We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lucca value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Lucca value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We planned five nights at this hotel at the one month point of a three month driving trip mostly in Italy to not only see local sights but to recharge. With a moderate price for a fifth floor executive suite that is huge with a living room, dining area, large bedroom with enormous built ins and bureau, a very large bath and a big private terrace, it was a bargain. There was a small refrigerator in the room and a kettle with tea and instant coffee provided on request at no charge. The room was immaculate and fully detailed each day. This suite had more electrical outlets than any other three rooms on our trip combined. The reception staff is incredibly friendly, speaks excellent English, and helped with a number of local suggestions, including directions to a nice self-service laundry in the area. They are able to sell tickets to the local bus system which has a stop right in front of the hotel for taking you the short distance to the old city of Lucca and another stop about 150 meters away for the bus to the train station. Fares are only one Euro per person each direction, and you would probably not want to walk to either of those destinations. Breakfast was included with our room, but be aware that when you enter the restaurant for breakfast, they have an area set up for tour bus groups. If you are not in a group, let them know, as they have an area for you that has more food options and better service. There is a very adequate grocery story about two blocks away that is open Monday through Saturday. There are a few things you might want to be forewarned about. During our stay, in the middle of April, there was a major construction project underway within earshot of the hotel on the road side of the building. That, along with the road noise and barking dog across the road, made us glad that we always travel with a sleep sound machine, so we could sleep with the two terrace doors open for ventilation, as they hadn’t yet turned on the air conditioning. If you want a smoking room on the other side of the building, you won’t have that problem. Also, know that there was no wireless Internet service on the road side of the 5th floor, an annoying deficiency in this level of hotel. We had to go to a small floor lounge on the other side of the building. Lastly, we are disappointed that the lead staff person in the restaurant at breakfast wouldn’t be more aware of the inappropriateness of her showing up to work, mingling among guests handling tableware and hovering over the food presentation with an obviously bad cold. That said, the hotel served our purpose, and we were able to easily take a train to Florence for a day, drive to Carrara and Pisa and see Lucca itself, which is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    385
    111
    11
    9
See reviews for
197
262
21
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
710 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I tend to be a bit of a Best Western snob thinking that they are all a bit tired and not up to much, but this one was fine and I would stay there again. It was inexpensive and the rooms were basic but functional and actually I had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
194 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Guinigi with a tour group. After a long day of touring, the Grand Hotel Guinigi was a welcome respite. The hotel is part of the Best Western chain, is located outside of the wall surrounding the main part of Lucca, is not new, but it was well-appointed. Our room was large and its furnishings were comfortable.

We had planned on going to a restaurant in Lucca, but decided at the last minute to have dinner with our tour group in the hotel. Our dinner menu was pre-selected, so we did not even see the regular menu. The only good part of the dinner was the farro soup; it was pretty good. We wish we had been able to have only farro soup. We normally like chicken cacciatore; it is a dish that we may have chosen for ourselves; we have nothing against chicken cacciatore. But EVERYBODY disliked the chicken cacciatore we were served– undercooked and yucky; very, very yucky. Some people refused to eat it, and it made some people sick. We were unable to finish dinner and left early.

As we were at the Grand Hotel Guinigi with a tour group, we have no idea what the hotel cost, what else may have been on the hotel’s dinner menu, or what the dinner cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel a couple of nights. The hotel is located a few kilometers outside the city walls, but with a number of bus stops close by (17 bus from station to within 5min of hotel, bus 18 stops in front of hotel). There are cheaper hotels inside the walls, but they might not be as nice. Friendly staff, helped with bikes, wifi, directions... Rooms are nice an big, clean and very comfy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsvdheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but wish it could have been more. To throw open the window and see the majestic mountains, just wonderful. I would say it was the friendliest staff in all of Italy. They even had a computer in the lobby for guests to check email. Beautiful dining room where he had a lovely breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is one of the most comfortable places I've ever stayed in Italy, period. That's how a one night stay became ten - it's just so nice you don't want to leave. If you're visiting Lucca, and there's a dozen reasons to make Lucca a base for exploring the area, stay here! 
- Big, quiet rooms
- Really, Really nice staff
- Good location, near but not in city, 30 min walk, free plentiful parking
- Great breakfust buffet with excellent staff
- Free wifi in rooms
- An incredible restaurant onsite, very good value, creative, delicious, and more terrific staff.
The very best Best Western we've ever seen (and we've seen some good ones).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to see the hills, or one inside the "H" for less road noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24601JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel. Our room overlooked a soccer field, homes and mountains. It was cool and pleasant here and we were able to open the window. The bathroom was good size and very clean. We had plenty of electrical outlets and all the lights worked.
The breakfast was a buffet breakfast for our tour group. We had croissants with butter and jam, cold cereals, scrambled eggs, sausages, cold cuts, crusty bread, coffee and tea, milk and assorted fresh and prepared fruits. All very good and in a lovely dining room.
There is a fitness center here but no pool. We were out of the city but our tour bus took us to the evening dinner and the sites in the city.
This hotel is part of the Best Western Chain and exceded my expectations. I am not able to give a rating on the value or the cost of the breakfast because it was included in the tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.0 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
3.5 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#14 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Address: Via Romana 1247, I-55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lucca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#11 Family Hotel in Lucca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located near the historic center, offers tasteful decor, meeting facilities, restaurant & bar; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucca
Lucca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing