We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and a friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mimosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mimosa
Ranked #22 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location and a friendly, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our stay at La Mimosa was highlighted by its location near one of the main gates of the old city. The staff, Giuseppe and Stefano were very professional, helpful and extremely friendly.The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, although somewhat small. The breakfast was great. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    54
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
115
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at La Mimosa a few weeks ago and booked this little B&B after reading the positive reviews. Sure enough everything I read was true. Owners Giuseppe was very professional and very pleasant. He was helpful with local information. The room I stayed was small but very clean. The breakfast was very filling, fresh and sufficient. Lucca walls was just 5 minutes walk. Train station was also walking distance, although there were local buses too. Trains have good links to other Tuscan cities like Pisa/Florence (must validate your ticket before entering the train :) Also, for any solo-female travellers; it is totally safe. If you are looking for cheap & cheerful this little B&B is not just that but also comes with an extremely pleasant Giuseppe which really makes your stay worthwhile. Go ahead and book it :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We first stayed at La Mimosa in April 2012, when we were desperate for a hotel room and telephoned all the ads in the tourist paper we had obtained. Thankfully Giuseppe, offered us the Red Tulip room. It was large, very clean, and had a shower with a seperate toilet and dressing area. Giuseppe was incredibly helpful, recommending eateries and general information and added a personal touch to the stay. Although the B&B/Hotel is and old Italian type Villa, outside the city walls,and it takes 5 minutes to walk into the town, and is easy for parking nearby. Also linked to La Mimosa is the Corte Fiorita appartment, and this is inside the city walls of Lucca. As we were returning with our teenage children in July 2012, we booked this with Giuseppe before our departure. And we were so pleased we did. The appartment was lovely, atmospheric, clean, and right in the middle of town. Our flight landed very early, and we therefore arrived much to early at La Mimosa to pick up our keys for La Fiorita appartment. Well, Giuseppe couldn't have extended a warmer welcome, and treated ourselves and our 3 children to free cold sparkling mineral water and teas and coffees. He was not in any way inconvenienced, and arranged for us to be able to check into the appartment very promptly. I would highly recommend the B&B for a very warm, very reasonably priced stay at a down to earth establishment, and the same for the beautiful La Fiorita apparment. We would definitely stay again! Thank you Giuseppe for your friendliness and warm hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolandanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Sometimes the friendliness of the B&B owner makes the experience of staying there so great. This is true at La Mimosa. Giuseppe gave us a choice of rooms since he wasn't full the night we checked in (this was after Nov. 1st when tourism calms down). We picked the room pictured on the site, a room large enough for 2 queen-sized beds with plenty of space, a fun decor, and a huge bath, shower, and dressing area. He gave us complimentary bikes and directions and off we went to explore the town. The next morning over excellent coffee and a fine breakfast, we engaged in a stimulating discussion of the US election which had just taken place the night before, and the general economics of small business in Italy. I left feeling I had made a friend.
The next night, in a different town, I realized I had left my nightgown in the room. We exchanged a couple of emails, and it was cheerfully mailed to me in Canada. I recommend this place if you want to feel you are staying with warm hosts who care about you as people, not just occupants of a room.

Room Tip: There is some street noise because of the B&B location in town, but it calms down in time for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savishai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We endorse what everyone has said about this accommodation. It's comfortable, with a good breakfast, including plenty of fresh fruit and yogurt, and Guiseppe is very helpful. We liked the fact that although it's only 5 minutes walk from the walled city of Lucca, it's in its own community, complete with fantastic grocer's, fresh pasta shop, cheap corner café and restaurant (Felice). We used the bikes provided a lot, not just to cycle round the walls, but for getting around inside as well - the baskets were very handy for the shopping we did on the last day. It took us a couple of nights to get used to the traffic, and that was in October with the shutters closed, but that is only a slight niggle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I and our daughter and son-in-law had the pleasure of spending two nights at La Mimosa in October. We chose this B&B mainly because of the reviews we read on Trip Advisor and for the proximity to the medieval wall and were very pleased with the charming welcome we received from the hosts, Giuseppe and Stefano. They gave us useful advice in choosing a place to have supper and what to see in exploring the old part of Lucca. The breakfasts were simple but fresh and had a good variety of foods to start our day, and the coffee was wonderful. We ate our breakfast outside in the sunny side yard and had to remind ourselves that we were there to see the city, not just sit and enjoy the hospitality.

Room Tip: we had the two rooms at the top of the stairs on the first floor, both were spacious, clean and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gran4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location of La Mimosa is a 5 min. walk outside the walls of historic Lucca. The hospitality of Stefano and Giuseppe is wonderful. Breakfast is also excellent including espressos and cappuccinos.It's near a frequently traveled road so you do hear car traffic until late at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.7 mi away
Villa Alexandra
Villa Alexandra
#4 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Il Giardino del Pettirosso
1.3 mi away
Lucca in Villa Elisa
Lucca in Villa Elisa
#23 of 168 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
B&B Anfiteatro
B&B Anfiteatro
#19 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B Angelini
B&B Angelini
#11 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B Alma
B&B Alma
#14 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mimosa

Property: La Mimosa
Address: Via Pisana 66 | Sant'Anna, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Mimosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear visitors, new management welcomes you in the new bed and breakfast located a few steps from the historic city walls of lucca.B&b la mimosa consists of 5 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower and hairdryer, flat screen satellite tv, wi-fi internet connection, heating, air conditioning, dehumidifier and safe.The b&b has also a nice cozy breakfast room where you can enjoy, included in the room price, a typical Italian breakfast, or a continental breakfast on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Mimosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing