We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B L'Antica Bifore
Ranked #4 of 176 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved our recent visit to beautiful Lucca and L'Antica Bifore. Stefano and Brid are excellent hosts and happy to share information and great recommendations for restaurants, bike hire etc.
L'Antica Bifore was a cool and quiet haven for our daily siesta and the rooms beautifully decorated. Location was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Goldino53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 348 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Stefan's was very helpful.

We stayed 2 nights in the tower room. It had 3 beds so our son was with us too. All were happy. Good room to fend off jet lag.

We did a day trip to cinque terre, and had 2 dinners in Lucca.
Our fav was da pasquale, and highly recommend it.

Great location for the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank PV_CA_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have just returned from 3 brilliant nights in Lucca, staying at the lovely L'Antica Bifore. Brid and Stefano are so welcoming and friendly and gave us great tips on where to get great pizza and ice cream - both were fabulous!

We stayed in The Dante room, absolutely beautiful, I loved everything about it. I was nosy and managed to have a little look at 2 of the other rooms and to be honest, whichever room you end up in won't disappoint, they are all equally delightful.

The dining room where breakfast was served was also very lovely with all of the original features. Breakfast consisted of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, iced pastries, fresh bread, cheese, jams etc - a good start to the day.

Lucca is stunning. We have travelled quite a bit around Italy and everywhere we go we fall in love with and the same applied to Lucca. Such a gorgeous place, loads of restaurants and bars and many, many beautiful piazza's.

We hope to return one day and if we did we would look no further than L'Antica Bifore.

Room Tip: All are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We visited L'Antica Bifore for a week, staying in the beautifully frescoed rooms - one overlooking St Cristoforo church on via Fillungo and the other overlooking the courtyard. Both rooms were very clean, comfortable and uniquely stylish with stunning windows. We cannot praise Brid and Stefano highly enough - I contacted them by email before our arrival as we had a late flight and they organised a private car from the airport and an excellent local trattoria. We were made extremely welcome by them, and their lovely neighbours, and given an abundance of cheerful advice on places to visit, train information and local restaurants to try, some of which they booked on our behalf and all of which fulfilled our individual needs and lived up to expectations. The room overlooking the street was a tad noisy on the odd occasion in the evening but the B&B is right in the heart of the city so that is to be expected and the real treat is that you are getting a front row seat to the amazing comings and goings of Bella Lucca - which, whilst we were there, included marching bands, street performers and musicians. Brid and Stefano made us feel so utterly at home that by the end of our week it felt as though we were saying goodbye to friends. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you chose Lucca for your base in Tuscany look no further than the B & B L'Antica Bifore. The perfect location slap bang in the middle ofLucca's shopping & dining area. Our hosts Brid & Stefano went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We were lucky enough to stay 3 nights and ate each night at a place recommended by our hosts. Not sure if I should share this with you but the pizzas at Felice are to die for:-) As recommended we tried the chickpea pizza ( along with others) and all were great. Definitely the best pizzas we have tasted after 3 weeks in Italy! We were fortunate enough to be given the tower room for our stay & when you closed the shudders the room was dark! Thank you Brid & Stefano we will not hesitate to recommend your B &B to any of our friends heading your way:-)

Room Tip: tower room is away from any street noise, but I really don't thing it would make much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennedys2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

A lovely place to visit with charming hosts. Beautifully renovated 13th Century tower full of character in a super location. Come out of the front door and you are in the busy streets of central Lucca. Brid and Stefano worked hard to make our stay relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for the quieter rooms if possible - Via Fillungo can be busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hazelwood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. Stefano and Brid were excellent hosts - very welcoming and friendly, giving lots of useful information about Lucca and good restaurant recommendations. The B&B, itself, is lovely. Ideally located in the centre of Lucca, you step out the door and you are immediately immersed in the delights of Lucca. The room was very tastefully decorated, with everything you needed.
We really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend both Lucca and a stay at Antica Bifore. We are already hoping to plan a return visit in the not too distant future and have recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 47 in Lucca
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.1 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B L'Antica Bifore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B L'Antica Bifore

Address: Via Fillungo 5, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $104 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B L'Antica Bifore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive guest house located on the main street inside the walls of the historical city centre. Typical noble "lucchese" residence with coffered ceilings and original tiled floors. Part of the XIV century Torre del Travaglio, one of the three medieval towers of Lucca. L’Antica Bifore has four spacious matrimonial suites, La Divina, Beatrice, Dante, and Paradiso. Each is different in its architectural shape and form, with beautiful frescoes and unique pieces of period furniture. We can organise wine tasting, cookery classes with award winning chef Carlo and art and craft sessions. In addition to babysitting services we can also arrange transfer for Pisa/Florence airport collections and drop offs. Please inquire at time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B L'Antica Bifore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Bifore Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing