We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good we've stayed twice in 2 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So good we've stayed twice in 2 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and were so impressed, that it was our only choice upon our return in 2012. The staff (particularly Paula) were so helpful and friendly. The rooms are immaculately clean and well appointed. The added bonus is being able to take one of their bicycles out for a spin around the town. The breakfast is really impressive for a country that usually only has a coffee and a pastry in the morning, and in the afternoon you can treat yourself to some free goodies in the lobby.
All this said there were a few things that could be improved on... The mattresses were a bit hard for my taste, and my in-laws were upgraded to a nicer room but the shower was wheelchair accessible one which flooded the entire bathroom, but when we commented on it they said that they were working on fixing it as many people had complained about that particular design flaw.
If you are traveling to Lucca ( and I highly recommend that you do) I truly believe you can't do better than the Illaria.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main hotel are all similar, but the rooms across the street in their annex are a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyredhead411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    296
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
191
534
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Lucca is a gem of a holiday destination. It's a mediaeval city in NW Tuscany encircled by a massively thick wall, necessary for its protection in the 16th century but now, planted with trees and lawns, a delightful four kilometre walk around and above the city. We stayed at The Ilaria, just inside the wall, a gem within the gem, a charming, well-appointed hotel with attractive and comfortable rooms and the most helpful staff. It doesn't provide lunch or dinner - no need, with all the excellent and inexpensive eating places around it - but it offers a lavish complimentary breakfast, followed half an hour later by a buffet bar with complimentary snacks, coffee, tea and juice which is open until 7 pm.Lucca itself is a magical mix of mediaeval and modern: 16th century streets, piazzas, churches, towers and houses combined with chic and elegant shops and countless restaurants. Florence is an hour away and only 30 minutes away are the beaches of Viareggio, Verona, with Juliet's balcony from Romeo and Juliet (so they say!), the beautiful lake at Torre del Largo with the open-air theatre Puccini built to house performances of his operas, and the wondrous sights of Pisa. Don't miss Pisa. Stand with your back to the Duomo and look past the Cathedral to see the Leaning Tower and you will find the Tower itself leaning round the side of the Cathedral to look at you. How's that for a photo-opp!

Room Tip: Try to book into the Annexe, where the rooms are bigger, quieter and even more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Good evening,

we are pleased to read you loved your stay in Lucca and at Hotel Ilaria too.
Thank you very much for sharing your comment on the web.

We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Best free breakfast and free snacks from 11-5pm. Good value for the money. We didn't get to ride the free bikes because of the rain. Hotel staff very friendly helping us find our way and with all our questions

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole2752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Goodevening and thank you very much for sharing this kind comment on TripAdvisor!
We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were very happy with Ilaria. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly, professional staff that helped with whatever we needed but were not intrusive. The hotel is attractive, clean, in a great location and - a somewhat rare thing in Italy - has good wife service. Also we like the breakfast and the snack bar for the day. Although Lucca is small and it is easy to walk everywhere the hotel also offers free bike service.

The only problems for my wife and I were the very, very hard bed, and thin walls so that our neighbors were heard far too clearly..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Great location, incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Clean, attractive hotel. Comfortable room, lovely breakfast, welcoming lobby with beverages and snacks provided to guests all day. Would Definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAneBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Good evening and thank you very much for the nice review left on TripAdvisor!
It was very kind from you.

many thanks and Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We reserved a room at this hotel back in June and then we canceled our reservation 7 days prior to our stay. Their cancellation policy states that you must cancel via email at least 48 hours prior to the day of check-in, so per their policy, we sent them an email with our booking reference number to let them know we had to cancel.

Nevertheless, the hotel still charged us for a no show. When I contacted the hotel, they were not helpful at resolving this issue. I sent them proof of the timely cancellation email and although they agreed that the email was legitimate and that I had canceled in time, they said it was still not their fault since they didn't see the email.

Their best offer at resolving this situation was to refund me 50% of the fee they charged. They said that fault lay partially with them and partially with me.

Since I was not happy, at that point I got my credit card company involved and this hotel told American Express that they had ALREADY refunded me 50% of the fee, which was completely untrue. I had to provide proof to American Express to show that the hotel never sent me any type of refund.

So just a heads up, their customer service is poor and not on par with other comparable hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

we are writing concerning the e-mail and the review that you sent yesterday.
You booked through the booking engine FastBooking (our website) and as indicated by the instructions you should have cancel or modify your reservation from the same site following the procedures outlined.
Unfortunately they are standard procedures, but if the costumer asks us to do it for him it is always our pleasure helping on that.
We have never received your email cancellation and you didn’t receive our confirmation of cancellation too. For this reason we charged one night for no show on your credit card dealing with our cancellation policy.
You verified the charge through your Amex account and you contacted us.
We proposed to settle the matter half & half.
You agreed and we immediately asked to Amex Italy how to refund the agreed amount. Amex Italy asked for the documentation and they told us that they would have refund your account providing you the amount of 164.50€.
We usually refund directly from our bank account but Amex Italy suggested us this solution that created these delays.
Two months passed and you are completely right being angry with us because you are still waiting for your money back.
On October 5th 2012 you wrote us explaining that the money didn’t arrive yet, we absolutely didn’t expect that.
We immediately contacted Amex Italy who told us that the practice was in progress. We asked them to communicate with you but they declined our request.
On the same day, October 5th 2012, we responded to you describing the facts.
Without waiting for our response you already wrote this review on Trip Advisor.
Now I ask you to rectify this review on Trip Advisor considering all new information just provided.
I understand your frustration but it does not justify a hasty and negative judgment that seriously compromise our position in the ranking of Trip Advisor.
I am writing being aware of having done everything in our power to resolve this problem. As you can well understand we live of opinions of our guests and we don’t stupidly do revenue on no show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here an extra night because it was so good , clean and convenient
Staff at desk wee excellent , friendly and warm
Rooms good, location right in the heart of Lucca
There is a free snack bar all day which is convenient and thoughtful
Bikes are available to use and included
We very much enjoyed staying here and would return
Breakfast was very good with a wide choice from cereal to cold meats to cooked
Lucca is well worth a visit, it's our second time, so much character in a relatively small town

The hotel is a bit cramped as is any hotel in such an old town , don't be put off it's good clean and friendly

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Good evening,

we are glad to know you enjoyed very much our hotel. Thank you for sharing your comment and for the kind words used on it.

We hope to seeing you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing