We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Ilaria & Residenza dell'Alba - Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Ilaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilaria
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Lucca was our last stop on a three week holiday that included a week in Paris, a week In Uzes France and then a week in Lucca.
We chose Lucca because we wanted to be in Toscana but have the amenities of a city/town. Lucca was perfect and the Ilaria was too. We were travelling with friends and we had the rooms in the Residenza. The rooms were large, clean, nicely decorated and very welcoming. The bathroom was gorgeous. The hotel breakfast was plentiful and more than satisfied our needs. The Hotel is so close to everything in Lucca - we walked and walked each day. The hotel arranged a day trip to Cinque Terra for us where we had a private tour. This was another highlight of our trip.
We caught the train to Florence one day and we thought we'd travel even further afield but we just enjoyed the city so much. The markets were fantastic and we came home with beautiful art work from local artists.
The restaurants in Lucca was all ***** just amazing. Make sure you find ALL'OLIVO silver service definitely.
We'd stay here again as it was a lovely hotel and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Good evening,

many thanks for this kind review!
We are happy to read about all your good experciences and to see you liked your stay with us.
Thank you very much from the staff and the management.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the main hotel, in September. The location was excellent within the walls and had car parking (which was why we chose it) the staff were mainly friendly and helpful but did not react well to our questioning why we did not get dressing gowns and slippers.

The bedrooms were very small and the bathroooms 'tired' (mould round the bath and on tiles.

The breakfast was poor particularly the 'fruit juices' which were obviously reconstituted from powder; verging on undrinkable, the cold meats were poor quality and the cheeses were limited in selection. Other meals were not available.

For over 200 Euro per night not really acceptable.

Room Tip: The views were not good from any side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rfl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Good evening,

thank you for writing on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
We are surprised you think the juices are reconstituted from powder, they are all fresh juice coming from the supermarket. We are really sorry if you didn't like our breakfast as we really pay attention to give fresh and good products every day.
Usually our breakfast is very apreciated to our guests but we'll do any effort to get it even better!

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in the Residenza (seperate building 200 metres from main building),the stay was excellent,from the collection from Pisa airport (hotel arranged) to checkout.
The bedrooms are well appointed and very quiet in the Residenza,very short walk for breakfast and the use of all facilities.The snack bar with Prosecco (after 5pm) was a nice touch and rounded of a busy day in a relaxed atmosphere.
The staff were very helpful and cheerful,the free bike use was a good way to cycle the walls and work off the great food eaten in the local restaurants.
Hotel Illaria is well situated within the walls and a perfect choice for a stay in the beautiful city of Lucca,We will return.

Room Tip: The Residenza was a good choice,However may be a little more in price. This hotel is good whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Good evening,

we thank you for the nice review left on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to see you enjoyed our work and our services and the hotel as well.
We hope you had a good stay with us in the wonderfull Lucca.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Loved everything about this hotel. Perfect location, friendly staff, clean well-appointed rooms. Stayed in the annex in a loft (booked a superior room) and it was incredible. 2 bathrooms, living room, coffee/tea maker with snacks, walk-in closet.

Room Tip: The annex is a short walk from the main building but well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RCAnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Good evening,

many thanks for this review.
It's nice to see you apreciated the free upgrade to a suite, our hotel, services and staff.
We hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great location. Very easy to find. Nice touches such as complimentary bikes and snacks / drinks throughout the day. Front desk staff were excellent to deal with and were able to answer any questions we had from memory without needing to look anything up. We stayed across the street in their Residenza and our room and bathroom were both very large. Breakfast offered the widest selection of choices I have ever seen in an Italian hotel. This hotel must cater to American tourists as they even had bacon and eggs complete with a bottle of Tobasco sauce. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GoldenBeav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Good evening,

many thanks from all the staff for this kind review, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay, hotel services and our work.
We hope you will come back,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed a few days in Lucca and thought a suite at the top rated Trip Advisor Hotel would be a real treat (at £300 night).
We stayed in the suites with elevated bedrooms which look fun but reality is a disappointment.
First the rooms are impersonal and we didn't really feel like staying in the room for chill time away from the City - which was the whole point of getting the extra space for the two of us.
the beds on the upper level dont really work - when you lie in bed you see a mass of roof beams! The bathrooms are poorly appointed.
These suites are in the residence Alba - which is 200m from the hotel reception so not that convenient either.
Hotel staff were very helpful etc. - just a shame we paid extra for the suite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Much has already been said by other reviewers. The bikes and complimentary drinks and snacks in the afternoon are nice touches.
We stayed in the Residenza over the road from the main hotel. Our room was recently refurbished with a huge bed and very well appointed. Despite being right on the road at ground level, it was really quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Criticallywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Good evening,

we thank you for this nice review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see you liked our hotel and its services.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards
Mauro Cusinato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
954 reviews
3.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
2.7 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilaria

Address: Via del Fosso 26, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lucca
#2 Family Hotel in Lucca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $91 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ilaria 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ilaria and the Residenza dell'Alba are situated in the center of Lucca, within the renaissance walls. Approaching to a medieval door and overlooking on a secular park, under a majestic plane tree, you will enjoy a spectacular architectonic scenery. Our hotel residenza dell'alba are the ideal place for a moment of charme or for a business meeting in a space of light and green designed by the history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilaria Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing