We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 176 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a jewel in Lucca, we had a 2 night stay and this was the nicest place on our trip around Tuscany. Its a short walk from the train station, but they also have a parking lot. Very nicely decorated, San Michele room and bathroom were nice sized, with a mini fridge. On arrival, we were early, but were able to get into our room, then given a nice map and some suggestions of sights to see. The breakfast was a nice continental with fresh fruit and some nice extras, very nice outside garden to sit in if the weather is good!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 581 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

A lovely B&B in one of the myriad of wonderfully quiet cobbled lanes of Lucca. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and given a map and details about how to make the most of our stay in Lucca. Our room was comfortable and attractive and breakfast was in the usual continental style but done with flair and a few extras. It was a perfect base to come and back and forth from as we explored this beautiful and unique town.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGoNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Il Seminario is well located just a few hundred metres from the Train Station in a quieter area. The Restaurants and shopping are an easy walk through the interesting coble-stoned streets. It has great character, very well maintained and spacious. The breakfast was good and could be taken in the outdoor courtyard. Irene was super-friendly taking plenty of time to explaining everything about Lucca. Highly recommend this B&B and Lucca! We only wish we could have spent more time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Met-in-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Exceptional service, thank you ladies. Very clean and quiet. Bed was the most comfortable of our sixteen day journey. The six days we spent in Lucca went by faster than the express train to Rome. Wished we had stayed in Lucca instead of driving to Rome. Highly recommend the II Seminario.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Recently enjoyed a lovely 3-night stay at Il Seminario. After a brief walk from the stazione, we were greeted warmly by Irene, who thoroughly oriented us to the B&B specifically, and to Lucca in general. Our's was the room "Anfiteatro", on the main level off the entrance, spacious with a nice bath and window/door opening to a small garden. The breakfast, offered from 8:00-10:00, was above average by Italian standards, offering a variety of fruits and pastries, along with meats and cheeses. My coffee "Americano" was great, and served in a large cup - perfect to jump-start my day! One is quick to take note of the cleanliness of the B&B, in all areas. The location is in a quiet area, yet in a manageable spot to access the sites, shops and restaurants. We really enjoyed walking and cycling around the city atop the wall. There is a bike rental not far from the B&B on Corso Garibaldi (3€/hr). Thanks Paolo, Manuela and Irene for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Located inside the city walls with secure car parking in part of the rear garden. Warm welcome on arrival from Manuela, quickly shown to our first floor room with view over the garden. Air conditioned room with good size very clean bathroom, a small fridge, very useful, and tv. The breakfast is served 08.00 to 10.00, very good choice, eat inside or out. Very relaxed. The location is just off centre, about a 5 minute stroll to the historical heart, and quite at night. Manuela gave us two good places to eat, the trattoria Leo, very good where the locals go, the Gli Orti di via Elisa, dined here 3 times, very good and friendly.
We travelled by car from Pisa. We enquired about a taxi from Pisa airport if we made a further visit, 80 euros !! , the blue bus is 3 euros, the the train a similar charge.
A great town to visit, hire a bike to cycle the walls, stay here.

Room Tip: Read the web site, look at the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just inside the city walls, a short walk from the station, B&B Il Seminario is in a quiet location, yet just a few minutes walk from all of Lucca's many attractions.
Our ground floor room (Puccini) was spacious, clean and airy. The en-suite was well equipped and the air-con effective and unobtrusive.
The breakfast was buffet-style and plentiful with a good choice and the staff were all friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
960 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
0.3 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#4 of 176 in Lucca
347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Alexandra
Villa Alexandra
#2 of 176 in Lucca
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via del Seminario 5 Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $60 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning and all rooms have private bathroom There is also wireless internet connection so that you can always stay in touch with the outside world. For a pleasant distraction you can switch on the satellite television instead. If you have any pets please do not leave them at home, they are more than welcome in our apartments. Private parking 10 € per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Seminario Bed And Breakfast
Il Seminario Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing