We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay at Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Il Giardino del Pettirosso
Ranked #18 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice place 5 Min. Walking from the gate to the old city.
Our family spend in the house one night two days ago, at the family room and it was very good.
Julia is 10!!!!!
It is very clean, big for a family and the environment is 100%.
Breakfast was very nice.
Location is perfect.
We like this place and we thank Julia.
Maya Roee Zohar and Doron

Room Tip: It is very good place to stay in Lucca, if you are 4 people with kids, take the family room, you wil...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dtzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for B&B Il Giardino del Pettirosso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wonderful stay in Lucca. Great family room.
Lovely breakfast!
Our hostess is extremely helpful and informative and speaks perfect English! Just wish the weather had been better!
Thank so much from all our family!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwteringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Gorgeous cottage house, cozy rooms, delicious breakfast....... in addition to hospitable helpful and truly nice hostess. Only 3 mins away from the wall, convenient parking in the backyard, spacious (for B&B) rooms. So worth the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimurSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived early but we were shown to our room straight away, no problem. Giulia speaks better English than a lot of Britons I know!! The room was clean and comfortable, nothing was too much trouble and the location, with or without a car, makes it the best place to stay in Lucca. Free on site parking, lovely breakfast in a nice garden, she even printed off our return boarding passes for us.
We would recommend this B and B without hesitation,. It is much better than most hotels we have stayed in. First class place.

Room Tip: Room at the back away from the road.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveRipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay. It's just outside the city walls, so it's about as close as is possible to drive to the city. The accommodation is fresh, spacious, and very clean. The weather was very hot and humid, but the air-conditioning worked better than anywhere else we stayed in Italy this summer. Breakfast is excellent - lovely food, and lots of choice.

The best part of it, though, was our host Julia, who made us feel exceptionally welcome, gave great tips for restaurants and things to do (in perfect English), and whose all-round hospitality was superb. For example, she detected that our kids didn't like the whole milk with their cereal on the first day, and the next day she told us she had sourced some different milk that they might prefer. Superb.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This B&B offered us very light, clean and spacious room, with a very good bed. Giulia is very friendly and hospitable and offers a great breakfast in the beautiful garden of the house, with home baked cake and pastries.Upon arrival we immediately received a map of the city from her and there was water and a fresh flower waiting for us in the room. It is only a 10-minute walk to the center of Lucca and there is free parking behind the house, so you don't need a car to explore this charming city. The only negative thing that can be said is that the street in front of the house is rather busy in the morning during rush hour, but that is just a minor thing. In the afternoon we enjoyed sitting in the garden oustside and relax, without being bothered at all by noise. Ideal location for staying a few days to explore Lucca and surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christel2012188669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My mom and I arrived in Lucca after 15 hours of travel and were so pleased with Pettirosso! The rooms were pretty, comfortable and very clean. Guilia was so warm and gracious and let us drop off our luggage early before we checked in. She is so sweet and helpful with restaurant and various suggestions in and around Lucca.

She even arranged for our departure taxi to the Pisa train station with the most charming driver who took us to the leaning tower on our way, and insisted he take our photo prior to departing.

The place has a most pleasant garden area with flowers everywhere and a manicured lawn, where we relaxed every day over breakfast and even at night over a bottle of wine.

I highly recommend staying here. I wish we had more than 2 nights and will definitely go back someday.

It is easy to navigate Lucca by foot and the city is charming beyond belief. DO NOT miss the monthly flea market. I spent 6 hours wandering the stalls!

Room Tip: My mom and I had the two room snext to one another on the main floor. Both were equally nice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank actonsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.1 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 47 in Lucca
932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 47 in Lucca
467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
0.4 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#19 of 173 in Lucca
181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lucca in Villa Lucrezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Giardino del Pettirosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Giardino del Pettirosso

Address: Via Carlo Angeloni 81 | Sant'Anna, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $103 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il giardino del pettirosso è un accogliente ed elegante bed & breakfast a due passi dalle mura e dal centro storico di Lucca con parcheggio privato, aria condizionata, tv e bagni privati nelle camere. Il nostro giardino è un fresco angolo per il relax e le nostre colazioni sono preparate con ingredienti sempre freschi e prodotti locali di stagione, quando possibile biologici.Il giardino del pettirosso is a cozy and elegant bed & breakfast distant just 5 minutes walk from the medieval walls and centre of Lucca. We offer our guests private parking, air conditioning and TV in every room and private bathroom. Our garden is a relaxing and quiet spot where we usually serve breakfast, prepared with fresh local and organic products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B&B Il Giardino del Pettirosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing