We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B in Lovely Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a fantastic B&B in lovely Lucca. The owner was very welcoming and helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do during our trip. He even upgraded our room at no extra cost to us as he had received a complaint from the former guests of the room we were due to stay in and wanted to investigate this further before allowing guests to stay there. We stayed in the Puccini room which was very spacious - the biggest of all the rooms we stayed in during our 3 week trip. It was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and filling and is served in a lovely courtyard at the back of the b&b. The b&b is very central and it is easy to walk to all the major attractions. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The Puccini room is very large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 567 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We travelled from Portovenere to Lucca by train. Paolo met us at the train station and took us to the B & B. He was very helpful and spoke excellent English. We explored the city and enjoyed the walks on the wall. You could see the alps, and the scenery was gorgeous. We travel to Italy every year to see our daughter and if I ever visit Lucca again, I will definitely stay at the II Seminario. Great place and very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveldiva6546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We recently stayed in the Puccini room at Il Seminario. It is a great location, walking distance to the main area of town and to the train station and the added convenience of free car parking. Our room was enormous and very comfortable, breakfast good and staff always friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Orchardists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Puccini Room on the 1st floor. It was the most spacious room in all of Italy! Comfy bed, sofa, writing desk and two large windows that opened into the garden. Paolo was excellent with communication before our trip. He was prompt with answering my questions and following through with the reservations. I had these reservations a year in advance.

Huge bathroom with great amenities that we have and expect in the U.S. I wish we had bidets in the U.S.!

There was a bottle of chianti waiting for us when we arrived. After driving in the hills of Tuscany and getting lost for a couple of hours, we were ready for a drink!

Since we drove and the b&b is located within the walls of the ZTL zone (which means you cannot drive into the town without permission), Paolo met us by the train station and we followed him back to the b&b. The place has a secure parking area.

Paolo and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast area and offerings; fruit, and the usual toast, etc. The girls made a great coffee and conversation with other travelers is always interesting. They have a little garden area where you can have your breakfast.

The b&b is within walking distance to everything. You can get lost and really not be lost. It is fun to just wander around and walk into places. We did go to the Palazzo Pfanner, a museum, and of course the duomo. Very quaint b&b and town.

Room Tip: Look at their website and choose a room to your liking.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rruthardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Il Seminario, Paolo and the staff could not be better hosts. Great WiFi in the room. Free and easy parking. Great location inside the city walls. Very easy to explore the city. Great breakfast to start the day. Paolo was very helpful with recommendations within the city. I hope to return someday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Old and charming with the clean, modern updates you'll appreciate. Very clean, large rooms, really comfy mattresses, safe and excellent location. It was an easy 5 min. walk from train station and this B&B had excellent air conditioning. The breakfast was generous and lots of choices, beautiful outdoor and indoor seating, staff makes your coffee just the way you like it. The energetic staff, Emmanuela and Erossanna are superb! These gals take care of everything! They gave us a map, showed us where we could do laundry, what to see and do in Lucca. They even remember how you like your coffee. We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: Look for the large yellow painted building, there are actually entrances for this B&B
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and Il Seminario is in a nice quiet location but easy walking into the centre. It was great that there was a car parking area too. Our room was the smallest (Napoleone) but had everything we needed and was extremely clean. To be honest we didn't spend much time in the room so the size wasn't important. We tried 2 of the restaurants Manuela recommended and they were both very good (Ammodonostro & Gli Orti di Via Elisa). Breakfast was good especially the coffee. Would definitely stay here again but we would have also preferred a little more interaction with the hosts (as mentioned by a previous reviewer).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 47 in Lucca
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 47 in Lucca
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via del Seminario 5 Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $69 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have air conditioning and all rooms have private bathroom There is also wireless internet connection so that you can always stay in touch with the outside world. For a pleasant distraction you can switch on the satellite television instead. If you have any pets please do not leave them at home, they are more than welcome in our apartments. Private parking 10 € per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Seminario Bed And Breakfast
Il Seminario Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing