We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location near historic center of Lucca” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Grootlo, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location near historic center of Lucca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Nice rooms - renewed, with wooden laminate floor - excellent breakfast. The only remark is that the matress is a bit hard but this seems to be case everywhere in Italy. The hotel has an closed off parking and is located at walking distance of the historic center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    296
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
191
533
33
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

A lovely hotel in a great position. Loved the little touch of cake, biscuits and drinks all day to help yourself, nice breakfast and a lovely terrace to relax after a busy day. The only negative I can say is the beds are a on very hard and the sheets could have been softer too but those two things wouldn't put me off staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lollipoplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Really nice hotel in a great location just outside the old city walls.

Very nice room overlooking the old city, air-conditioned with a nice bathroom. Bar and restaurant areas are nice, although like everywhere in Tuscany hotel prices make you grimace. Breakfast was good on sunny terrace, staff were helpful and there's on site parking, which is a real bonus in Lucca, although they charge you an extra 10 euros a day to park your car in their own car-park?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Ilaria this August. It was one of more reasonably priced hotels during our tour of Italy (the other locations were pricier-Capri, Venice, Rome). I agree with the "clinically correct" reviewer that everything was nice but a little sterile. We too stayed at the separate building away from the main hotel which my kids initially found a little creepy as we arrived in the evening. After, the first day, we were much more comfortable. As a family, we loved having the 2 levels and 2 separate bathrooms. It was nice to have separate space when traveling with kids. We found all the staff to be incredibly helpful and kind.
In fact, we initially had reserved 2 rooms thinking there wouldn't be enough beds for our family of 4 in one duplex room and when we checked in the attendant commented that the 2 rooms would be too much for our family. They permitted us to cancel one of the rooms and just charged us 30 euros to bring in another bed for one of our children.
We did enjoy the breakfasts and found everything to be well stocked and seviced. The free rental bikes was a real plus. The reception staff was extremely helpful in booking a wine tour for us and advising us on beach visits. When we needed anything additional (paper products, towels, etc.) the staff was very courteous and prompt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetruescoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went to Lucca for seven days and booked this delightful hotel within the city walls. Everything went well from the checkin to our departure. We had a superior double room, which is situated in the annex about 100 yards from the main hotel. At first we were a bit disappointed that we were not in the main hotel where breakfast is served but when we got to the room, we realised why it was classed as a superior room. It was very large, beautifully furnished with a nice large bathroom. We did see a room in the main hotel, which was not as large as ours but still very good. The next thing we must say is how good the staff were, everyone we met went out of their way to provide the best of service, especially Claudia and Carla on reception. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from booking dinner at the many good restaurants in Lucca to showing where places within the city were. We used two of the restaurants belonging to the hotel (albeit elsewhwere in the city), which were both very good - one was just around the corner from the hotel called Gli Orta and full of locals. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced on our many trips within Europe and North America, it was buffet style but again the staff went out of their way to help.
If we are in Lucca again, we will certainly stay at the Hotel Ilaria again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

You cannot fault this hotel, everything is right, but it seems to lack a heart. It maybe because our room was in a building separate from the main hotel.
Our room was very spacious as other reports have claimed and was well serviced. Breakfast was disappointing, the breakfast area is quite small and the tables are very much on top of each other. We were towards the end of service and it felt like it.
Good service from reception particularly Paula
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gables123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I liked the breakfast and the ability to have snacks, coffee,beer & soft drinks in the afternoon. The value was very good! I was a bit surprised to find that Tauk Tours uses this hotel because the rooms are not up to their nor my standard. Very firm beds, very average decor and a loud air conditioning system (people we were traveling with had to change rooms for this reason). The breakfast was quite nice. Quite surprising that on two occasions they were not able to change a fifty euro note.

I was not at all unhappy with this place but might try another next time... Very average in my estimation!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing