We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been an off night”
Review of Ammodonostro

Ammodonostro
Ranked #48 of 595 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I went here based on Trip Advisor reviews, and of the ten or so places we ate while there, this was tenth. The patio in the back was beautiful and the flowers were so bright. It was a very romantic setting, but the food was average at best. My onion soup taste like nothing. Not even like onions! The past dish was also very bland tasting and really just not good. My wife had roasted pork that was really very good, but it was the only thing she had that stood out for her. Wouldnt go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stuartb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    223
    52
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stopped today for lunch and were able to sit on the patio. The meal was fantastic and the flowers and patio were lovely also. My husband had the meat menu with 4 courses and half a bottle of wine. What an amazing value for the high quality of the food! I chose the chicken pate starter (yummy), then the steak slices with mushroom. It melted in your mouth. Lots of food! We may need to visit one more time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3eurotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fantastic little restaurant”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you're lucky enough to go when the weather is good, they have a lovely patio in the back. The food is terrific and very reasonably priced. They also have a good wine list that includes not only local wines but from other bits of Italy. And the staff are incredibly friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank expatinlondon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best of everything”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We discovered this restaurant last year when we stayed in Lucca for a month, we ate here frequently at lunch and dinner, the food was always excellent, as was the service and the ambiance, the outside courtyard is relaxing and attractive. This year we returned to Lucca for just 4 days, tried to book in for dinner...no room! However during our 4 days we managed to enjoy 2 dinners and 1 lunch. We were warmly welcomed by Francesco, Daniela, Simon and Sylvana. We enjoy the menu, the soups, grilled cheese and pâté are excellent, the roast pork with crackling to die for, is top notch as is the roasted goose breast and other dishes, the side of spinach is another favourite. This time we shared the bistecca, it was wonderfully flavoursome, tender and cooked to perfection.
This is a very special place, the high standard and presentation of the meals, the service, the warm welcome, the ambiance, the restaurant has it all. Oh did I mention the value for money...entrees from 6-8€ mains around 12€, except for the bistecca. Wine, mineral water and coffee all very reasonable. Francesco is a dedicated talented chef, we wish there were more like him around. Thanks for the warm hospitality, we will definitely return next year, we will make sure we book well in advance, word has spread....it is necessary to book! Thanks to all

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere with moderate prices”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I just had a soup and salad but the staff were still very welcoming, even if they were still eating their own dinner - I was quite an early arrival. I sat outside and they were playing music by Emigma, which created the right atmosphere. I would go back for a romantic dinner in the future.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helene Christin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ammodonostro also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Ammodonostro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing