We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le mura di Lucca

Le mura di Lucca
Book In Advance
More Info
$554.13*
and up
Pisa and Lucca Day Trip from Livorno
Ranked #1 of 111 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

You can do the a whole revolution in under an hour, and for people watching this is the place to do it. There are also some interesting statues, and it's a great place to get on and off to see the sights of Lucca.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kayokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,557
    1,418
    119
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I walked round the walls in both directions. Other people walked, jogged or cycled round. Fascinating views of the town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Una bella citta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We went to Lucca for a day trip from Rome. And I am so glad we did. Getting there was a bit of a muddle - we got to see Viareggia ... won't be heading back there in a hurry! - but getting to Lucca and stepping out from the station facing the walls took us into another space. It was a beautiful early winter's day, with clear blue skies and warm sunshine. It was perfect walking weather. We got a map from the station - basic, but more than adequate - and headed off to walk the walls. I had read some of the reviews from other Trip Advisors so had some idea of what to expect and how much time to budget. A gentle, no rush walk is the way to go if you want to take it all in. The views of Lucca are beautiful and this little medieval-renaissance jewel is a place to try and get to. We returned after only half a day determined to go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was one of my favorite things to do in Lucca. I rented a bike (many bike rental places all around at reasonable rates) and rode 4 laps around. It is all very well maintained and almost completely flat so good for people of all fitness levels. It gave me the opportunity to see the city outside the walls and a lot of places within the walls that I hadnt gotten to or didnt know about. Perfect way to get some extra exploring done. Plenty of places to stop and picnic etc. Well worth my time and money and a nice break from climbing around in old buildings : )

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ElVee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bike around the wall...you won't regret it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

There are heaps of bike rental shops in the walls and it's worth every penny to grab a bike and even just use it to ride around the wall. It's 4km (2.5mi), perfectly flat and really wide so even nervous/novice cyclists will enjoy it. The rental places will ask for your license or some form of ID and then give it back when you return the bike/s. Trees line the path and it's just beautiful regardless of whether you bike or walk...a must do if you're going to Lucca!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le mura di Lucca also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Le mura di Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing