We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Evelina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Evelina to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 161 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a truly incredible accomodation! The B&B is beautiful and keeps such an authentic historic feel with lots of antiques and charm without feeling stuffy. There are 5 rooms and 3 bathrooms shared amongst them which always seemed to be available when you needed them. Breakfast was great, and so nice to enjoy on the balcony on a sunny morning. Simona and Giulio are wonderfully welcoming and gracious hosts. You will be delighted to meet them, enjoy their hospitality, and discover their beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    32
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
179
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mallacoota, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Yes it's 3 flights up and yes we were tired and had too much luggage but once we reached the B&B all the tiredness just drifted away. Evelina is a testimony to the attention to detail of both Simona and Giulio. It is obvious that they too are travellers and so they understand all that their guests require. The decor is beautiful, the breakfasts delicious, the location superb and the hosts, well they are just the loveliest couple; fun, intelligent, knowledgable and caring. Who could ask for anything more. We stayed 6 nights and loved it. Good WiFi signal too, not something you can always rely on. Like others we were a bit concerned about sharing a bathroom but that was absolutely no problem, the bathrooms are kept spotless and there was always one available

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aqob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As most of the reviews share, Simona and Gulio are wonderful hosts!! Their home is beautiful and spotlessly clean. I was concerned over sharing the 3 bathrooms, but there was no problem, and they were well maintained all the time. But most of all, this was one of the best parts of our 28 day trip to Italy in September. Simona put together a picnic basket for us that was totally yums, and then we took their bikes and embarked upon one of the most romantic days we have experienced in a very long time. We will be back, over and over , if we can. Thank you Simona and Gulio for making this a truly wonderful to Lucca and Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I stayed for 1 night in this charming hotel and it was amazing! Its one, if not, the best B&Bs that I've ever stayed in! Top notch quality! Comparable to a 5-star hotel. The only difference? Personalized service from the owners which makes it even better. Its simply the best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJYUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for one night only at B&B Evelina however would have loved to have stayed longer and in Lucca. Although there's no lift, the walk up the three flights of stairs was worth it. Simona and Guilio were the perfect hosts providing everything a traveller could want when staying away from home. The room and bathrooms are spotless and although this was the only accommodation during our 6 week tour of Italy where we didn't have our own private ensuite, it wasnt necessary. Everything was spotless and there were never queues. Breakfast Italian style was served on the terrace with everything fresh and delicious. We would recommend anyone wishing to be in the centre of Lucca to stay at B&B Evelina. It's for the discerning adult traveller who likes good clean quiet accommodation at a reasonable price. If you are travelling by train, we would recommend a taxi as the walk is approximately 15 minutes along cobbled streets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I just got back last night from a 16 day trip to Italy. We were celebrating my birthday and I can truly say that this is the best birthday memory I have had so far. We started our trip with a 5 day stay at Evelina and we were both very pleased with everything about Evelina. The owners, Simona & Giulio are the best! They are so pleasant, sweet and professional - they make you feel right at home. They prepare breakfast every morning and they always add little details, which make it more special. On the day of my birthday, Simona included a birthday candle on my pastry. The B&B is super cozy and quaint. They also do a great job at keeping everything very clean and tidy, it is obvious that they take great pride in their B&B. The location is also great - everything is withing walking distance and it is also perfect for doing day trips. We took the train to Florence and Pisa. Giulio is also very informative and is great at returning emails. We corresponded a lot before our arrival and he was nice enough to tell me that cars/buses are not allowed in the area, so he reserved a taxi to pick us up at the airport (I highly recommend doing this, it is worth the 50 EU). Thank you Simona and Giulio!!! We highly recommend Evelina :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed with Simona and Guilio for our week in Lucca and could not have been happier. The bed and breakfast is located on a side street and the climb up three flights of stairs was well worth the effort. The cleanliness and lovely simplicity of our room, the Italian style breakfasts on the terrace with coffee, peach or pear juice, fresh baked pastries (the fig muffins were wonderful!, Simona), biscotti, cheeses and sliced meats--all was perfection. And of course, Simona and Guilio were the perfect hosts. Bravo! We plan to return to Lucca (we are so glad we made it our main destination) and hope to stay at Bed and Breakfast Evelina again.

Linda and Joe
Parkton, Maryland USA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJEMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
0.1 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#5 of 161 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Evelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Evelina

Property: Bed & Breakfast Evelina
Address: Via Streghi 12, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Evelina" Bed & Breakfast enjoys a central and at the same time peaceful and quiet location, where the charm of a typical ancient house is preserved.On the third floor of one of Lucca's noble mansions, Silvia welcomes her guests in an apartment enriched with age-old objects that recall the past. The apartment overlooks an old medieval courtyard with cool gardens and offers five spacious rooms.Breakfast, served on the terrace with a view of Lucca's red rooftops and Torre delle Ore, will make your stay unique and unforgettable."Evelina" B&B offers warm hospitality in a private house, open to all those who are looking for and appreciate friendly accommodation in a relaxing environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Evelina Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast Evelina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing