We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice romance and great cuisine”
Review of Osteria Baralla

Osteria Baralla
Ranked #41 of 587 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Faenza, Italy
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice romance and great cuisine”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We were in this restaurant for a late dinner and were very satisfied.
I suggest you to try typical local dishes like:zuppa di farro, lard with bread, filetto di cinta senese.
Service is also quick and nice

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mic_Pen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    761
    214
    60
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The pumpkin ravioli was tasty, the rabbit was dry, dry, dry and everything else was only OK. There are so many other restaurants to try in Lucca that I would pass on this one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deciding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
234 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“True Tuscan, done right!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The friendly staff can guide you through their traditional menu of Tuscan delights. The food is simple, fresh and delicious. The pasta with black truffle is amazing, and their home-made pate of wild boar is amazing. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic, to the point it feels more comfortable than home!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Restaurant is just at the end of the Amphitheatre and internal structure is rustic, typical and inviting, an attractive background which precludes to wonderful food and service. Everyone we met working was very nice, cordial and aim to please. Food is very good and the typical dishes excellent. The boar was exquisite and definitely worth more visits! Wine selection is vast and plentiful. Prices are also in line with the area and fair.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dario954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in very good city.”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

On the advice of a hotels concierge we found this wonderful osteria. We got a lot of very pleasant experiences. Despite the lack of availability we were treated to prosecco and asked to wait 10-15 minutes. After 5 minutes (Italy, fantastic!) we were sitting at the table and read the menu. Fiorentina steak, here called Bistecca di MANZO CHIANINA was very tasty, Brunello di Montalcino - a very good recommendation of our waiter. Final grappa and espresso - it was perfect! Thank you very much for brilliant start of that evening!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KievIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Baralla also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Osteria Baralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing