We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride a lap of the walls - or three!”

Tuscany Ride a Bike
Ranked #3 of 19 Outdoor Activities in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The experience accumulated over ten years of activity allowsus to offer models suited to every need: from a simple ride in a historical town center closed to traffic to the challenging excursion on the road or off-road. We can also offer many services like: luggage handling, transfers, home delivery, guide and mechanical assistance. And more
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ride a lap of the walls - or three!”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The first thing we did when we arrived at Lucca was to hire bikes and cycle a couple of laps of the wall. A great way to get your bearings and assess the lay of the land. We hired basic Polo bikes and it was just €3 an hour. Make sure you have driving license with you as they keep it as a deposit. The bikes aren't great but you don't need anything fancy as once you’re up the ramp the walls are flat and smooth. Take a bottle of water and take your time... still only takes 20 mins max to do a lap. Then treat yourself to a Gelato and wonder through the streets (the second thing we did in Lucca).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Rigby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    10
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Speak to the expert first”
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately we did not read the reviews or research the many tour options at Tuscany Ride a Bike before we decided to hire some bikes. Instead we hired some mountain bikes for the full day (at a very reasonable 20€) and decided to ride to the Serchio River and toward Pisa. The ride was very beautiful but we had a difficult time managing the various routes. On the return trip we were lucky enough to see Paolo from Tuscany Ride a Bike who kindly offered to take us back to Lucca. The route he used would have been impossible for us to find ourselves. It was extremely beautiful and the roads were less travelled by cars. Thanks Paolo for the ride back into Lucca. And to anyone reading this make sure you visit him first to find out what tours or self guided trips he has to offer. Best to speak with an expert first you will get more out of the experience.

Helpful?
6 Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“From the wife of a serious cyclist...”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband is very serious about his cycling and Paolo took great care of him. We met Paolo late one afternoon to try out the bike and ensure the right fit. My husband brought his own riding shoes with him! Then they went out twice over the next two days, the first for 1 1/2 hours or so and the second for 3-4 hours! My husband had a great time, saw lots of beautiful countryside and had a terrific work out. We would definitely recommend Tuscany Ride a Bike and Paolo! (While my husband cycled, I relaxed, shopped and had a cooking lesson)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank abcMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Tuscany Ride a Bike, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Lucca is so beautiful that it's easy to find beautiful itineraries, your husband is an excellent rider who truly loves cycling. I almost did not noticed that I was working and I also receive lots of compliments is really nice.
Thank you very much.
Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great day biking Lucca to Pisa”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a great bike ride along the river, past ancient Roman aqueducts, on top of the medival wall in Lucca and past Tuscan towns with thermal springs. Andres , our guide was informative, flexible and eager to please. We had a blast and highly recommend this tour. We wish we had time for others.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy Lucca on a bike”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

There is nothing better than enjoying Lucca by riding a bike. We roamed around inside the walls for many hours. It was such a pleasant experience.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CPJAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Ride a Bike also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Tuscany Ride a Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing