars and get yours out and ready for you when you want it. It is within the restricted driving area but they assured us that they took care of that (I hope we don't have a ticket in the mail). The only things I would improve there are the water pressure in the shower and the lighting in the bathroom upstairs. Both were a little inadequate but overall the stay was vey nice.

Room Tip: The two level suite in the annex was vey nice although going up and down the steps did get a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choppers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

You can expect a little too much of Italian Hotels and the star grading does little to assess the facilities and amenities. In terms of the latter the Ilaria has very little to recommend it. You have to remember this is a walled city and the scope and space for the usual four star trappings are not there.
However location and access are very good. Driving in Lucca is difficult but the car park at the hotel is manageable .

Service front of house is first class and cleanliness cannot be faulted.
This is bed and breakfast only and the latter is plentiful but becomes a little groundhog after a few days.

There is a tiny bar area which lacks a little soul though the complimentary drinks early evening are a nice touch. Most tourists stay here for just a few days which makes the hotel an ideal base. I would recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank DavidGuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We loved this hotel but they had turned off the AC and it was in the 80's while we were there, so the room was a bit stuffy---with only one window, BUT, the staff, in particular the ladies at the front desk were incredibly helpful (thank you Claudia) with restaurant reservations and recommendations. The hotel has parking (pay) and bikes, and audio guides for patrons, and snacks in the lobby till 7 p.m. so you can get a snack, coffee, water, tea, soft drinks---very nice, and a large fresh buffet for breakfast. It is a bit outside the main squares, but the joy of Lucca is getting lost on the side streets, and roaming the city. I'm not giving it 5 stars due to the lack of AC, but we would stay here again it was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Ilaria is in a wonderful location inside the city walls of Lucca, close to all the main attractions. It is also only a very short walk to the railway station where you can easily access Florence, Viareggio, Pisa as well as Barga and the mountains. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast and the extra touch of having tea, coffee etc. available all day was super.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billkay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 47 in Lucca
538 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $84 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing