We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant, nice quiet room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, nice quiet room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located about one mile from Lucca's amazing city walls and old town. The walk into town on via Romana is not enjoyable due to lack of a continuous sidewalk on a very busy route. Taxi's were few and far between and we ended up walking back the same route, sucking up fumes and dodging traffic. I would advise arranging transport each way with the hotels assistance (we walk miles and miles a day on vacation so understand this is not a lazy suggestion, but rather a safety and comfort suggestion).

The hotel is very clean and the rooms were simple but large and comfortable. Carpet appeared to be new and was definitely a no shoes no socks kind of room. The shower / bathroom was good, towels were thick. The safe worked well. I could not find any English tv despite a hundred plus channels - no big deal as Lucca is a great area to explore. That said, it is nice to catch an hour of news now and then on BBC or CNN. Wifi in the room was free, if a little sketchy. The bed was firm and large, with padded headboard which made sitting up in bed comfortable as well. The area was quiet enough to sleep with windows open, we were in back and off the street.

The restaurant offered a great menu and superb service for dining, salad / veggie bar was a little weak but menu choices were delicious.

Good hotel, friendly and helpful staff with great dining available on site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    428
    121
    14
    10
See reviews for
227
303
23
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
338 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in september : 88 euro per night (3 months prepaid-non cancelable on Best Western website) for a double room including buffet breakfast. We came by train to Lucca. Take VAI-bus#15 (direction : Antracolli, each 20 minutes) 200m in front of Lucca's central trainstation and drive in 5 minutes exactly to the entrance of Best Western.

The hotel is situated 1,5km outside Lucca centre. Bus #15 just in front of the hotel runs every 20 minutes from 7AM till 8PM (except on sunday : from 2PM till 8PM). Buy prepaid bustickets (1 euro/pp) at Best Western desk or at central train station in tabacco shop. Large free carparking. Bicycle hire onsite : 8 euro/6 hours, 12 euro/12 hours.

Our room was medium size (26m²) but large according to Italian standards, comfortable, clean, wooden floor. Quiet at night : our room was at the backside of the hotel with view on the mountains and the private parking lot. Good bed, good and silent airco, flatscreen, fridge, coffee and tea provided on demand (for free). Clean bathroom, good shower no bathtub. Free Wifi. Breakfast buffet is very good. Hotel is built in H-shape, so try to have a room at frontside or backside of the hotel … the middle rooms have a view on the opposite middle rooms.
Restaurant for lunch and dinner on site, but we didn't used it.
Conclusion : quality for your money, you will not be dissapointed !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Room was large. King size bed was firm and provided an excellent sleep for my wife and I. AC worked well and chilled the room immediately upon inserting the key. Bathroom amenities were excellent and the included breakfast was a feast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S4Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
352 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

It's a BEST WESTERN - so what do you expect? Mediocrity - and that is what you get here .It is a bit out of the way from the sites that you may want to see BUT it does offer bicycle rentals and anyone interested in seeing the sites on their own should seriously consider this mode of doing so. Surprisingly, this place has a very good restaurant and we encourage its patronage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OMNISCIENT_ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel! Everything was clean, everyone was friendly and very helpful when needing information. It has everything you need. Would definitely stay here again. Only draw back is it is a little walk to the city center. But they have bicycles available for rent which I highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHawk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst visiting Lucca for some business. Its a good 4 star hotel. It seems fairly big. The breakfast was very good. There bar area and lobby was nice. The room was a good size and very clean. And the hotel was walking distance to Lucca historic centre. The staff were also very friendly. I would recommend it as a great choice outside of the walls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansa3151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel on my first night of my European tour. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The rooms were really nice and the beds were quite comfortable. Unfortunately the safe in my room was broken and aparrently the staff forgot to fix it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warpa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#8 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
1.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Address: Via Romana 1247, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#11 Family Hotel in Lucca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located near the historic center, offers tasteful decor, meeting facilities, restaurant & bar; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucca
Lucca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing