We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My recent experience with their poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Austin TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My recent experience with their poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We reserved a room at this hotel back in June and then we canceled our reservation 7 days prior to our stay. Their cancellation policy states that you must cancel via email at least 48 hours prior to the day of check-in, so per their policy, we sent them an email with our booking reference number to let them know we had to cancel.

Nevertheless, the hotel still charged us for a no show. When I contacted the hotel, they were not helpful at resolving this issue. I sent them proof of the timely cancellation email and although they agreed that the email was legitimate and that I had canceled in time, they said it was still not their fault since they didn't see the email.

Their best offer at resolving this situation was to refund me 50% of the fee they charged. They said that fault lay partially with them and partially with me.

Since I was not happy, at that point I got my credit card company involved and this hotel told American Express that they had ALREADY refunded me 50% of the fee, which was completely untrue. I had to provide proof to American Express to show that the hotel never sent me any type of refund.

So just a heads up, their customer service is poor and not on par with other comparable hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

we are writing concerning the e-mail and the review that you sent yesterday.
You booked through the booking engine FastBooking (our website) and as indicated by the instructions you should have cancel or modify your reservation from the same site following the procedures outlined.
Unfortunately they are standard procedures, but if the costumer asks us to do it for him it is always our pleasure helping on that.
We have never received your email cancellation and you didn’t receive our confirmation of cancellation too. For this reason we charged one night for no show on your credit card dealing with our cancellation policy.
You verified the charge through your Amex account and you contacted us.
We proposed to settle the matter half & half.
You agreed and we immediately asked to Amex Italy how to refund the agreed amount. Amex Italy asked for the documentation and they told us that they would have refund your account providing you the amount of 164.50€.
We usually refund directly from our bank account but Amex Italy suggested us this solution that created these delays.
Two months passed and you are completely right being angry with us because you are still waiting for your money back.
On October 5th 2012 you wrote us explaining that the money didn’t arrive yet, we absolutely didn’t expect that.
We immediately contacted Amex Italy who told us that the practice was in progress. We asked them to communicate with you but they declined our request.
On the same day, October 5th 2012, we responded to you describing the facts.
Without waiting for our response you already wrote this review on Trip Advisor.
Now I ask you to rectify this review on Trip Advisor considering all new information just provided.
I understand your frustration but it does not justify a hasty and negative judgment that seriously compromise our position in the ranking of Trip Advisor.
I am writing being aware of having done everything in our power to resolve this problem. As you can well understand we live of opinions of our guests and we don’t stupidly do revenue on no show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    304
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
195
543
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here an extra night because it was so good , clean and convenient
Staff at desk wee excellent , friendly and warm
Rooms good, location right in the heart of Lucca
There is a free snack bar all day which is convenient and thoughtful
Bikes are available to use and included
We very much enjoyed staying here and would return
Breakfast was very good with a wide choice from cereal to cold meats to cooked
Lucca is well worth a visit, it's our second time, so much character in a relatively small town

The hotel is a bit cramped as is any hotel in such an old town , don't be put off it's good clean and friendly

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Good evening,

we are glad to know you enjoyed very much our hotel. Thank you for sharing your comment and for the kind words used on it.

We hope to seeing you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is located within the walls of the city of Lucca, and right by one of the grand arch entrances to the city. A nice quiet location but right where you want to be. We stayed in a wonderful room - clean, air conditioned, sizable bath and shower. The staff was service oriented. there were bicycles available for free to ride on the walls around the city (or within the walls ifyou desired). Breakfast was wonderfully prepared and presented. Afternoon snacks and beverages were also available. If you have heavy luggage take a taxi from the train station to the hotel - well worth the modest fare instead of climbing stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoloJeff265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Good evening,

we thank you for writing on TripAdvisor about our hotel. We are glad to know you liked staying with us!
We hope to see you once more,

Best regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great location in Lucca, about 15 minute walk from train station. We stayed in room 21 in the annex which was a spacious two bathroom loft. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel has bikes they lend out for free so you can take a tour of the town. Breakfast was included and included eggs, sausage, cereals etc.. A great way to start the day. Would recommend the annex for anyone staying in Lucca.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the annex building. Our room#21 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for writing about us on TripAdvisor, you words are very kind.
Thank you for recommending our annex, where superior rooms and suite are located.

We hope to welcoming you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grootlo, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice rooms - renewed, with wooden laminate floor - excellent breakfast. The only remark is that the matress is a bit hard but this seems to be case everywhere in Italy. The hotel has an closed off parking and is located at walking distance of the historic center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A lovely hotel in a great position. Loved the little touch of cake, biscuits and drinks all day to help yourself, nice breakfast and a lovely terrace to relax after a busy day. The only negative I can say is the beds are a on very hard and the sheets could have been softer too but those two things wouldn't put me off staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipoplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Really nice hotel in a great location just outside the old city walls.

Very nice room overlooking the old city, air-conditioned with a nice bathroom. Bar and restaurant areas are nice, although like everywhere in Tuscany hotel prices make you grimace. Breakfast was good on sunny terrace, staff were helpful and there's on site parking, which is a real bonus in Lucca, although they charge you an extra 10 euros a day to park your car in their own car-park?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing