We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Apartment Gemma

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aidan5046
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in the Gemma apt on the ground floor. This 2 bedroom apt was perfect for us with a teenage daughter. Cinzia met us in the local town to bring us to the apt and she was extremely helpful from the start of the booking to the day we left. The Apt was clean and tidy and due to heavy stone walls cool during the hottest part of the days. The shared pool was just the right size. A car is essential but the location is perfect for visiting Lucca, local beaches, Florence and Pisa( We took the train there, but easy to park in Lucca train station). Only downsides were the shower door isn't a great seal and the neighbour across the road cutting timber with a chainsaw most mornings from 8am. Apart from that we had a great time

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet in locality
Liked least: Car needed to go anywhere
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thank you Aidan . I hope to meet you again .
Regards
Cinzia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny P
Centreville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My 2 sisters, 80 year mom and I stayed at Apartment Bruna (not Gemma), which is 1 of 3 apartments in the home. It was the mid-sized apartment. It was nicely furnished, very clean, with a well stocked kitchen. The home was very convenient for our plans; very close to Lucca and driving distance to Pisa, San Giamingano, and Cinque Terre, not to mention visiting family in San Martino, where the house is located.
We had the whole complex to ourselves, so parking and getting in and out of the gated driveway was very easy. It was also very quiet. Each apartment has it's own laundry room.
Cinzia who manages the property was very helpful, spoke English, and was attentive to all our needs and was just a phone call or text away.
Our plan is to go back in two years and rent the entire home with our extended families during the warmer months so we can take advantage of the Pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location !
Liked least: Leaving...!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words . Looking forward meeting you and have a glass of wine together by the pool :-)
Cinzia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyShaw...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Bellissimo!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Just Returned from a wonderful holiday here with my wife and 2yo daughter.
We had only intended to stay here for 5 days and liked it so much we ended up staying 2 weeks!
The Apartment Gemma is part of a larger Villa called Casa di Meo which contains 2 other apartments of varying size. The accommodation is very nice and decorated to a high standard and is situated in beautiful surroundings. The apartment itself was spotless with everything required for a brilliant holiday. The property manager is a very nice person and went out of her way to make our stay very pleasant. We especially enjoyed the stunning garden and swimming pool. The property is about 15 mins drive from Lucca, we enjoyed being 'out of town' and in the countryside with mountain views and clean air.
I would recommend this hands down, great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda D
Elderslie, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, excellent facilities, will definitely be returning!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Expert, welcoming service throughout our stay.
The converted farmhouse is decorated to a very high standard with ample facilities, making it very comfortable.
The pool was fantastic. Great for young children.
The outlook was beautiful. Looking on to greenery and the sound of nature all around.
Only a walk away from small shops, supermarket and play park.
If you wish to venture out then beautiful Lucca is only 5 miles away where you can cycle round the walled city and Viarreggio is 15 miles away if you wish to spend your day at the beach. There are also many other beautifull locations nearby.
Just those little mosquito's were starting to be a nusance and possibly a gate and lock could be added to the pool entrance for little children.
However, as I said, a fantastic location having excellent facilities and will definately return year after year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly, helpfull approach and complete care and attention given by Cinzia and the proprietor.
Liked least: The little mozzies!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing