We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“WHAT A SIGHT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guinigi Tower

Guinigi Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$127.52*
and up
Private Tour: Florence to Pisa and Lucca
Ranked #3 of 109 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tower is easily recognizable: it has a leaning tree growing out of its top.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“WHAT A SIGHT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visited Lucca while on a five night stay in Pisa. I did find the climb a bit difficult as I have chest problems but my husband had no trouble at all.The view over Lucca and beyond was amazing. All the roof tops and terraces were so attractive. Would do it again despite the problems I had with the climb

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,298
    870
    141
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A good experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Its very unique however its difficult to climb. Not suitable for anyone with difficulties. On the plus side its a wonderful view and I have never seen a tower like it before.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tuscany Fine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tree-topped tower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

This tree-topped tower was definitely worth climbing. It wasn't a difficult climb (no narrow stairways to navigate) and the view from the top was lovely. It's quite unique with the trees that grow at the top. It was a fun stop and only took the kids about 5 minutes to walk up.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank flyerATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkedal, Denmark
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great view of Lucca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Having been in hundreds of towers and high places, it is quite hard to be fascinated about another. But we liked the view being able to see the entire innner city not to speak of the many etrusian roofs.

It was not that hard to get to the top and plenty of apace on the stairs most of the way. It can be pretty crowded upstairs, bht I think it is worth the 4 euros.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bmaschoreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I'm not all that keen on heights, but it was worth facing my demons for the stunning views of this beautiful city!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinBache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guinigi Tower also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Guinigi Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing