We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel with great staff and good location”
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel with great staff and good location”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went to Lucca for seven days and booked this delightful hotel within the city walls. Everything went well from the checkin to our departure. We had a superior double room, which is situated in the annex about 100 yards from the main hotel. At first we were a bit disappointed that we were not in the main hotel where breakfast is served but when we got to the room, we realised why it was classed as a superior room. It was very large, beautifully furnished with a nice large bathroom. We did see a room in the main hotel, which was not as large as ours but still very good. The next thing we must say is how good the staff were, everyone we met went out of their way to provide the best of service, especially Claudia and Carla on reception. Nothing was too much trouble for them, from booking dinner at the many good restaurants in Lucca to showing where places within the city were. We used two of the restaurants belonging to the hotel (albeit elsewhwere in the city), which were both very good - one was just around the corner from the hotel called Gli Orta and full of locals. The breakfast was one of the best we have experienced on our many trips within Europe and North America, it was buffet style but again the staff went out of their way to help.
If we are in Lucca again, we will certainly stay at the Hotel Ilaria again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    308
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
200
556
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

You cannot fault this hotel, everything is right, but it seems to lack a heart. It maybe because our room was in a building separate from the main hotel.
Our room was very spacious as other reports have claimed and was well serviced. Breakfast was disappointing, the breakfast area is quite small and the tables are very much on top of each other. We were towards the end of service and it felt like it.
Good service from reception particularly Paula
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gables123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I liked the breakfast and the ability to have snacks, coffee,beer & soft drinks in the afternoon. The value was very good! I was a bit surprised to find that Tauk Tours uses this hotel because the rooms are not up to their nor my standard. Very firm beds, very average decor and a loud air conditioning system (people we were traveling with had to change rooms for this reason). The breakfast was quite nice. Quite surprising that on two occasions they were not able to change a fifty euro note.

I was not at all unhappy with this place but might try another next time... Very average in my estimation!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Lucca for 2 nights during our Tuscan honeymoon. We were staying in top quality hotels throughout but the Hotel Illaria was head and shoulders above everywhere else we visited and we only wish we'd had more time here. The hotel is ideally located within the walls but slightly away from the busiest thoroughfares. We were able to check in early to our fabulous room in the residence across the street from the main hotel and the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly (with great English if like us your Italian is shamefully non existent). The room was atmospheric, very spacious and spotlessly clean and comfortable. We were extremely touched to be given a bottle of Prosecco and a bowl of strawberries to help us celebrate our honeymoon. The communal terrace was small but picturesque with comfortable sun loungers and a jacuzzi tub (with cool water for the summer) Only thing to beware as we found throughout Italy at this time, is that where there is greenery there are mosquitos, especially at dusk. The breakfast was a buffet of all the usual Italian standards and a couple of hot dishes. Despite other peoples reviews we did not enjoy the coffee from the machine and would have preferred freshly made, however this is a very minor quibble and it is possible we hadn't quite figured out the workings of the machine! A brilliant touch is that throughout the day there are simple snacks and drinks available freely from the lobby area. Very nice to come back from sightseeing and relax with a complimentary beer or a coke on the terrace before dinner. These additional treats make what is already a very good value hotel for it's class, a real find. We also made use of the free bike hire to cycle the walls. A very easy and fun ride which is a good job because the hotel bikes are old and wobbly to say the least!
Lucca itself is a beautiful, lively town which is very well located for a lot of the big Tuscan sights and with brilliant public transport links. It is also very easily accessible from Pisa airport and is much much nicer than Pisa itself. I would certainly recommmend basing yourself here for any visit to Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute, value overnight stay (sub £100) on our way thru Italy. From the minute we arrived the staff were so friendly, helpful and down to earth - nothing was a problem. The hot tub was a nice surprise, as was a free snack / drinks bar during the day. Rooms are big enough and comfortable with black out blinds and good a/c. Breakfast was good. Would definitely recommend and go back without hesitation. Lucca is a nice destination for a day or two.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

MY wife and I stayed for 3 nights in Sept-The hotel is very convenient-Just a short stroll to the centre and easily walkable from the train or bus station
The hotel is immaculate The rooms are quiet and comfortable and air conditioned . Hiwever just 2 english channels on TV
Particularly useful were the free bikes and the free buffet which runs from 1oam to 7 pm which besides coffee,tea and snacks offered free beer and fizz later on in the afternoon!
Also very good and extensive buffet style breakfast including bacon,sausage and egg taken in attractive firat floor conservatory
Helpful and friendly receptionist made us feel very welcome
Comfortable sitting area in lobbywith nice coffee table books on Art and History
All in all a superb hotel
We paid £108/night via hotels.com inc 10% discount

Room Tip: If you want to hire bikes for the morning book early on the day as there are only about 8-However th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansoncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff.Excellent room. Lovely location within the walls of Lucca within easy walking distance of the centre but away from most of the other tourists.Good breakfast but most impressively complimentary drinks,fruit juice,Coke,tea,coffee and not least Prosecco available in the hotel lobby.Also free bicycle hire.I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an excellent midrange hotel in Lucca.

Room Tip: our room was in the annexe across the road, the Rezideza dell`Alba.Enormous bed.Big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Property: Hotel Ilaria
Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing