We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hosts made for a memorable visit to Lucca”
Review of La Mimosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mimosa
Ranked #24 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

La Mimosa was every bit as nice as other guests have described though I'm surprised by comments about small rooms. I stayed in Glycine, a pretty and comfortable room just the right size and with a perfectly equipped bathroom also of a good size. All this and a good breakfast at such a reasonable price.

I'd like to add to the many comments on the helpfulness of the owners, Giuseppe and Stefano. On my last day in Lucca, heading back to the B&B to pick up my bag, I tripped and fell. I woke to find myself in hospital with concussion and memory loss. When I eventually remembered the B&B, it was already some hours later when hospital staff contacted them.

Giuseppe and Stefano, who had been about to call the carabinieri, rushed to the hospital to find me. During the week I was in hospital they called daily and visited several times, despite having to care for guests and show Giuseppe's visiting brother around.

As I knew nobody in Lucca their care and concern made all the difference. Let alone that they were entertaining and sympathetic visitors. When it came time for me to leave the hospital, they picked me up and drove me to the station where Giuseppe helped me get the ticket and board the train.

I was and am still overwhelmed by such generous and exceptional help. Thank you again Giuseppe and Stefano, I hope to stay at La Mimosa again and can only give it the highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for La Mimosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 228 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We walked from train station on main road by old city walls. Our rooms were very nice and comfortable, decorated with flair. Breakfast was plentiful. Best of all was close location to old Lucca and free bikes for riding city walls. Owner was very helpful as we planned our drive with car we rented two blocks away. Highly recommend this B&B to all.

Room Tip: Our room was noisy from cars on street. Not sure if any faced the back.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We generally enjoyed our stay at La Mimosa. The staff were excellent; friendly, helpful and engaging. The breakfasts were excellent too and it was great to be offered a second cup of coffee or cappucino. We had asked for a room with twin beds to ensure a good night's sleep with minimal exposure to snoring. However that was a mistake. The room, called I think, Rosa, was small, cramped, awkward. One of the beds was very hard. The bathroom was fine, nicely updated but without an area to lay out our personal items.
The price was reasonable and included the use of bicycles which we took advantage of to ride around the walls. All in all our experience here was positive. We would stay here again but ask for a different room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billybaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

An excellent choice for your stay in Lucca.
It is a nice small B&B close to the old town. The B&B has bikes available for its customers for free.
The owner, Giuseppe is very friendly, I recommend following his tips on restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carles t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Lovely b n b , clean and quiet. Owners very helpful and served up a lovely breakfast this morning! We arrived tired and dusty after pounding the streets of Lucca for hours and were made to feel very welcome. The rooms were spacious and the beds clean and comfortable. En-suites compact but clean and all linen was fresh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great time, wonderful place, free bikes, superb service. The rooms were excellent, and the free wifi was very fast. Our host, Giuseppe, was very kind and welcoming. I recommend this place to anyone thinking of coming to Lucca.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julia5870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for two days in June 2013 during a short trip to Lucca. The hotel is conveniently located near the medieval city centre. It's perhaps a 5 minute walk to the gate in the city wall.

The staff is exceptionally friendly. We arrived just on time to make it before they close at night but we were welcomed warmly and there was no rush through the check-in procedure. On the contrary, we also received a lot of very good recommendations about what to do and what to see.

Our room was basic but clean, so was the bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable. Our room faced the street, so there was a bit of noise from the traffic outside - but only with open windows.

Breakfast was served in a small room. It had all the basics and the guys prepared espresso, hot chocolate etc on the spot.

If you arrive by car, there is free parking 100 metres down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingo512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.3 mi away
B&B Cento Passi dalle Mura
0.3 mi away
La Chiusa delle Monache
La Chiusa delle Monache
#28 of 173 in Lucca
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#19 of 173 in Lucca
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
B&B Angelini
B&B Angelini
#12 of 173 in Lucca
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucca in Azzurro
Lucca in Azzurro
#10 of 173 in Lucca
177 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Lucca Fora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mimosa

Address: Via Pisana 66 | Sant'Anna, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $73 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Mimosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitors, new management welcomes you in the new bed and breakfast located a few steps from the historic city walls of lucca.B&b la mimosa consists of 5 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower and hairdryer, flat screen satellite tv, wi-fi internet connection, heating, air conditioning, dehumidifier and safe.The b&b has also a nice cozy breakfast room where you can enjoy, included in the room price, a typical Italian breakfast, or a continental breakfast on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your La Mimosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing