We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice with no surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
954 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Very nice with no surprises”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I tend to be a bit of a Best Western snob thinking that they are all a bit tired and not up to much, but this one was fine and I would stay there again. It was inexpensive and the rooms were basic but functional and actually I had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    430
    124
    14
    10
See reviews for
231
307
23
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
237 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Hotel Guinigi with a tour group. After a long day of touring, the Grand Hotel Guinigi was a welcome respite. The hotel is part of the Best Western chain, is located outside of the wall surrounding the main part of Lucca, is not new, but it was well-appointed. Our room was large and its furnishings were comfortable.

We had planned on going to a restaurant in Lucca, but decided at the last minute to have dinner with our tour group in the hotel. Our dinner menu was pre-selected, so we did not even see the regular menu. The only good part of the dinner was the farro soup; it was pretty good. We wish we had been able to have only farro soup. We normally like chicken cacciatore; it is a dish that we may have chosen for ourselves; we have nothing against chicken cacciatore. But EVERYBODY disliked the chicken cacciatore we were served– undercooked and yucky; very, very yucky. Some people refused to eat it, and it made some people sick. We were unable to finish dinner and left early.

As we were at the Grand Hotel Guinigi with a tour group, we have no idea what the hotel cost, what else may have been on the hotel’s dinner menu, or what the dinner cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel a couple of nights. The hotel is located a few kilometers outside the city walls, but with a number of bus stops close by (17 bus from station to within 5min of hotel, bus 18 stops in front of hotel). There are cheaper hotels inside the walls, but they might not be as nice. Friendly staff, helped with bikes, wifi, directions... Rooms are nice an big, clean and very comfy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsvdheever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but wish it could have been more. To throw open the window and see the majestic mountains, just wonderful. I would say it was the friendliest staff in all of Italy. They even had a computer in the lobby for guests to check email. Beautiful dining room where he had a lovely breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is one of the most comfortable places I've ever stayed in Italy, period. That's how a one night stay became ten - it's just so nice you don't want to leave. If you're visiting Lucca, and there's a dozen reasons to make Lucca a base for exploring the area, stay here! 
- Big, quiet rooms
- Really, Really nice staff
- Good location, near but not in city, 30 min walk, free plentiful parking
- Great breakfust buffet with excellent staff
- Free wifi in rooms
- An incredible restaurant onsite, very good value, creative, delicious, and more terrific staff.
The very best Best Western we've ever seen (and we've seen some good ones).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to see the hills, or one inside the "H" for less road noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24601JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel. Our room overlooked a soccer field, homes and mountains. It was cool and pleasant here and we were able to open the window. The bathroom was good size and very clean. We had plenty of electrical outlets and all the lights worked.
The breakfast was a buffet breakfast for our tour group. We had croissants with butter and jam, cold cereals, scrambled eggs, sausages, cold cuts, crusty bread, coffee and tea, milk and assorted fresh and prepared fruits. All very good and in a lovely dining room.
There is a fitness center here but no pool. We were out of the city but our tour bus took us to the evening dinner and the sites in the city.
This hotel is part of the Best Western Chain and exceded my expectations. I am not able to give a rating on the value or the cost of the breakfast because it was included in the tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed two nights to visit Lucca and Pizza.

The room and bathroom were a good size, modern and clean. This is about the only good thing about the hotel (except it has parking). Our room looked onto another room (H shape building so room was dark and a bit depressing because of this).

It is too far out of Lucca to walk into the town and there is nothing nice near the hotel. There is no outside sitting area except two sunbeds in a very small walled area on the rooftop, not exactly good for a hotel this size.

We ate in the hotel the first night but it was a big room with no atmosphere and the service was poor. Food was ok but nothing special and not an experience we wanted to repeat on the second night. Breakfast was also ok but fairly bland, more volume than quality.

All in all it is a hotel for business travellers I would say, who just want a good standard of room to sleep in for the night - not one with anything else to make it attractive to tourists. The other areas are all a bit dark and dated.

Room Tip: Not sure there are any with a good view.....maybe at the back?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpb1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi

Property: BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Address: Via Romana 1247, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lucca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#11 Family Hotel in Lucca
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located near the historic center, offers tasteful decor, meeting facilities, restaurant & bar; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lucca
Lucca Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing