We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Locanda di Sesto

Antica Locanda di Sesto
Ranked #5 of 578 Restaurants in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Antica Locanda Di Sesto is a restaurant located on the right side of the Serchio River,in the outskirts of Lucca. The Building dates back to the 1368, as the marble stone in front of the restaurant says, a period when the local merchants started to build their own country estates, used to relax and chill out in the summer but also to gain business profits. From the XIV Century the village of Sesto was property of the "De Nobili" Family and they had, according to various rumors, 101 farmers working only for them in the village. It is thanks to this powerful family that the "Locanda" was built, and even now you can see the remains of the old building inside the restaurant. *We now offer a free shuttle service from Lucca town centre*
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were staying in the area for five weeks and dined at this example of superb dining four times and have brought friends and family each occasion. Each time, we were treated like family and the service is top rate only to be out done by the fine food. For the steak lovers, get the T-Bone for one or two and you will not be disappointed... For the pasta lovers, anything on the menu is fantastic....so fresh and light. Don't worry about ordering too much as the family will be happy to bag it for the home.

The first time that we brought friends, we called for reservations and even though the restaurant opens at 8 pm (20:00), they accommodated us at 7:30 pm (19:30). Each time we did close the restaurant and there was no pressure to leave....take your time and have an enjoyable Tuscan meal.

Hint - the "house" red is a fantastic table wine....take home some bottles for home consumption.

Recommended to call for reservations....especially during the high season.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank SpazCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    222
    59
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top food and service every time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

I have eaten in this restaurant many times and Never had a meal that was not "delightful" Aurelio and his family use the best ingredients to produce simple Cucina Lucchese at its best.
I have three restaurants of my own and originally come from Vinchiana, across the Serchio from Antica Locanda, so I believe I know what I am talking about when I say, make a point to go to this restaurant...
I have sent many people from the UK and taken groups of travelers to La Locanda and they have all been highly impressed by the natural flavours of Lucca and La Garfagnana.
If you are looking for originality, seasonal food and high quality, then do not look past this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FERRARISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We were driving / sightseeing north of Lucca and the restaurant we were recommended was fully booked. Options were running out until we saw many cars parked outside Antica Locanda Di Sesto and decided to take a chance.
Although unassuming from the outside, as soon as we stepped inside we saw delicious desserts and cheeses in evidence, so felt like our intuition would be well rewarded.
We only wanted a light lunch but found the food hard to resist.
Being Mothers Day we noticed family tables in evidence and were impressed at the amount and appearance of the dishes being consumed around us.
We had the 'house' olive oil and red wine, pappardelle with wild boar sauce, ravioli with artichoke and cheese, followed by a fig and walnut tart and a strawberry semifredo with berry sauce.
Everything was delicious, the waiters friendly and good English speakers. All in all a real treat for a reasonable all in cost of EUR 42.
We have been in Italy for 10 days now (and on 2 previous occasions) and this has been our best meal to date.
Well worth the short drive north from Lucca.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I LOVE this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have been visiting this ancient restaurant for more than 30 years. That is nothing considering the restaurant has been open since 1398! (or around that year).
A wonderful family owns and operates the Locanda. I have watched them grow up and they have watch my children grow.
It is about a 20 minute drive outside of Lucca, on your way up the Serchio River Valley. It is very much worth the trip.
The ambience is casual, but certainly nice enough for a special occasion. I celebrated my 60th birthday there last summer with 14 friends and family.
The food is terrific. I have tried about everything and you are going to be more than happy with whatever you choose. The family is happy to make adjustments to the menu for you.

Go to Sesto. Eat at the Antica Locanda. It will move to position #1 on the favorite things you did in Tuscany!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChasInLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tradition in its best sense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have been for lunch at this great restaurant and were fully satisfied. Homemade pasta with pesto and a delicious omelette with frsh asparagus cooked to perfection. Very friendly and charming service, good wine selection, also by the glass. A place where you can feel it is run by a family with love and attention to quality and hospitality.
Close to Lucca but also to the nice Ponte della Maddalena (near Borgo a Mozzano).

Restaurant worth a detour !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanBrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Locanda di Sesto also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Antica Locanda di Sesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing