We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must go to this!”

Puccini e la sua Lucca International Permanent Festival
Ranked #2 of 111 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only festival dedicated to Giacomo Puccini in his native city, Lucca. And the only PERMANENT FESTIVAL in the world, with concerts and events every day of the year, at 19hrs.AND EVERY EVENING WITH VARIED PROFESSIONAL INTERPRETERS AND PROGRAMS For detailed information and programs, please visit our official website
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You must go to this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you are in Lucca, do go to this wonderful, short concert. Currently held in the Oratorio near the church of San Giovanni, the music is provided by three members of a large musical company. Each night the singers vary and the programme changes.We heard a selection of Mozart and Puccini pieces sung by two professionals, one a soprano, the other a baritone, both accompanied by a professional piano player who performed two solos himself. Just amazing to hear such wonderful voices and music!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill and Jim L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    176
    27
    7
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bravo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Although I am not much of an opera fan I loved these concerts. The performers were wonderful and the time was just right. Located in a church the acoustics made the voices reverberate throughout the building. If you return for a second concert with your receipt they will give you a discount for succeeding shows. We went twice and if we had been in town for a longer time we would have gone again and again. I really like it and want to tell all visitors about it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Even if you don't think you like opera, you'll love these concerts. And if you do like opera, you're in for a big treat. Beautiful voices, exceptional accompaniment - the music is shared with such joy that it's infectious. We went once and we so bowled over that we went back twice. The little church is lovely and has great acoustics. Of all our wonderful experiences in Lucca, this is the one I miss now that I'm home.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Very Special Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Since Lucca is Puccini's birthplace, it seemed only fitting to experience an Opera evening while there. We are so glad we did. The performance was held in a beautiful church with both a male and female singing selections from Puccini and Verde. Since we are not really opera fans, the one hour length was perfect and the music from the grand piano, the beautiful voices and the gorgeous atmosphere was truly magical. The price was reasonable and the experience unforgettable.
The benches were very uncomfortable but a small sacrifice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankCarolR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The evening performances are a great way to enjoy the beautiful music without the formality of an evening at the opera as the performance is about an hour long. The performers are excellent! Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puccini e la sua Lucca International Permanent Festival also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Puccini e la sua Lucca International Permanent Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing