We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, great location in Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Ranked #11 of 169 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, great location in Lucca”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at B&B Evelina, wish we could have stayed longer. It is on the fourth floor of a beautiful old building, on a small street in the city center (no elevator). Our room was beautiful, spacious and had a great view of Lucca's rooftops. There are three separate bathrooms for all the bedrooms, which worked out fine for us. No air-conditioning, but we opened the windows at night and there was a fan. Giulio was a great host, showed us sights and restaurants on the map and even helped us with a car rental return situation. We also were able to leave our luggage after checkout so we could see a bit more of the city. Breakfast included juice, fruit, cheese, nuts, and a tasty strudel-like pastry, which we enjoyed on the terrace. There is a refrigerator guests can use, and the dining and living rooms are lovely too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celadoncupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    35
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
187
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Centrally located in Lucca, this B&B is full of old world charm and warm hospitality. We did travel in Summer and if you're someone who needs a few modern conveniences like air conditioning to sleep well, then this might not be the right place for you. Overall, a beautiful B&B run by lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The charm of Lucca is its resilience to time; it's as charming now as it would have been 200 years ago, and this B&B, hidden away down a quiet street in the city centre, epitomises this charm. Giulio and family friend Natalia were the best hosts we had anywhere in Italy, pointing out the best restaurants in town that we would never have found otherwise and serving a phenomenal Tuscan breakfast. From the heart of Lucca, we could explore everything we wanted to see on foot, and were able to come back to our haven whenever we wanted. The shared bathrooms and our room were kept spotlessly clean, and we loved the traditional, comfortable interior. We were a little hot on our last night without air-con, but maybe a big air conditioning unit in our room would have ruined the traditional effect! This is the perfect place to see Lucca and Tuscany from, and you'll have the best welcome and value in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoStudentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moretown, Vermont
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are traveling to Lucca, you are already in the know, I assume. This gorgeous, well-kept grand dame of Italian towns is classy, refined, elegant, and impossibly picturesque. To really be in the know, stay here. Or stay here if you want to pretend that you are back in Lucca, visiting your Italian grandmother. Or stay here if you love the finer things in life and attention to detail. But, simply put, stay here. Just off the main pedestrian thoroughfare (via Fillungo) on a quiet, cobblestone street hides this perfect B & B. When we visited, Natalia was our host, a friend of the owners who were in the hospital celebrating the birth of their newborn son. While we missed meeting the owners, their friend Natalia as a delight. We enjoyed lovely baked goods from local patisseries in the morning, with delicious cappuccinos, fruits, and cheeses for breakfast. The terrace is a lovely place to enjoy a class of Chianti, overlooking a masterpiece view of terra-cotta tiled roofs and campanille.

While in Lucca, be sure to visit the Seven Oak campanille, rent bikes to explore the city and the medieval walls, and be sure to take in a night at the Opera at the church Puccini was baptized in: San Giovanni.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowyknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staying here for a third time really says it all. I adore this little b and b in the historical centre and decided to take my husband and daughter here as part of our holiday to Tuscany. At first my husband was a bit disappointed that there was no lift up the four flights of stairs or that the bedrooms were not en-suite but once he realised how nice it was it seemed trivial. We stayed in a large triple room at the back, so was very quiet, Wifi was excellent, as was the delicious breakfast we had the next morning.Hope to be back again sometime soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doaknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Evelina for two nights and loved this little gem in a quiet street. Simona and Guilio are a delightful and welcoming couple and their charming B&B added to a great Lucca experience.
There are a lot of stairs which was'nt a problem for us - but I will definitely take a smaller bag next time!
Our large room and the three shared bathrooms were spotless, beautifully decorated & the overall atmosphere of the B&B was charming. Lovely breakfasts! Try their red wine too - the 4 euro bottle we took to CInque Terre with us was good value.
Guilio's recommendation for dinner at the restaurant with the 'great Tiramisu' was very nice and is worth going to for the dessert!
The Puccini concert was also a highlight - even if you are not a fan of opera it's only just over a hour long and it was amazing. Buy tickets from the church before 6pm and get a small discount.
There's a great antique market in Lucca at the weekend - just don't leave your shopping till Sunday as many of the shops are closed.
Nice vegetarian food and soup for lunch at 'Zuppa' cafe.
We hope all is going well for Simona and Guilio and their new wee baby boy.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-Red-Kiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I had a lovely stay here when attending a friends wedding. Wonderful hospitality, beautifully clean, well presented and three charming hosts. The B&B is on the 4th floor of a lovely Building, so bear in mind if you struggle with stairs, but we'd return anytime. Don't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
0.3 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#5 of 169 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Evelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Evelina

Property: Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Address: Via Streghi 12, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Evelina" Bed & Breakfast enjoys a central and at the same time peaceful and quiet location, where the charm of a typical ancient house is preserved.On the third floor of one of Lucca's noble mansions, Silvia welcomes her guests in an apartment enriched with age-old objects that recall the past. The apartment overlooks an old medieval courtyard with cool gardens and offers five spacious rooms.Breakfast, served on the terrace with a view of Lucca's red rooftops and Torre delle Ore, will make your stay unique and unforgettable."Evelina" B&B offers warm hospitality in a private house, open to all those who are looking for and appreciate friendly accommodation in a relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Evelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Evelina Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast Evelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing