We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little restaurant in quiet courtyard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria da Rosolo

Osteria da Rosolo
Ranked #8 of 578 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
shanghai
Level Contributor
529 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant in quiet courtyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just up a small side street in the old town, this was a great find (through Trip Advisor) The food was excellent, everyone tried everyone's and all were very good. I actually had the polenta which was the best I've had anywhere as it was served soft with a lovely sauce through it. My brother wanted to try the tripe, which we've both hated since childhood trips abroad, but they were kind enough to let us have a small amount and what do you know, it was ok, I'd certainly never order a full amount but I did manage to eat some!
We all throughly enjoyed our meal and the waiter service was very friendly, we do speak some Italian and certainly found the waiter made jokes with us and about our Italian but it was good humoured and fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    927
    496
    89
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Pre booked table for 8 people for Birthday celebration.
Superb service and great choice on menu.The food was very very good.
Not an over extensive menu but all Primi and secondi meals were excellent.
Salvatore was a great host and very comical,giving options of what recommendations to have with each dish to each member of our party.
Many thanks again Osteria Da Rosolo,a memorable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hooky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Small Italian Restaurant In Quite Courtyard.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We came here this evening after seeing reviews on TripAdvisor.
We were not disappointed!
Sympathetic and charming service, delicious food, great atmosphere.
We had a lager and Campari while looking at the menu, and went with the owner's recommendations of ravioli with a walnut oil starter, and wild boar stew with spinach and potato. All with a recommended local red, and an espresso. At 70 euros, great value.
We booked, after about 8 ish, they were full and people were turned away.
A lovely start to our Italian holiday!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ducati50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place in Lucca!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

It would appear that Lucca is a gem of a place in Tuscany. We enjoyed an excellent meal here late one evening before catching the last train back to Pisa (we'll stay in Lucca next time we visit Italy). Service is excellent & quite amusing listening to the banter between the waiters. Food was fantastic and the waiters could not help you enough with wine etc the moment you asked (they do not linger at your table like in some places).
Overall a thoroughly enjoyable place to eat & relax after discovering Lucca. I recommends it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best restaurant in Lucca!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in Lucca for a month this past summer and ate at this restaurant many times. The owner and his staff were wonderful!! They made us feel like family. The food is excellent! The atmosphere is like dining with close friends. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an authentic Tuscan experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria da Rosolo also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Osteria da Rosolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing