We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Italian character!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B L'Antica Bifore
Ranked #5 of 177 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Charming B&B with refined Italian character, not just plain vanilla but individually decorated rooms. Frescoes and art work adorn the walls, and some of the walls and ceilings were of original red brick from centuries ago.
The lively owners, Brid and Stefano, were just as charming and helpful in their support and advice in choosing fabulous places to eat. I had booked all 4 rooms for my Italy Retreat group of women, and they all loved their experience here. Centrally located in Lucca, so it is very easy to get around on foot, or by bike.
Breakfast is basic. Tea available all day. Highly recommend and I will be returning.

Room Tip: Three rooms on the main street and one in the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenoraBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 349 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

One of our few regrets after three weeks in Tuscany was rushing through Lucca. Our one-night visit was sandwiched in-between stays in Florence and the Cinque Terre. Had we known how charming Lucca is - perfectly encapsulated by the exquisite B&B L'Antica Bifore - we would have planned a longer sojourn. L'Antica Bifore is a four bedroom boutique B&B in a restored medieval home in the center of the old walled city. Not only are the rooms gorgeous, the hosts - Brid and Stefano - are friendly and well informed. They provided great advice, from getting to the leaning tower by train, to finding gluten free food in Lucca (a challenge for travelers with celiac). We recommend them with enthusiasm.
As in Florence and other medieval city centers, historic buildings in Lucca - including L'Antica Bifore - do not have elevators, which means getting used to carrying luggage on stone stairways. Packing light is essential. The ubiquity of staircases does not mean older travelers should avoid the most charming accommodations (we're in our 60s), but those who are concerned about access should contact Brid & Stefano for guidance. If at all possible, you'll want to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyFeet-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Brid and Stefano are the best hosts, could not have been more helpful.
The B&B is lovely, boutique decor, stunning central dining room.
The location is excellent, even a little pizza place next door.
Brid and Stefano will recommend good places to eat, we loved Osteria Via San Georgio.
If you are in Lucca, stay at L'Antica Bifore !!

Room Tip: There is one very quiet bedroom at the back, but street noise was not really a problem at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family traveled to Lucca and stayed at this wonderful B&B for 2 nights. We were the only ones in the B&B and had 2 out of the 4 rooms. The B&B is beautifully restored and very comfortable and Stefano and Brid are wonderful hosts! The city is spectacular and there is quite a few things to see and do. A few small items that we noted that you should know:
1. Via Fillungo is the MAIN shopping pedestrian street in town. If you are coming in by car to check in, be prepared for thousands of people in the street that you will need to navigate through to get to your destination. It was quite the experience!
2. The bedrooms face the street (3 out of 4) and can be noisy if you want to get to sleep before the Italians usually do. The street usually quieted down after 11:45 PM but note that July has the festivals and the streets are filled for longer into the nights.
3. The wi-fi worked really well in the main, general room but was weaker in the bedroom.
4. The rooms and the B&B overall is spotless! The accommodations are really quite nice.
5. The hosts always had spring water in the fridge and a coffee machine for an afternoon "fix". Nice touch!

Thank you Stefano and Brid! We LOVED meeting you and spending time in your wonderful B&B and your city. We hope to return again!

Room Tip: Ask if you can have the room that faces the internal courtyard - it's quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RenataSB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

In preparation for my trip to Lucca - to study Italian and absorb my ancestral culture, I researched many different lodging arrangements. Since I was traveling solo, I wanted to stay in a B&B - always a chance to meet other travelers as well as develop a relationship with the proprietors, an opportunity to practice my Italian. I am very pleased with my selection - L'Antica Bifore, as I had the experience that I was seeking.....great lodging, great location, great owners and great guests.

The B&B has 4 rooms - all restored in the last seven years or so since the owners bought the guest house. The website does a great and accurate job of describing the uniqueness, location and history of the B&B. Living there for 3 weeks was the best choice I could have made. The location is very central, it can be a little noisy from people walking along the famous Via Fillungo, but nothing that was bothersome or kept me awake - besides, I wanted the room because of the light, beautiful window and the view.

Brid and Stefano were gracious hosts and after 3-weeks, I felt like part of the family. I found myself welcoming guests into "my B&B" every time I had the opportunity to meet new folks as they checked in - or over breakfast. I also enjoyed my Italian "lessons" with Stefano, as he helped me often with correct Italian pronunciations and grammar. Over caffe macchiato, Brid and I shared stories of our families - hers in Ireland and mine in Pennsylvania. Overall - a wonderful choice - I highly recommend staying at L'Antica Bifore.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Paulettejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A fantastic, grand building located along the main street in Lucca town centre houses this wonderful B&B which consists of four individual rooms off a central communal/breakfast area. The architecture of the building and rooms is only bettered by it's location. Being as central as it is possible to be within Lucca meant you are only metres away from delightful squares, churches, restaurants and shops. It should be pointed out that this does not mean it is a noisy place to stay...far from it. We spent two nights there in June and did not have problems sleeping as we were usually last up for breakfast! Breakfast it's self is simple but adequate but it is then when you meet your hosts who were friendly and genuine. Brid & Stefano took a genuine interest in you and were happy to answer questions and talk you about the area if you wanted to know more. Their recommendation for dinner (Pasquale's Osteria) was also fantastic.
If you want somewhere to stay that is perfectly located, has loads of character, peaceful and run by a genuine, helpful couple than this is right for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linky1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Don't be put off when you first walk inside, because the entry hall is under renovation. The hotel is located on the next level, and has a wonderful feel the moment you step inside. Our room (the Dante Room) was very comfortable and had a lot of character. Bri'd and Stefano were terrific hosts. We arrived a few hours later than planned, but they came downstairs to greet us. They hopped in the back seat of our car, and directed us to a nearby parking area, where we could leave the car overnight. They walked us back to the hotel, giving us tips on where to dine that evening, since we were only there for 1 night. In the morning, they prepared a nice continental breakfast, which we enjoyed at a communal dining room table. We met some nice people, and Bri'd and Stefano were engaged in conversation with everyone. Nice vibe, nice place, would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The Dante Room has a lovely view of the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrekker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 48 in Lucca
1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 48 in Lucca
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
0.3 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
La Boheme
La Boheme
#8 of 177 in Lucca
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B L'Antica Bifore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B L'Antica Bifore

Address: Via Fillungo 5, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $105 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B L'Antica Bifore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive guest house located on the main street inside the walls of the historical city centre. Typical noble "lucchese" residence with coffered ceilings and original tiled floors. Part of the XIV century Torre del Travaglio, one of the three medieval towers of Lucca. L’Antica Bifore has four spacious matrimonial suites, La Divina, Beatrice, Dante, and Paradiso. Each is different in its architectural shape and form, with beautiful frescoes and unique pieces of period furniture. We can organise wine tasting, cookery classes with award winning chef Carlo and art and craft sessions. In addition to babysitting services we can also arrange transfer for Pisa/Florence airport collections and drop offs. Please inquire at time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B L'Antica Bifore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Antica Bifore Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing