We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience”
Review of Cantine Bernardini

Cantine Bernardini
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/15
8:00 PM
Ranked #15 of 710 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Charming restaurant located in the basement of the Palace Bernardini (1580). History and tradition on local and Tuscan cuisine, gluten free proposals, private parties, groups and business meals. Cantine Bernardini in the heart of Lucca is a place where you can enjoy your time in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and where the taste of tradition is reinterpreted in new forms. The food is made with local ingredients and the menu changes according to the seasons. The dishes are traditional and include proposals like"garmugia lucchese"(a vegetable soup), tench risotto, roasted cod fish, and original recipes as "cecina milfoil" or veggy gulash. Try the "zuccotto lucchese"! The menu provides also gluten free, vegetarian and vegan proposals. Special proposals for groups, lunch and dinner. Groups dining in charming atmosphere, groups wine tastings.Wine bar, enoteca. Family parties and groups, children menù.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A fantastic meal for a 50th birthday. Managed to seat 9 of us outside. The service was great, very attentive. Wines and beers to suit all tastes and budgets and the food, oh my sweet Lord, the food - absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nik1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantinebernardini, Direttore at Cantine Bernardini, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nik,
we thank you for choosing Cantine Bernardini and for your kind review.
Kind regards.

Alessandro & Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been there for dinner. Had the daily suggestion: black tagliarini with mussels and calamari. It was almost perfect but a little too salty for my taste. Had a dessert asking for something not too sweet. Finally chose for the panna cotta. It was sweeter than the tiramisu my husband have ordered and overall a little too sweet. The panna cotta itself was just perfect but the dark chocolate topping was too much according to my taste.
My favorite was the white dry house wine. This was just perfect!
Would I come again, I think I would like to give it a second chance.
Service was very friendly and well mannered. Thumbs up!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Wattalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantinebernardini, Direttore at Cantine Bernardini, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We thank you for choosing Cantine Bernardini.
Today is sunny but a little bit to warm for my taste.
Before yesterday was raining but a little bit too much in my opinion.
If you can give a proper sense to our phrases we will do the same with yours.
Best regards.

Alessandro & Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We ate at this restaurant for lunch in 2017 and really enjoyed it, so we were looking forward to eating lunch there again. The reviews were mostly excellent, so we were confident that we would enjoy it.

We could not eat inside, as we were told the air conditioner was broken. We sat outside and ordered the farro salad and the vegetable strudel. We were not told of any special menu items by the staff, yet overheard explanations about items to other guests after we had ordered. Otherwise the staff were pleasant.

The bread was plain but fresh. The farro salad was bland and uninspired. The “seasonal” vegetables in the salad were carrot, celery and tomato. The vegetable strudel was nice. Nothing really exciting here- maybe we just ordered the wrong thing. I can’t see any reason to go back.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank epilifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantinebernardini, Direttore at Cantine Bernardini, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We thank you for choosing Cantine Bernardini again.
Our salads are fresh made and we use local fresh product.
Best regards
Alessandro & Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and we weren't disappointed. Need to make a reservation and whilst we couldn't book via The Fork, no problem doing so via the restaurant's website. The complimentary glass of Prosecco on arrival was a nice touch. Food and wine was excellent. Service was a little slow at first (maybe because we turned up 10 mins early to be fair) but after that was very attentive.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantinebernardini, Direttore at Cantine Bernardini, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear Dave,
we thank you for choosing cantine Bernardini and for your kind review.
Kind regards.
Alessandro & Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

We eaten here for the first time. The staff are very kind and helpful. The meal was excellent. That romantic (last) night was the most beautiful memory from Lucca. The story about the building is interesting too. Thank you

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank pr_adam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantinebernardini, Direttore at Cantine Bernardini, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Thank you for choosing Cantine Bernardini and for your kind review.
Kind regards.
Alessandro & Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantine Bernardini also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Cantine Bernardini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing