We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great tasting Tuscan cuisine”
Review of Osteria Baralla

Osteria Baralla
Ranked #42 of 587 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value, great tasting Tuscan cuisine”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic food and a nice atmosphere in the centre of Lucca. Has limited outside seating in a fairly narrow street. Generally try and eat here whenever we go to Lucca and have never been disappointed. On this occasion we attended as part of a group of 6 and everybody enjoyed their food, especially the venison ragout and the wild boar with polenta. Also has a nice wine list. If you are going for dinner it is a good idea to have a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    763
    215
    60
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful and a great value”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

While most reviews of this restaurant were positive, several of the negative ones made us concerned. After having eaten there last night, we are wondering what restaurant the naysayers visited! Our experience was delightful!

We shared a great appetizer of crudite (we were craving veggies since there don't seem to be many in a typical meal here) and fresh pecorino cheese topped with great olive oil and a delicious balsamic. My wife then had a delicious cacio e pepe pasta and I had the wild boar stew with polenta, which was also very tasty. All of this with a nice bottle of local red and water was just €51, which was easily the best value we encountered. Plus the service was attentive and cheerful and the ambience was lovely. What more could one want?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester/Berlin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent, Simple Tuscan Treat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you're ever in the delightful Tuscan city of Lucca - and I urge you to stay for longer than the traditional bus tour stop over if you are - check out this simple, honest Osteria on the street which rings one of the main attractions the Antiteatro. The decor and service are lovely, the simple dishes beautifully cooked with a terrific wine list. The perfect Tuscan dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific Tuscan menu!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We loved our dinner here tonight! We ad typical Tuscan food: two types of pâté on crostini, wild boar with polenta, and amazing ravioli stuffed with cheeses. With house wine, bill was 44e and we were stuffed! It was 8 pm on Saturday eve and the pace was busy, service somewhat slow. We recommend, if you like this type of food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tospain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“really rather boring”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was looking forward to this as it was recommended to us, but I was very dissapointed. The food whilst cooked well was very plain, the menu limited and really rather boring. The waitresss was nice but too busy to explain anything in much detail. there were 9 of us, I orderd the cod with chick peas, it was nice but very dull, underseasoned, and not much flavour, all served on white plates so looked uninspiring too. Felt like it was a waste of money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Baralla also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Osteria Baralla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing