We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 172 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sulmona (AQ), Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spot on.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Lucca is absolutely charming and this B&B suited us down to the ground for a 2-night stay. It's within the city walls so really convenient for everything as Lucca is a walking city only in effect. However it has its own free, private car park on-site so the best combination of both. Our room was clean, comfortable and practical with exactly what you would need and expect from a B&B of this size and quality. The breakfast was ample and tasty and apparently the cornetti come from one of Lucca's best pasticcerie :) Paolo and staff were friendly and professional. Top marks all round.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welcometosulmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo G, Proprietario at Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello from Paolo Manager of the B&B il Seminario
Thank you for the wonderful review and I hope I'll see you again.
Thanks Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    88
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
108
318
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

BEST!! My friend and I planned this trip since October 2012 and I made the best decision to stay here. The place was immaculate! Paolo was the one that checked us in since we arrived at night. We were starving and he took the time to call some restaurant to make sure it was open before we even walk there. May I add that we arrived Lucca on Easter Monday, so most of the place are closed. Very nice place and when you walk inside, the place was spectacular. The room that we stayed in, the Puccini has plenty of space for two, food for breakfast was ample! The girls, Irene and Manuela were great! Very helpful and always smiling! On the day that we are leaving, they gave us something to eat, though the breakfast does not start until 8:00am. I felt that I was at home when we stayed at this B&B!! Paolo, Irene and Manuela, keep up the good work and I will for sure recommend you to my friends and family that wants to visit Lucca, Italy! Ciao!

Room Tip: I believe that every room at this place will be just as pleasant as our room. When we stayed here, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo G, Direttore at Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay .
we will be happy to see you again .
Thanks Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schriever, Louisiana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent three nights in Lucca at Seminario. When you walk through the door the beauty of the small B&B is the first thing you notice. Everything is spotlessly clean, with a wonderful full breakfast. We only met the young lady at the front desk, who was charming and helpful, though I did speak to Paolo on the phone, who was quite helpful. The B&B is inside the wall, not far from the cathedral, and very near one of the access areas to walk the city wall. It is located on a quiet street, and not a far walk from the town center. Lucca is a charming town, very different from the more touristy spots. We were there during what you might call the off season, and one thing to keep in mind if you visit when it's not crowded is that there are very few places to have a meal. We walked the mostly deserted streets around 5:30 or 6 p.m., and found almost no options for a meal; all of the cafes were closed. We only found one restaurant open (a very nice one, mostly filled with locals) that was wonderful, but had our hostess not recommended it, we would likely never have found it. My best advice is to have your main meal at lunch time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo G, Direttore at Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello we are very happy with the compliments
Thank you again for your lovely review and we are very excited to see you next time your travels bring you to the area.
Thanks Paolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Paolo and Manuella along with the entire staff is a great find. Across from Lucca train station and within the walls, we could even park our vehicle just behind the B&B. Nice clean rooms, great Italian breakfast, but the staff is the best part. Take Paolo's recommendations on restaurants. Great finds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaisson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo G, Direttore generale at Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Good evening, I remember very well two of you wonderful people .
We thank you for the comment left on site TripAdvisor and we really hope to you will come back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved everything about this B&B. It was clean, comfortable, quiet and the breakfast was outstanding. The folks that ran it were helpful, informed and engaging. We recommend it highly. As a small, Italian walled city and the birthplace of Puccini., Lucca was a delight,

Unfortunately, we arrived after dark at the far end of the city from Il Seminario. It proved a difficult challenge to get through the city and to find the B&B. Having done so, however, we were greeted warmly and enjoyed all those qualities one wants to find in a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NortheastJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights touring Lucca and stayed in this quaint B&B. Paolo was incredibly accomodating - so much so, that when we got terribly lost trying to find the place, he came and rescued on on his bicycle! Clean rooms, generous breakfast and accomodating staff. We welcomed the powerful air conditioning during an incredibly humid late October stay. While in Lucca, check out the Sunday opera and ask Paolo about the church in town that features Puccini arias in the evening. Rent a bike and tour the city walls.

One important note, ask your hosts for dinner suggestions; the quality of restaurants varies greatly. We were never dissapointed when we followed Paolo's suggestions. Good value overall, would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Ours was right off the stairs and travelers were very noisy. It is quaint and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxwellpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great centrally located hotel. Nice service, large rooms, good breakfast, free parking....all the good stuff.

We did have a room on the ground floor which was a little noisy, but they did whatever they could to stop that.

Great spot.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfro808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
1,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 51 in Lucca
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast

Property: Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via del Seminario 5 Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning and all rooms have private bathroom There is also wireless internet connection so that you can always stay in touch with the outside world. For a pleasant distraction you can switch on the satellite television instead. If you have any pets please do not leave them at home, they are more than welcome in our apartments. Private parking 10 € per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Seminario Hotel Lucca
Il Seminario Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing