We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Medieval experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Residenza dell'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Medieval experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Where do I start about this medieval town. Well let me start with the entrance to this beautiful and magical town, from the moment you enter it, you feel like you have gone back in time. It is truly beautiful, a must see part of Italy.

The food, well no matter where we ate we were always happy, believe me I do not say this likely, as I am Italian, first generation Australian. Just outside this beautiful boutique hotel is a small a restaurant, we kept walking past until the last night in Lucca we thought we would try it, we sat outside on a very narrow road. While we were waiting for our food a car decided it would drive though, it was a very large Audi, as everyone quickly shifted their tables and chairs, I thought I would stay put, as the driver drove very slowly past my chair, I offered him a basket of bread, asking him if he would like a piece. Of coarse he took a piece because the food at this little restaurant was very good. As was the hotel Maison De Charme, alla corte degli Angeli, Lucca. There is always someone on reception, always very helpfull with any questions that we had. The breakfast staff were also very nice, the coffees were very good, the food was fresh and plentiful for buffet breakfast.
I would highly recommend this hotel, it's very affordable, big rooms and very clean. It is also very central to shops and restaurants.

Luca is a place I loved and would return to, staying at the same hotel.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
17
49
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
579 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Normal hotel in the outshirts of Lucca was fully booked due to fair in town, so did try HRS and did find Dell Angelo and look into the website. Brochures and website do not alwayes tell facts!
The "Hotel" was rigth in the center of Lucca and walking distance to every thing. Were welcomed at the doorsteeps by a lady from reception, steps to 1 floor reception and after that stairs to 2 floor was very steep and not to recomend to older people. We did get our keyes and shown the rooms and then by-by left on self, sorry we did get some recomendations for dinner in the evening! No restaurant nore breakfast in the morning which we did expect looking on the Website and confirmtion from Hrs. But apart from al this the rooms were large comfetabel and the old stile kept very nicely, very large bathroom. In connection with the room there is a large lounge with TV and fridge, do purchase some water, there is no miniba.From the lounge there is a large veranda overlooking the sqaure.Payment is done at arrival and keyes to be left in the morning. Location and rooms are the best in hotel and will for sure stay there again, but i can not recommend it for older or disabel people nor familie with small children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I should have been wary when we were able to easily book this place the day before our stay, but we were lured by it's location and nice website, which are the only reasons I can give it 2 stars. After arriving at the "lobby", which was the door on a busy street, we milled around outside, looking for a doorbell or someone to let us in. Finally, the nice lady from the gelato stand across the way tapped us on the shoulder and said that someone would be by shortly to let us in. 15 minutes later, we were let in, led up a few flight of stairs, and charged for our room. 3 steep flights later we were shown our "suite" and left alone. I surely wouldn't want to have to make a quick exit from this place. Though nicely redecorated, the outdoor kitchen on the balcony right next door drove us back into the bedroom, where we spent as little time as possible. Though the place looked like it had potential, it felt like we were in someone's efficiency apartment who had locked most of the cabinets and facilities and rented it out for extra money. The location is this hotel's saving grace, but we're going to look a little harder next time before we book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John74726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The lady that welcomed us and showed us around was very nice and supportive. The appartment was large and the two rooms were very nice and clean. It was a pity that there was no possibility to make coffee or tea. There was an excellent refrigerator. Beds were great. But the three steep stairways to the first floor were a hell. Although they promised a room with a view on the square, we could only see a glimpse of the square if we bended out of the window dangerously far. Th view on the street below was nice though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groeneveld64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great location. Fantastic room and all-in-all just a good feel.
More of an "apartment-feel" than your standard hotel experience but I mean that in a very positive way.
There's a certain charm to the "tucked-away" nature of this hotel... like you're discovering a little gem slap-bang in the middle of this busy town. It's unimposing from the outside; you'd be forgiven for walking straight past it without spotting it, yet inside the rooms are spacious, well-designed and just a pleasant place to lounge around.
Location-wise, you're right in the heart of Lucca and only a 10 minute walk to Lucca station.
I've stayed in a lot of hotels and have to say this was one of the most memorable.

Room Tip: The top room (third floor) was great... didn't have a balcony but made up for it with a large &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We have been traveling all spring in Europe, and Antica Residenza Dell'Angelo has been by far the best place we have stayed out of 7 different hotels.
The location is the best, you are just in the hearth of the town.
The owner is always in his best disposition to help and suggest anything that you might need.
This is a boutique hotel in the hearth of Lucca, Italy. the rooms were very big, clean and comfortable, everything had design details. You will enjoy your stay there.
Reception is not staffed 24/7 so be careful about arrival times - also the stairs are very steep and reasonably narrow.
There was not any tea/coffee making facilities although if you like us you wont spend any time in the room to really notice & there was plenty of cafes nearby to bring coffee to the room.
Located inside the walls of Lucca in the main square Piazza S.Michele and easy walk from trai station.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kents Bank, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our recent holiday in lovely Lucca and its environs was only marred by or stay at the Antica! We found there website totaly misleading to the actual facts. We stayed from the 30th sep (last day of sep) to the 8th of october and was charged 129 Euros per night when on their website it say 119 Euros(medium season) When we queried that they said it was because we had a larger suite, funny that i only remember one bed in the suite one bathroom and one lounge/kitchen which by the way had a lovely large fridge but no sink/cooker/kettle/cutlery/cups or glasses so what was the point of that! Also website states safe and mini bar we never found them.. When we arrived we were given a suite on the second floor with no outlook other than airconditioning units we complained but was told nothing available till the following day then shown suite on the next floor lovely but no proper bed just a sofa bed so said no then offered the 3rd day better suite with view, shame it was 5 floors up (no lift) phew! but it took that long to get what we had requested on booking direct with them in the first place it would have been nice to unpack on day 1 instead of day 3! On their website it shows a photo of the square but the building which you think is the Angelo is infact a jewelers, the Angelo is the beige building behind that in fact their are several businesses between them and the square but please dont let us put you off visiting Lucca its wonderful and there is plenty of choice for lodgings/hotels to stay but take my advice not the overpriced Angelo

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beamer_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#8 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais San Lorenzo
Relais San Lorenzo
#16 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Residenza dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Residenza dell'Angelo

Property: Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
Address: Via Beccheria 11 | Piazza S.Michele, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Residenza dell'Angelo 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who knows the most beautiful sights of Lucca knows where is the "Piazza S. Michele" the most 'relevant and important square of medieval Lucca situated on the area of the ancient Roman forum and just on the point of encounter between the maximus with decumano the cardo maximus is the Antica Residenza dell’Angelo. Antica Residenza dell’Angelo is a complex of apartments completely restructured with a new construction concept ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Antica Residenza dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing