We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Central Hotel in Lucca”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good Central Hotel in Lucca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a central location. Rooms are spacious with modern decoration. breakfast was included with the room and was very good. I stayed with my family which included a 5 month old baby and the hotel provided a baby cot. Staff were very friendly & helpful who can recommend places to visit or restaurants for dinner. The free snacks and drinks available for guests during the day is a nice welcome touch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baneed18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for letting us and people know your oipinion about our hotel.
We really apreciate your kind review and we are glad you liked staying with us.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    304
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
195
543
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a gem and deserves 5 stars. We stayed for 3 nights, having travelled from Florence, and the peace and quiet was just what we needed. Fabulous location and very comfortable rooms - we were in the annex where the facilities were excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The refreshments on offer during the day in the main hotel lounge provided a nice touch. Spotlessly clean throughout. I would love to return and will certainly recommend this hotel to friends who intend to visit the lovely city of Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSimpson2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good morning,

we thank you for recommending Hotel Ilaria on line and for your kind review.
We are happy about your opinion and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a lovely hotel right in the centre of Lucca. The staff was very helpful. The parking is a bit restricted but we had no problems. Rooms are confortable and clean and breakfast was very nice. The only thing we missed was having a proper bar in the hotel to enjoy a drink before bed. All in all I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Good morning,

thank you for writing a positive review here on . We really apreciated it!
We are glad to read you liked staying with us.
We just would like to inform you that the reception is at your disposal also for the drinks, please if you come back don't hesitate to ask.

Thank you very much, we hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I adored this hotel. From the first impression at reception- to the room that far exceeded my expectations- I struck gold with finding this place in Lucca. The location was fantastic- I was able to walk both nights to restaurants recommended to me by the front desk. I stayed in the annex across the street from the main part of the hotel- and experienced a spotless room with extremely generous and helpful assistance from the bell hop. I enjoyed the breakfast both mornings- and took advantage of the bike rental included with my room. When I come back with my husband I plan to stay here again! Thank you! I included some notes and photos of my stay on my blog. http://thethreeunder.com/2013/04/lovely-lucca-italy/

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the annex! It was extremely quiet- and both nights I slept so hard I never woke up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for writing such a kind review!
We also checked your blog, it was nice reading about your holidays in Lucca and day trip to Pisa. We are glad to know you enjoyed and you apreciated our towns and our hotel.
All the staff is looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you so much!

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were a group of 11 staying for 3 nights. I had stayed at this hotel before and my second stay was every bit as good as the first. I have visited Lucca on a number of occasions and I would always stay at the Ilaria if I return to Lucca.
Everything about the hotel is good, and this is not just my view, it was the view of all the others in the group also.
The staff are very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were spotless, the breakfast was good and the complimentary snacks up to 7pm were a great added extra!
The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Lucca, and the hotel has the added bonus of an outside terrace which is lovely and something you won't find at other hotels within the walls of the old town of Lucca.
Local restaurants are nearby and we found them to be very reasonably priced.
Overall a fabulous stay and I will return whenever I visit Lucca again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the terrace are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CET73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Good evening,

many thanks for sharing your kind review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure reading it.
It is very rewarding opening TripAdvisor and finding reviews like yours.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stay during the month of April in the building a block down from the main hotel. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location was right at the gate to the old city and you could walk to the train station. There was parking for our car and you need only ask for it in advance and it was ready and waiting for you to take. The recommended restaurants were all excellent and the staff even arranged for a wine tasting trip and day trip to Davinci simply by over hearing a conversation.

We had such a great experiece we are going back in June and bringing other guests. This is a great hotel in the midst of a great city run by great people.

Room Tip: They had an excellent terrace area and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Good evening,

thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel and its staff.
We are happy to know you apreciated our services, it is a pleasure for us helping on making our guests stay more enjoyable we can.

Looking forward to welcoming you in June,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a delightful hotel in a great location with dedicated employees, a pleasing ambiance all spoilt by a poor night’s sleep.

Ten of us held a meeting at the Ilaria over 3 days and we could not have been more impressed with the support and the friendliness of just everybody. The large meeting room is in a 14C deconsecrated chapel with its own 17C mural ~ what a great atmosphere. The hotel is really setup for small meetings like ours and solved every problem quickly and without fuss ~ impressive.

The bedrooms are less impressive, but adequate, nicely decorated. The only issue is the bed and the pillow (foam). Everybody in the group complained of poor sleep. Besides this the bathroom is small with a shower in the bath, but has good amenities.

Wifi is free but very variable and generally only good for light browsing and messaging. Forget rich media. We struggled to use Skype ~ an issue.

The breakfast (included in the price) is average, but good enough. Who needs breakfast any way. The food in Lucca is so good and filling that skipping a meal or two becomes de rigor after a day or two.

I suggest avoiding this hotel until this can deliver a good nights sleep and then you have a little gem.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the gardens at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing