We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem”
Review of Il Casale di Nanni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Casale di Nanni
Ranked #38 of 170 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at this family run farmhouse for a week and had the most wonderful experience. It felt like home. Even though it is a short walking distance to Lucca it is set in lovely surroundings with a fantastic pool. My children were happy to spend the day at the pool and then head into Lucca at night. They loved it here.

I have never been to a place where the staff were exceptionally helpful and always had a smile or a kind word to say. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. This is a genuine family business which they are very proud off and want to ensure that the guests are totally comfortable and have everything they need. The amenities are basic but adequate. The breakfast was plentiful and in abundance. We really enjoyed our time here and are making plans to go back. Thank you so much Livietta and Kik for all your hard work and kindness. You made a big difference to our stay. A definite for families.

Room Tip: Wifi signal better in Reception. If you are checking in after 1pm and before 5pm you will have to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
44
91
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our first trip to Italy. This country house in Lucca was our little home away from home during our stay. We had the suite with the great view and balcony which I highly recommend. There is even a small refrigerator which came in handy! July is pretty hot and the air conditioning worked seamlessly. Everything was extremely clean: our room was straightened, bed made, towels changed and bathroom cleaned daily. The en-suite bathroom has everything
you need, though it is a bit small.

The breakfast which has been written about by many previous guests is as terrific as advertised. Every morning there is a great buffet where you have your choice of fresh fruit (watermelon, pineapple, cantaloupe) orange and papaya juice, pastries and toast, coffee ( we like cappuccino -delicious) and eggs and bacon or omelet to order. A great way to start each day while on vacation.

There is a very nice size pool with manicured lawn and landscaping when you get a bit hot in the afternoon and you don't want to stay inside. There is even a little library of paperbacks on the second floor if you want something to read.

Liveyetta, (sp?) the owner is a wonderful hostess and will do everything in her power to make your stay a happy one. The staff are also very accommodating.

The walk to Lucca for my husband and me took between 15 and 20 minutes. Others have reported anything between 10 and 40 minutes. Clearly, it is subjective! Liviyetta has bikes on the property and for a very reasonable fee will rent them out to you if you don't want to walk. You will find that Lucca is a very bike friendly town!

My husband and I had a great time in Tuscany and our stay in Lucca was a very happy one due in large part because we were made so welcome at Il Casale di Nanni. If we (and I hope we do) return, it will definitely be to this lovely country B&B! The house has many Italian touches which I love.

Room Tip: I recommend the suite with the balcony on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmdali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Verry good atmosphere, excellent servcice. Nice and clean B&B, quiet area. Short way into Lucca Center .... we enjoyed the stay! Thank you to the staff at Il Casale di Nanni. We will come back one day!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloLolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gammel Rye, Arhus, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived early for a 4 day stay in the B&B Il Casali Di Nanni, and even though we arrived early afternoon, we were welcomed and given our rooms. No problems. The staff is extremely service minded, as well as the owners. Their job is to make your stay as convenient as possible, and they will do everything to make this happen. The rooms are cleaned everyday, and the service is remarkable. I have lived in many hotels around Europe of excellent standard, but I have never met a staff so dedicated and eager to do a good job.

The villa is located very close to the city walls, can be reached on foot in 10 minutes, by car in 2 minutes. Perfect for shopping and cultural experiences in Lucca City.

You have your own key to the front door, and if arriving late from dining or shopping, you just let yourself in...

The breakfast is served from 7.30 in the morning, and it consists of a good variety of local meat cuts and pastries. Coffee and eggs in all variations can be ordered without any costs.

What also makes this place special is the very nice and calm pool area. It is very clean, with sunbeds and chairs enough, even when all rooms are booked as was the case during our stay.

My family and I have only positive things to say about this place, and we will surely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobo8680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked via the web and received a CONFIRMATION of our booking for 4 nights. Later that evening we received an email from the owner (manager?) saying she only had 2 nights and pointing us to a an unattractive place as an alternative for the last 2 nights. We then had to go to an internet cafe to try to find something else which was difficult as it was a weekend. Eventually after several emails she relented and said we could stay the 4 nights. When we got there the first thing we noticed was an enormous crane in the building site next door - great. She hadn't mentioned that! So lying by the pool looking up at several tons of revolving concrete counterbalance was not the most restful, as you can imagine. To be fair though, the noise levels emanating from the site were not as bad as I'd feared but this may intensify at a later stage of the build. Then on the Saturday she informed us there would be a "party in the garden" that evening. This turned out to be a teenage pool party ending in the early hours so more disruption. In fairness she did offer us free bikes for the 4 days but these turned out to be rusty old ex-rentals from the hire shop down the road. Room was "OK" but very small ensuite facilities. Other than that pool was well maintained, clean and breakfast fine. Would advise anyone thinking about booking to a) nail down the booking b) establish when the building works finish and c) if there any parties planned. All the other hotels we stayed at on our Tuscan trip were excellent and will write about them in due course but thought it best to warn others about these issues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitram055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed one week in il casale and thoroughly recommend it. The welcome we received from livietta was warm and welcoming. We arrived by bus from pisa airport-3 euro. Taxi from lucca was 10euros. Walked into lucca twice a day and it's a 20 minute trip,not 10 or 40 mins as some have said. Had several good meals but would recommend two restaurants in particular: cantine bernardini and rusticanella. Apart from the more obvious sightseeing tuscan destinations, a trip to barga is worth considering. Go to il casale if u like friendly and efficient service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dermod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Recently spent 5 nights in this wonderful little "Country House" on the edge of Lucca, a 15 minute stroll to the nearest entrance to the Walls. Livietta is a superb host and really goes out of her way to ensure her guests have a most wonderful stay. Nothing is too much trouble and she attends to every need. The pool area is lovely and our kids enjoyed a late afternoon dip each day. Whilst there are a number of great restaurants in and around Lucca itself, a nice idea is to try the little takeaway pizza place 5 mins walk from the Hotel. The young couple that run it are charming, speak little English but you get there easily enough with plenty of smiles and laughter. We ate there one night and another night we arranged for them to deliver and they turned up on their little motorbike with Pizza by the pool! The breakfast at the hotel is one of the better ones you'll get in Italy, served by a charming Thai girl in a nice sunny area, or you can have it inside. Our room was big, with a nice, little terracotta terraced private area. It overlooks a church. Bikes are available for hire and are adequate enough for riding the Wall. Think it is a much better option to spend your time in a place like this and visit the Walled town rather than staying inside the Walls. It then remains a special place to visit. We went to Cinque Terre one day and Livietta was very accommodating and left out an adequate breakfast as we left before the regular breakfast time. All in all, a fantastic stay for the price and location! Couldn't fault it! Agree, with another reviewer, close the windows and shutters at night to keep the insects out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.3 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#25 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#13 of 51 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Carignano
Hotel Carignano
#33 of 51 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Corte Degli Dei
Villa Corte Degli Dei
#21 of 170 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
4.1 mi away
Villa del Papa
Villa del Papa
#53 of 170 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Pardi Lucca
Villa Pardi Lucca
#47 of 170 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casale di Nanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale di Nanni

Property: Il Casale di Nanni
Address: Via San Donato 983, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Il Casale di Nanni 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The landlord “Il Casale di Nanni” is situated from approximately 1 km from the beautiful sixteenth century walls that enclose the city of Lucca, but is as the same time dipped into the quiet countryside. The country house (which belongs to the family who managed it for several generations) is entirely restructured but maintains all its typical characteristics such as the old tiling pavements in “cotto”, ceilings of small joist put in from mizzens and a great terrace from which you can enjoy the pleasant panorama surrounding it; moreover it is equipped of all the modern comfort such as air conditioning and independent heating, TV, Internet, mini bar, hair dryer and a bathroom with a shower in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Casale di Nanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing