We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to Lucca”
Review of Casa Paolina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Paolina
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel location enables you to enjoy this city to its maximum. The facilities are great with modern comforts to enjoy and is exceptionally clean. My apartment fronted the piazza and heard no sound/noise what-so-ever. if you’re looking for a great place to stay - look no further.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaPaolina, Responsabile reception at Casa Paolina, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Tim,
la ringraziamo per la sua ottima recensione torni presto a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Casa Paolina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 83 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

'Gli stranieri sono molto strani' she says to us as we arrive at Reception. 'Foreigners are really strange'. Well, what a nice reception that was too. Never have I experienced someone as false and discourteous as this lady. Sorry, but if you own and run a hotel in a Tuscan city that is particular popular with 'foreginers' would you not at least try to be hospitable and open-minded?
Anyway...
Next we ask for somewhere to eat, a nice local osteria for the evening, and we are recommended a snooty bistrot run by a (special) friend of hers. Umm... have you even bothered to try and understand your clientele? To add insult to injury we are not given a map and we are told that 'non mi ricordo' (I don't remember) the name of X street. Some things, I'd say, are fundamental when you run a hotel. Not knowing street names or directions is a crime of the highest order for someone running a downtown hotel. No other recommendations or helpful advice for the city AT ALL.

Broken shower; HORRIBLE furniture (including dead cow rug on the floor); 'double' bed two singles shoved together; two measly sachets of Nescafe coffee and Lipton tea; CCTV cameras everywhere like Big Brother; no wifi internet despite being 'free and non-stop'. Need I go on...?

In short, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else if you want to enjoy this fantastic city. Don't waste your hard-earned money. Being asked nearly 200€ for one night here is a complete joke.

I imagine that all these gleamingly positive reviews must have been written by (special) friends and family members of the aforementioned.

Location perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boutros88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaPaolina, Responsabile reception at Casa Paolina, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014
Google Translation

Gentilissima Cliente,
mi dispiace veramente tanto per la brutta esperienza che ha avuto a Casa Paolina!
Io lavoro qui da 3 anni e mi sono sempre presa cura dei nostri ospiti come ha potuto leggere nelle numerose recensioni positive scritte su di noi.
Purtroppo il giorno del suo check in non ero presente e la persona che mi ha sostituito non è stata assolutamente all'altezza della nostra reputazione, che mi creda, ci siamo costruiti con molto impegno e sacrificio.
Spero quindi che un episodio sporadico non rovini il lavoro di tanti anni e la invito a tornare per verificare di persona che ciò che ha letto di positivo su di noi corrisponde al vero.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

As has been said before - great location, great apartment and very helpful and attentive staff. good for families and young children. Not much to do after 9PM as everything closes including most restaurants. so eat early !

Room Tip: Beware the church bells that ring every morning at 9 AM. Apart from Sunday ..? They ring later?? May...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc0lm_L0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaPaolina, Responsabile reception at Casa Paolina, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

...and great review!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were very lucky to land an offer on these apartments, in the very heart of beautiful Lucca.

These vast , clean, parquet floored apartments are a wonderful find. Comfortable, equipped with a very functional kitchen, a living room and spacious bedroom, the apartment could comfortably fit up to 5 people. Ideal for a family or close friends to share.

To me location is key, and these apartments are smack in the middle of Lucca. We were greeted with much kindness and were given great advice on how to enjoy and visit the city.

If you're travelling by car , Casa Paolina issues a car pass for you to enter the city . As for parking, it's available by the nearby train station at a very reasonable price.

If the price is right and you're considering booking at Casa Paolina , I would say go for it now!
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrza313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This apartment is in a fantastic location, is very modern and plush and well equipped, and gave us a very comfortable stay in the heart of Lucca. The space you get from a serviced apartment like this makes it a much better bet than an hotel, and hard to beat overall if you want somewhere right in the thick of the action. Noise not a problem for us even though there was plenty going on below. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We reserved a room at least six months prior to our arrive. During that time we communicated with Roberta who was most helpful to us. She even helped us get to Casa Paolina from the airport in Florence in the most relaxing manner possible so we could begin our vacation as soon as possible without any hassle. We found our room clean and comfortable for 3 adults. Roberta and Martina continued to be helpful and did all they could do to make our stay memorable. We stayed in another location in Lucca 5 years ago and would never stay there again but will stay in Casa Paolina when we return to Lucca. In contrast to Casa Paolina, we stayed in an apartment in Firenze when we left Lucca with no one on site at all and no more than 2 minutes of hot water in the 5 days we were there. The apartment was not even close to being big enough for 3 adults even though it advertised at sleeping 4. The location of Casa Palina is great, Lucca is great. Many wonderful places to eat. Nice, friendly people. Our stay exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Make the reservations soon enough to e-mail Roberta to discuss which room might be good for you base...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here in La Boheme apartment in September for 1 night. I was unhappy with several aspects of my accomadation. The photos on the web site show lovely soft furnishings and state that they are from high end retailers. Not true. Most of what I saw came from ikea. - no offence to Ikea- there were no nice duvet covers on the bed just a bare duvet with a sheet with no cover! We arrived in the afternoon and went exploring lovely Lucca. When we returned it was dark and I discover just one bulb working in the elaborate ceiling bedroom light and the lamp only working on one bedside light.
Annoying but not the end of the world. I got up the next morning to take a shower before heading to the airport to discover that there was NO HOT WATER....... and no one at reception. When we checked out at 10 there was a woman at the reception. I explained the problem and she insisted I accompany her to the apartment so she could check!!! She tried a number of taps, electrical things, boiler as if this should make me feel better. I explained I had a flight to catch and with a grin and a shrug of the shoulders she said " these things happen". At the rates they charge they most definatly shouldn't . I emailed a complaint to the web site and that wasn't even acknowledged.
It's a good thing Lucca is so nice because I definatly wouldn't be returning to Casa Paolina. They don't know how to treat their customers.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grannybbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.2 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#19 of 173 in Lucca
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Paolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Paolina

Address: Piazza Venti Settembre 2, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Price Range: $133 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa Paolina 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Paolina apartments are just a few steps from the town centre, at the junction of the cardum and decumanum, which marked the very heart of the ancient Roman town; Casa Paolina apartments overlook Piazza XX Settembre (once called Piazza delle Erbe because a fruit and vegetable market used to take place there), Via Beccheria, Piazza San Giusto, Piazza Napoleone (the most important square in Lucca). Besides boasting a particularly central position, Casa Paolina apartments also enjoy a very pleasant sun exposure, very difficult to find in other parts of the town. Casa Paolina Holiday Apartments in Lucca are the ideal place for both a historical and modern holiday; they are set in the very heart of the pedestrian historical centre of the town, rich in history of the 12th, 17th and 18th century and very close to Via Fillungo, the “most elegant promenade” in Lucca, whose smart boutiques fill the ancient town inside the Roman walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Paolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing