We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treasure trove: a restaurant and cultural club” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico

Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico
Ranked #56 of 578 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cervo, Italia
Level Contributor
559 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“A real treasure trove: a restaurant and cultural club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

After a first dinner, we returned the following evening because we were enthusiastic about everything. The atmosphere is what first captures your eye: you are entering a crafts gallery of old furniture, pictures, unusual everyday objects from a not-so-distant past, all tastefully displayed along a narrow hall leading to the dinining room. This is furnished with rustic Tuscan period tables and chairs, with crazy moving sculptures, all unique pieces, set on each table. Daguerrotypes and portraits of all sizes hang from the walls. The kind waiter welcomes and shows you to your table, handing you a small blackboard with the day's menu. You choose from a small list, but all items sound so delicious, you'd want to taste them all. The pastas are all home-made, of different shapes and variously presented.
We were three and chose three different pasta dishes, in order to try as many as we could. Same thing can be said about the main dishes: all delicious. The desserts also stood out for taste and presentation. A hearty house wine complemented the very filling selection. The jovial chef is an incredible lady who uses personal and traditional recipes with secret ingredients and who we believe also runs the cultural events that take place in this well hidden place.
The bill? Our wallet was truly grateful! Not to be missed.
.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    110
    40
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beachport, Australia
2 reviews
“Lucious Lucchese Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We discovered II Geco was almost under our noses - or just a few doors down from where we stayed in Lucca. We went in through the passage filled with bric a brac andwe were warmly greeted by host Leo. We spent a lovely evening slowly savouring each recommendation that Leo had suggested, both freshly made, slow cooked local cuisine and Rosso wine! II Geco eminated with a calm, linger-here feel and we really enjoyed taking time to relish each dish and the explanation that accompanied it.
It was an enchanting evening - a fine food experience - thanks to beautiful, talented cooking and Leo's charm and attention to detail. He worked tirelessly to insure we understood what we were eating and we were comfortable. Gotta love Lucca!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woakwine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Extraordinary in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We wandered into il Geco's neighborhood on our last night in Lucca. It's in a residential area away from the main tourist area but still inside the wall. We were attracted to the building (and the menu sign) by the sound of laughter coming from inside. We were greeted by Lio - the master of the house. There was a large party in progress so Lio seated us in a smaller room with a few other couples. After a few minutes of small talk he had us comfortable and enjoying the excellent vino della casa.

The menu had some interesting dishes but Lio made some recommendations we had no problem agreeing with and now passing on to you. We had the incredible cabbage ravioli and a very special veal dish. Strips of veal over a mound of delicious roasted vegetables. It was a dinner we were not able to surpass. il Geco is a family restaurant with Lio's mother as the chef. We were delighted. Bring the family, business associates, friends. We did not have reservations but I would not be surprised if they were useful on other nights. I can't rave enough. Some day we'll get back to Lucca and will have dinner at il Geco as soon as possible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
179 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“It couldn't get worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was invited to dine with a group of friends at this restaurant this week.We were nine in the party.
There were no other diners in the restaurant so we imagined that the service would be reasonably good. Wrong, we waited ages to get the attention of the waiter,and all we wanted was a drink. A bottle of prosecco eventually arrived warm, after a considerable wait. If I had been the hos,t I would have suggested leaving at this stage. After about 35 minutes we were asked what we would like to eat.
Another long wait, and when it did arrive some of the order was wrong. But it really didn't matter as all the dishes which came were simply disgusting. Our hostess continued to order more prosecco, which they served warm.
This is not the first time the restaurant has come in for a bad review from other friends who have eaten there.
If you like food well cooked, nice wines properly looked after, and service, I would strongly advise you to avoid this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A normal place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nothing so special, but the place is cute.
The people are polite and friendly.
Food is normal and the slow food concept is not our favorite style.
I think Lucca has better options.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fefafranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Il Geco Circolo Eno Gastronomico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing