We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Porto di Lucca B&B
Ranked #5 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The perfect choice for Lucca!
having spent 3 nights with the lovely Francesco and Giovanna, we couldn't have wanted for anything more! The location is ideal, just outside the walls, with great access to the autostrada, and easy parking, right outside the front door. Its also right near the station if you were arriving by train. The house is beautiful, full of old paintings and photos and the rooms are beautifully renovated and spotlessly clean.  The hosts, Giovanna and Francesco went out of their way to help us with itinerary suggestions, directions, and general info about the beautiful area of Lucca. The breakfasts were incredible and included locally sourced products of the highest quality. 

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
142
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We only had one night at this lovely family-run B&B but we really enjoyed our stay. It is situated just outside the walls of Lucca, so was only a ten minute walk into the town. The family were very welcoming and very helpful, and the breakfast had to be one of the best we have ever had in a B&B. Freshly squeezed orange juice, breads, cheeses, cold meat platter, omelette/fritatta and local cake was accompanied by great coffee. There are a few bikes which we borrowed to ride round the walls of the town, which I would highly recommend. We were lucky to be given a room with a little terrace where we enjoyed a drink before going out for dinner. The building is not much to look at from the outside but is delightful inside, and full of history. We would definitely stay here again whilst visiting the lovely town of Lucca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked Al Porto di Lucca after reading such great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not dissappointed.

We flew into Pisa quite late on the first night, but the owners did not mind us arriving at midnight. The rooms are beautifully furnished with lots of Italian charm - antiques, beamed ceilings & stucco walls. The bathrooms are clean and contemporary.
The breakfasts were excellent - couldn't have asked for more and the conservatory overlooking the garden is lovely.

Having said all this the owners are really what makes this place special - they are incredibly friendly and helpful. It was lovely to find out about their connections to Lucca. And they were even so kind as to lend us their bikes.

I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We decided on Al Porto di Lucca based on the Tripadvisor reviews. The descriptions are accurate. Our room, "Marina", featuring rustic ceiling beams and joists, consisted of a bedroom and a sitting room with a view into the back garden. The blue, beige and white tones of the room and furnishings were calming and the Toile de Jouy drapes a lovely finishing touch. The room was a pleasant respite after a day of touring. It was all very very clean, especially the new-looking shower room and toilet room. The bed linen and towels, as already reported, are of excellent quality. Nice Italian-made olive oil soaps were also provided.

Breakfast is served to your table in a room overlooking the garden. Ours consisted of fruit (when we were there a bowl of strawberries and cream), freshly squeezed orange juice, yogurt, fresh breads and pastries, butter, jams, Italian cheese, paper thin slices of pancetta, omelette, coffee and tea. All delicious!

The B&B is located just outside one of the main gateways into the old city. Access to eithrt the old city (straight ahead), the train station (to the right) or local bus depot (to the left) is literally a five minute walk (at an ambling pace) via a pedestrian bridge over the train tracks. Bikes are easily transported over the bridge using the the special slide at the edge of the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rozazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just come back from our third visit to Al Porto di Lucca and again we stayed for a week. Francesco and Giovanna are so thoughtful and it is our perfect idea of a holiday. There is lots to do in and around Lucca and this B&B makes a great base with every possible comfort and a fantastic breakfast.

Room Tip: All four bedrooms face south towards the garden. There is no noise at all from the station or the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillMBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Everything in this B&B is perfect. The room have been very well decored with furniture of impeccable taste and style. The bed was a dream, wonderful mattress, the sheets were of highest quality, scented and super soft towel, something that one sees only in hotels like the Ritz, the shower was excellent with plenty of space. The breakfast something from another planet, hard to believe for so good. The place is well located and of easy access to town, nearby you can find the best ice cream shop in Lucca. You can get a bike (offered free of charge from the owner's B&B) and have a great trip around Lucca's wall.
The owners, Francesco and Giovanna were simpatisissimos (very friendly), adorable, welcoming, and polite. Definitely the best B & B I have ever stayed in my life. I will surely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaCardozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I know it is a bit daft expression, but is there one place you really feel like comming home, it is to this place. It is charming with attention to details both in the room and bathroom (which had the most amazing towels ever). Francesco and Giovanna makes you feel so welcome and will help with anything you need of information about the area. And Giovanna prepares the most delightfull breakfast (non typical italian - which is a good thing :)) every morning and is so warm and friendly that it was just sad to leave after 4 days. Just outside the walls of old town Lucca; A perfect place to stay in a perfekt location to explore Tuscany. We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms with terrace towards the back yard are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 48 in Lucca
1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 48 in Lucca
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#10 of 48 in Lucca
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Porto di Lucca B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Porto di Lucca B&B

Property: Al Porto di Lucca B&B
Address: Via Lorenzo Nottolini 10, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Porto di Lucca B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Porto di Lucca is a recently renovated large house with a garden, which can be dated to back to 1700. It is owned by a family from Lucca, whose origins date back to 1500. It is a bed and breakfast with 4 guest rooms, each with a private bathroom, located less than 300 meters from the walls and the historic center of Lucca, which then can be reached on foot or by bike via an underpass. The railway station is just 200 meters away, and by train there is easy access to Pisa with its international airport, and to the city of Florence. In addition to the gardens, the great hall and the veranda are at guests' disposal for breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Al Porto di Lucca B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing